We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice public areas but dated rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin

Save Saved
You added Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Epcot Resort Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32830 (Walt Disney World Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
6th Night Free & Credit
Ranked #134 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice public areas but dated rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed for a conference in June.
On the plus side, the staff was very friendly, the room size was good, and the public areas were well maintained. I particularly liked the large lap pool. But the room itself is showing it's age. The furniture is dated and worn – probably the result of wear and tear from so many kids over the years. Overall, I didn't think it was a great value for the price, considering the $16 or $18 parking fee per night.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    429
    255
    103
    53
See reviews for
621
268
19
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed on other Disney properties, and always come back to the Dolphin. This is trip number four at the Dolphin. Perfect place for a couple (no children) to visit Walt Disney World. It has the charm and character of a Disney property, but less hectic. Great access via boat to Hollywood Studios and Epcot. Even for us out of shape folk, the walk from Epcot isn't that bad. There is a food shop on the bottom floor for 24hr access to snacks.

Had one issue with feather pillows (am allergic to down) and the head of housekeeping came to my room to make sure everything was taken care of correctly. Mistakes happen, and was impressed with the attention to make sure it was right.

Our flight home was cancelled and had to come back for the night and they put us in a super nice room since they had it available and we were having the most awful of days. They have always been the nicest, most professional staff around.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello Michael and thank you for your recent stay here with us. We are thrilled that you have come back not only once, but four times to our resort when it is time for your Disney vacation! Thank you very much for your loyalty. We agree with you, we do have an amazing location within Walt Disney World. We do apologize about the issue with the feather pillows, but are pleased to hear that we were able to rectify the situation for you and your family. We look forward to your fifth trip to Walt Disney World.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at the Swan for a convention being held at the Dolphin. The properties are adjacent and very convenient, guests are able to use amenities at either hotel. The grounds were beautiful with multiple pools and great restaurants. The water taxi to the parks is between the two properties and the Boardwalk is a very short walking distance, everything you need is in the vicinity. I had a "resort view" room (looking across to the Dolphin) and it was dated but comfortable and relatively clean - the carpets could use a good shampooing. It appeared that several wings were being renovated. A tip: the Boardwalk has a small convenience store and all the rooms in the Swan have refrigerators, save yourself a bit of money by stocking the fridge with your own refreshments from this market.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello Ashley and thank you for this lovely review of your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you had an amazing time during your stay. It looks like you took full advantage of our unbeatable location to Disney’s Boardwalk. Thank you for the helpful tips that you gave to our reviewers as well as our future guests. We do hope that you conference was a successful one and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is HUGE. People everywhere, tons of kids, lobby is enormous, pool area can get a bit rowdy- there is an adult "type" pool, that has louder music, kind of a party feel. The restaurants around the resort are very nice, upscale- albeit expensive. Shuttle service to Disney is convenient. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious, and average hotel rooms. Nothing too fancy. The hallways kind of smell a bit moldy, and my neighbors food tray stayed out in the hall for almost an entire day- but aside from that- it's an okay place.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello Kim and thank you for your review of your recent visit. It looks like you had a fun – filled weekend during your stay. It is great to hear that you were able to experience our vast amenities that we offer to all of our guests. Thank you for being our guest. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I just recently accompanied by husband to a conference at Walt Disney World in Orlando. We stayed at the Swan, where the conference was being held. If I was visiting on vacation I would never stay there again. The rooms have not been updated since they opened the place and Sheraton is saying they plan to renovate, a small consolation for our trip. There was old paint on the tile floor that looked dirty, bathroom felt like a closet on a cruise ship. The elevators smelled like a baby had an accident every day. Resort fee adds insult to this property's pricing. I would never recommend this hotel. We asked for a king bed and got a resounding nothing is available, we did not feel welcome at this "resort". Disney needs to to do a better job inspecting the hotels on their grounds. No wrist bands for guests staying at this property?

