We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge to your Saves list
Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9000 Bay Hill Blvd., Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #131 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
1 review
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful experience!

The entire Bay Hill experience is unforgettable! My wife and I throughly enjoyed our time. We were greeted like old time friends when we arrived, and treated as such until we've left. Rooms are quaint, quiet, and have a wonderful view if you're on the golf side. Don't expect a resort, expect and welcomed quiet release. This is a perfect place to stay, play golf, then hit up a park. Prices are very fair. Dining at the Lodge is a must! Dress codes are enforced, but I appreciate it! Makes the experience more special.

Wonderful historical touch, and lots of Palmer memorabilia around the course and clubhouse.

Cons: I wasn't a fan of was the attitudes of the gentleman in the pro shop. I understand I'm a twenty-something guest at a prestigious country club, but the arrogant, nonchalant demeanor towards my wife and I was very disappointing.

Also, the course was in pretty tough shape around the tee boxes... Very, very gnawed and dry. I expected a little more from a world famous course.

All in all, my wife and I will be back, probably more than once!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    24
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
41
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Don't trust your GPS when trying to find. It will bring you a couple miles deeper into the country club community and the entry sign is blocked by plants so very easy to drive past. If you have no idea where you're going it will be difficult to find. On walking in front desk staff was lounging back with their feet up. Three drinks cost $100. Room is quaint AC runs but stays humid has a slight smell of old 1980s nostalgia.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

By far the best golf experience of the year. The food was excellent and you could not ask for a more challenging golf course. The pulled pork was melt in your mouth and the potato salad was just like mom's.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

I am not all that picky. However, the room (#412) was VERY moist. It was very uncomfortable. The burlap sacks that they use as pillow covers and comforter are also uncomfortable. The style is old (not a big deal) but because they had old furniture they could not accommodate a flatscreen TV of any reasonable size. The place is VERY pretentious to the level of being slightly uncomfortable. The dress code is a bit obnoxious. I understand the desire to keep a certain atmosphere but the walk from my room to the coffee station in the hallway should not require 20 minutes of getting ready.

The golf course layout is fantastic. However, the majority of the tee boxes, rough, and runoff areas around the greens had absolutely no grass. Literally none. The greens were in great shape though and the bunkers were very playable. The proximity to the driving range is very nice and I practiced frequently. The fore caddy was awful and although I was told there was no cash used/allowed on property by the front desk I was surprised to find out I needed to give him cash? I called the front desk to ask if they had an ATM, they chuckled, said no, and hung up on me without any reasonable curtosy such as saying "I am sorry, goodbye."

Overall, I don't recommend this place due to pretentiousness, moist and uncomfortable rooms without modern conveniences expected at this price range, and the poor conditioning of the golf course which ends up costing just under $200 to play. If this were in the middle of nowhere and you just wanted to see famous people and spend a lot of money it would be fine. But, its in Orlando, Fl and there are too many better options to waste your money in this stuffy and sticky place. I hope this saves you a little money and trouble!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the golf course if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royschindele, Owner at Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
I'm sorry you had a less than par experience & impression....

FYI - The Rooms were renovated completely 5 years ago... down to the rafters... Spent 7 million dollars redoing the 70 room lodge buildings... All the furniture was new, bedding new, top to bottom new. We implemented the latest technology such as key-less entry system... Just waive your room key in front of the door to open it...

The place was in fact originally built in 1960 but is not "old" by any means.

The golf course was updated by Mr. Palmer himself to the tune of 2.5 million 3 years ago.
All of our infrastructure / brick and mortar is constantly being updated and maintained.

Last summer we completely renovated the men's locker room as well as the Bay Window Restaurant... It's ongoing...

Rates indeed vary by season... just before and after our PGA event in March - the Arnold Palmer Invitational the rates are premium for golf at $200... However between now and End of September (for about 1/2 the year, a couple can come enjoy Bay HIll for $175 each that includes Deluxe Lodge Room, Full Breakfast Buffet, Round of golf... an unbeatable value for a world renowned facility. It's called the "bucket list package"...

