We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat Pricey but Conveniently Located” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin

Save Saved
You added Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1500 Epcot Resort Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32830 (Walt Disney World Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #136 of 329 hotels in Orlando
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Somewhat Pricey but Conveniently Located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I just came back from a stay at the Swan. This was my first time staying there. I travel to Orlando with my family quite a bit, but we usually stay at other hotels. We decided to stay at the Swan because it was within walking distance of Epcot.

My first impression upon arriving was that it felt like a large Vegas-style hotel. There were three car lines near the entrance. Check in wasn't as bad as a large Vegas-style hotel though. All went smoothly and the front desk employee was friendly and helpful.

I self-parked, so I had to park in the lot across the street. It was farther than I wanted it to be. Our room key didn't work for entering or leaving the parking area. No big deal as the front desk people were very helpful with this.

The common areas (lobbies and sitting areas) were well decorated and clean. Definitely a nice design. Our room on the other hand was not as nice as we hoped it would be.

We got a king size room with a balcony. While it was nicely decorated, it was in need up an update. The paint on the bathroom ceiling and room door were peeling. The TV wasn't working well; no signal on most channels. No big deal as we spent little time in the room anyway. The room had a mini fridge with two bottles of water as advertised. The shower head was interesting (large square rain-shower design with a hand-held sprayer head). The view we had was not all that great. It was facing Animal Kingdom. Bellow us was a circular dining room with loud kitchen extractors.

Compared to the Dolphin, the Swan was a small building; almost like an architectural afterthought added to fit more people. I think I would have preferred staying at the Dolphin instead.

As for the convenience factor, there was a ferry boat that transported guests to Epcot from the hotel. Problem was that it stopped at two places along the way; Beach Club Resort area and the Boardwalk area. We found that walking to Epcot took the same amount of time as the boat. We grew tired of sitting next to coughing people on the boat, so we decided to walk most of the time.

Having a couple of extra "magic hours" at Epcot for being a resort guest was nice especially at night when the crowds dwindled down a bit.

Overall I was ok with our stay. It wasn't as "magical" as we expected, but it was convenient. I found the prices to be a bit high; there are definitely other places to stay get more bang for your buck. Would I stay there again? Maybe if it were less expensive. I would like to stay at the Dolphin though as it seemed so much nicer than the Swan (at least in size and architecture).

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a higher floor to avoid the noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: If you choose not to have your towels/bedsheets changed the hotel gives you a $5 voucher for any of their restaurants. We used it at the coffee stand in the lobby.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    239
    157
    62
    29
See reviews for
348
170
10
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at The Dolphin about a couple of months ago. Hotel staff in the lobby was very nice and accommodating. Room was adequate. Parking and extra charges were a bit over the top, but proximity to the park was convenient. Our largest problem with the hotel was that an item was stolen out of our room. It took my family just under two months to retrieve our property, but we were "lucky enough" to get it back. This of course was after many phone calls, emails, letters and interviews with personnel on their end. Once we received our item back there wasn't even so much as an apology for this major inconvenience never mind the invasion of our privacy. If you do stay at this hotel, beware, lock your items, or better yet, don't bring anything of ANY value. You spend enough money getting there it does not need to be ruined by any of your belongings being stolen during your stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Customer service is above and beyond: when we didn't get our daily free bottled water, Guest Services sent 4 bottles to the room, not two. The on-premise dining options are outstanding! We went to Todd English's Blue Zoo this time, and the cuisine exceeded the expectations of the foodie I was with. She also was impressed with the wine list - no easy feat since she is on the board of a winery. The pool area's ambiance is relaxing. We also had a company cocktail party at the Swan, on the patio, which was delightful. Well done!

Room Tip: Ask for a view overlooking the water/Swan.
See more room tips
Green Features: I took the option to get 500 Sheraton Preferred points and forego daily housekeeping.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

All I can say is that this was a very disappointing stay. Hotel spends all the money on the lobby and the rooms are old and out of date. The Decor is dated and furniture is falling apart. I expected for $285 a night to have a suite that was worth it. They do have 5 pools between the Swan and Dolphin. 2 are for very young kids but the other three are for teens and adults. Food is way over priced as is everything in the hotel. You expect that staying at a Disney resort but you would also expect the rooms to be better. Overall nothing special and would not recommend staying here at all for this cost. SPG should be ashamed.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Disney Sawn is a nice, well appointed hotel and very convenient to Epcot and Hollywood Studios. The staff at this hotel was very friendly and helpful. You can take a short boat ride from the hotel to Epcot or Hollywood Studios ansd avoid the painfully slow Disney bus system. You can easily walk to Epcot. Hollywood Studios is a little further. The boat ride is nice. The only issue I had with the hotel was the "resort fee". This is a gimmick hotels employee nowadays to mislead you about their rates. In this case, the fee was $20 per day. So the hotel actually cost $20 per day more than the rate they quoted. This is a little like pickpocketing. I knew about this fee ahead of time so at least I didn't get ambushed at check in but I still don't like this subterfuge.

If you take the boat to Epcot, you can save a couple of stops by getting off at Boardwalk and walking the rest of the way. It's a short walk.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Dolphin Apr 5-13, 2014. The location is perfect. Its not a 'true' disney hotel resort, though, so don't expect the 'magic' that you get from those. But, for the price it can't be beat. If you look closely, the hotel is a little worn, but the decor is updated and nice, lobby, restaurants, etc, are all top notch. Its basically a nice sheraton hotel in the middle of disney world. Walking distance to Epcot is the key benefit.

If I had the extra money, I'd chose to stay next door at the Yacht club (my favorite.) But, for over $100 a night less, the Dolphin was a great value.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have patio's overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

we stayed at the disney dolphin resort in the first week of April.the staff could not have been more helpful.the room was kept spotless and the pools and sand beach were excellent.it is convenient to all of the theme parks and the local area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin

Also Known As:
Walt Disney World Swan And Dolphin Hotel Orlando
Walt Disney World Swan And Dolphin Hotel
Disney World
Walt Disney Orlando
Walt Disney World Swan
Walt Disney Hotel Orlando
Swan Resort Disney
Disney World Swan Resort
Walt Disney World Swan Resort
Address: 1500 Epcot Resort Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32830
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Walt Disney World Resort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#93 Business Hotel in Orlando
#125 Family Hotel in Orlando
#136 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#136 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walt Disney World Dolphin resort is located in Walt Disney World by Epcot and Disney-MGM Studios, with Magic Kingdom and Disney's Animal Kingdom Park nearby. Our hotel has free area transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walt Disney World Swan and Dolphin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.