Room Tip: Stay Away I would not recommend
See more room tips
Green Features: You can choose to not have your room cleaned and get a 5 dollar voucher, wow that is environmentally friendly for the hotel to save on housekeeping and other cleaning costs.
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us. We are pleased to hear that you were able to stay here during your conference, but are disappointed to hear that your stay was not as enjoyable as what we hoped it would. We do apologize about the condition of your room. What you have described is certainly not our standard. As you know, we are in the process of a refresh throughout the entire resort starting at the Swan and then making it to the Dolphin. It is our duty to care for and maintain our resort with its current design. Your words have been shared with our Housekeeping Leadership team.
Please know that whenever possible, we do provide bed size requests as much as we can, but it is by request only and that we cannot guarantee bed sizes. We strive each and every day to meet these requests the best that we can. We do apologize for not having the option for Disney’s MyMagic+ wristbands, but we are proud to be a Starwood property located within the magic of Walt Disney World. Thank you for being our guest. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Recently stayed at the Dolphin Hotel (9/12-9/14/14). Our room was in the west wing 10th floor. Upon entering the room it was very warm and humid. The room also had strong mold odor. After an hour the room finally cooled down. Mind you we arrived Friday night at round 11:00 PM. The carpets seemed very dirty and the tub had rust stains. Overall the room seemed very rundown and not worth the price. The only and I mean only nice part of staying at the resort is the boat service that takes you a side entrance in Epcot. This was the first time in about five years that we stayed at the Dolphins and were very disappointed and will not stay there again. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us. We sincerely apologize for the condition of your room when you walked inside it for the first time. We understand that there is a certain expectation when this experience happens. We apologize for not meeting that for you. Your words have been shared with our Housekeeping Leadership team. It is wonderful to hear that you took full advantage of our amazing location within Walt Disney World. Thank you for being our guest. We do hope that you will come back to visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed at the dolphin for 9 nights, unfortunately we experienced a few problems on arrival. A very small room allocated for a family of 4, none of our additional beds were set up, and when we asked for a cot for my 1 yr old they literally dumped a camping bed in the room on its end at the doorway. The sheets on the sofa bed looked suspiciously like they had been slept in previously and the bath was not clean, hair and dirty water marks. The room was very scruffy and in desperate need of a refurb, we were also located a long way from the lifts - not ideal witha 1 and 3 yr old in tow, no thought had been given to our allocation which was disappointing after a long flight. When we complained we were eventually moved the following day to a bigger room, but i would still describe the room as tired. The hotel facilities are generally good, and it's location in the middle of the parks is a bonus. The swimming pools are nice although I'm not sure about the hygiene issue of ducks swimming in them. service is courteous although you are just a number at this hotel and not a true guest, everything comes with a price. I would suggested eating at the swan for breakfast as it is much better than the dolphin. I'd struggle to rate this hotel as a 4 star property, and would probably choose somewhere else next visit, with a more personal caring touch.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDWSDExecutiveOffice, Manager at Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here with us. We do apologize about your experience during your holiday at our resort. What you have described is certainly not our standard. Your words have been shared with our Housekeeping Leadership team about the condition of your room including the setup of your rollaway bed. We are pleased to hear that we were able to move your family to a much larger room throughout your stay the following day. It looks like you and your family enjoyed our recreational areas as well as our amazing location within Walt Disney World. We sincerely apologize about the inconveniences that you experienced during your holiday. We hope that you will come back to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin

Address: 1500 Epcot Resort Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Walt Disney World Resort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#36 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#85 Business Hotel in Orlando
#96 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#126 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin Resort is located in the center of Walt Disney World. Epcot and Disney's Hollywood Studios are just a boat ride or short walk away, with Magic Kingdom and Disney's Animal Kingdom Park nearby. Our hotel has free area transportation. We offer a unique blend of Disney benefits and Starwood amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walt Disney World Swan And Dolphin Hotel Orlando
Walt Disney Orlando
Walt Disney Hotel Orlando
Swan Resort Disney
Disney World Swan Resort
Walt Disney World Swan Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.