I hope you will please give us another try and allow us to leave you with a positive experience.

Sincerely
Roy Schindele
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Bay Hill is a gem but it certainly has its downsides. The rooms are a bit old and smelly. It is nothing fancy but we expected that. It could do with a real overhaul, but it might not be worth it for them as they still get their visitors. It has really nice memorbilia of Mr Palmer everywhere and - that's why people go. The food was really good. People were nice and front desk was really great too.

The course is spectacular- loved it!!!! The thing they need to improve on is the way they deal with the "forecaddies." Every group of 4 has a forecaddie assigned to them mandatory. What they don't tell you is that you are responsible for tipping the forecaddie 25-30 dollars per person. It's not that I mind, it's just that I expect to be told!!!!!nSO if you don't bring your cash you feel like an idiot.

Can't they tell you ?

The forecaddie we were assigned to did help read the greens but I didn't appreciate the advice he offered. He is a 30 plus handicap and he was giving endless advice on our swings. Seems a bit bizarre. But we had a great time.

It's worth it to go - we'll be back as we had a blast.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

One of our all-time favorite places to go for 4 to 5 days, get in a little R&R along with some great golf. The staff is incredible...they always go above and beyond the call of duty for us. Our favorite rooms are overlooking the golf course, since there is a nice covered patio to hang out and watch the sunset. While the rooms are not fancy, the updated baths are great, with plenty of towels and room for 2 people to maneuver around in. The dining is great, the Bay Window has a great variety for lunch, snacks or dinner. Breakfast in the dining room is well done. A nice pool area is an added bonus when the weather is nice, but really needs an outdoor hot tub. Then there is the golf! A magnificent course with plenty of challenges and our favorite caddy, Barry, makes it extra special. This also makes a great home base to explore Orlando as it's really convenient to all the attractions.

Room Tip: Overlooking the course are our favorite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Really beautiful place to stay, so much history hanging on the walls. I don't know what happened with other guests but I found the front desk staff to be really helpful! They even showed me where the club locker room was where all the pros come for the tournament each year. Yes no coffee maker, no refrigerator/ microwave but who cares, you have everything right downstairs. As far as signs to direct you to the lodge....it's not that big of a place, drive past the pro shop and there it is...by the way, the whole idea is not to have tacky signs out front

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge

Address: 9000 Bay Hill Blvd., Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#36 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#100 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge offers complimentary parking & no resort fee, complimentary internet connection/daily use fee (wired or wireless), complimentary local phone charges, complimentary newspaper, complimentary coffee/tea every morning, complimentary Access to the fitness Center. The Bay Hill experience will give you a sense of belonging to a Private Club which features: 280 acre property, 70 Deluxe Rooms, 9000sq ft of meeting space, spa, salon, fitness center, 3 restaurants, 3 bars, pool, tennis courts, golf academy, and enjoy 27 holes of golf only available where Arnold Palmer lives and plays. The Lodge is situated in a quiet, residential neighborhood, rich with history, yet close to all the excitement Orlando has to offer. Bay Hill is just 18 miles / 20 minutes from the Airport, 5 miles from Walt Disney World, 4 miles from Sea World and 3 miles from Universal Studios and the Convention Center. Mr. Palmer's Resort offers 70 Lodge rooms in comfortable surroundings that is more reminiscent of a bed and breakfast getaway than a large tourist resort. Guests, are granted full club privileges during their stay and are invited to enjoy all of the club’s luxury amenities throughout our 280 acre property. BEST KEPT SECRET IN ORLANDO! We are looking forward to hearing from you.Amenities On-Site:• 27 Holes of Championship Golf• 6 Lighted Tennis Courts• Exceptional Dining in Three Locations• Three Restaurants & Lounges• Full-Service Spa and Salon• Fitness Center• Junior Olympic-size Pool• Arnold Palmer Golf Academy• Marina ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arnold Palmer`s Bay Hill Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arnold Palmer's Bay Hill Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.