We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay when visiting theme parks in Orlando, FL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Orlando/Lake Buena Vista Resort

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Orlando/Lake Buena Vista Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Embassy Suites Orlando/Lake Buena Vista Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   8100 Lake Avenue, Orlando, FL 32836 (Lake Buena Vista)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get $50 Toward Shopping
Ranked #171 of 328 hotels in Orlando
GreenLeadersBronze level
Waterford, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay when visiting theme parks in Orlando, FL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

When you arrive, check in is a wonderful experience. The staff exceeds any expectation you may have ever imagined. The head of the valet staff was friendly and more knowledgeable than the best concierge in any five star hotel. He gave my family the royal treatment. He knew the very best restaurants in the area and gave excellent directions. He knew the area like the back of his hand. Our family enjoyed a fabulous lobster dinner at a local restaurant and the price per person was less than $18.00. He was a fountain of information. And I have to say that our vacation was better than any we have taken all because he was able to anticipate and meet our needs.

The room was delightful. It was clean and well designed for traveling families. The outdoor walk way was large and created a nice little terrace overlooking the pool area where they set up a large outdoor screen to show Disney movies in the evenings. It reminded me of a very classy drive in theater! The hotel provided a quaint little seating area right outside your door in this same area where we were able to enjoy morning coffee or evening drinks overlooking the beautiful pool. It provided an extra little touch that enhanced our stay.

I loved the cooked to order breakfast in the mornings. This service is one of the included amenities at any of the Embassy Suites Hotels we have previously stayed in as well as the managers reception in the evenings where they lay out snacks and serve cocktails. I have to say we were very disappointed in the snacks that were served during the managers reception. The cocktails were to die for and the bartender was exceptional. Much like the Head of Valet she gave us little bits of information that proved invaluable. She also had a terrific sense of humor and a very extensible knowledge of different mixed drinks that were delicious. But the snacks were the worst. Stale popcorn every night seven nights in a row as well as off brand Chex Mix type snacks and watery dips and salsa that were always warm.

When we have stayed at other Embassy Suites the evening snacks were almost a dinner. They would put out hot appetizers like chicken fingers, mini tacos, boneless wings, small almost bite size little pieces of pizza and make your own nachos that included hot beef and beans as well as shredded cheeses and sour cream. So you can see how disappointed we were with the sub par snacks provided by this particular Embassy Suites Hotel.

Over all I would say we loved our stay and are planning a trip next year at the same time with our teenagers. They actually begged us to take them back next year to this same hotel, and with our kids that is a rare or even unheard of request. They usually play it cool and say yea it was all right. This time they said wow this was one the best vacations we have ever taken.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R, Manager at Embassy Suites Orlando/Lake Buena Vista Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review of our property. I am so glad that your stay was enjoyable and that the family had a great time. I sincerely hope that we will see you again and again, and if there is anything I can do to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to let me know.

Sincerely,

Gary Rodriguez
Director of Operations
Embassy Suites Lake Buena Vista
407-239-1144
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    384
    336
    176
    104
    46
See reviews for
594
165
19
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stay almost exclusively at Embassy Suites due to great service and value. This location was no exception. The facility is located just a few minutes from Disney and they offer a complimentary shuttle to all the Disney parks. We used the shuttle and it was great. We didn't want to wait for the epcot shuttle so we took the one to magic kingdom which drops you at the ticket and transportation center and we just hopped on the monorail over tp epcot. They give you a schedule and you know exactly where they will pick you up. They were very prompt. The shuttle company itself was great. While waiting for our 945 pickup from epcot it began raining very hard. Another driver with the same company was there for 1000 pickup for another hotel and pulled up and invited us all to wait on his bus until our bus arrived. The cocktail hours are 530 to 730 and offers popcorn and chips. We liked the sangria in the bar but any drink was available. The also offered different flavors of slushees for kids which was really nice. Breakfast was great. You should definitely order an omelet or cooked to order eggs just to meet the cook. He is hilarious and very charming. There was no lines even though there was some sort of convention at the hotel. Perhaps this was just a slow week in Orlando but we encountered no crowds at hotel nor epcot (the only park we visited). We had the pool to ourselves as well. They show movies on a large screen above the pool at night but we never got back in time to see them. There is a pizza hut there as well as a small grill type restaurant. We never ate there as the hotel is just a minute from several restaurants such as Olive Garden, Red Lobster, etc. There are two laundry rooms and a business center. We used both the laundry and business center. There is also a small gift shop. The staff is excellent of course. We have never been disappointed by Embassy Suites and this was another great trip for us.

Room Tip: We were in room 417 in the main building. It was close to the elevator but quiet. There are also lan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I was here on business. The morning breakfast needs more than one cook. Otherwise the self serve one has overcooked eggs and cold sausage. The free drink happy hour is wonderful and there are several free snacks to hold one over until dinner. The hotel's dinners are not remarkable but the deserts are rather good. Skip any thing that looks like strawberry short cake. Soups are good as are the dinner rolls. Rooms are adequate but un like Residents Inn the kitchen has NO pots, plates or silver. There is a refrigerator, and small micro oven but no cork screw.Meeting room are always COLD. There is a shuttle to Disney but NOT Universal Studio. Park admission tickets are available. You need a car if you stay here.

Room Tip: Smoking rooms are on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I just got back from a four-day, three-night stay at this hotel. It was great and we have agreed we won't be staying anywhere else whenever we go to Orlando.

We didn't have our kids with us, but the room would have been fine for them if we had. It had two rooms, one with a very comfy King bed, the other was a living room with a fold-out couch. Both had TV's, although they were the older kind. We really didn't watch much TV anyway. They provided a shuttle to the Disney parks, but we didn't use it, so I can't comment on how well that worked (or didn't). You can buy Disney tickets there, but I don't recommend that. I inquired about getting two adult tickets to one park for one day, and it was about $20 per person more than buying a park hopper ticket on Disney's website. There was someone working for the hotel who offered us a deal for half the price of buying through the seller at the hotel, but we would have had to sit through a 90-minute timeshare presentation. No thanks. Just want to warn anyone who is thinking of getting tickets at the hotel.

We got our wi-fi for free, although a card in the room said it was $12/day. I don't know if that's old info or if we lucked out. The wi-fi was a little slow, but decent. We were on the top floor, so it could have been due to that.

The free breakfast was really good. The omelet maker was hilarious. He had everyone laughing. Such a character! He was off the day we checked out and we were so disappointed. The other guy did a good job, but he wasn't funny. In addition to the cooked to order omelet station, they also offered grits, bacon or sausage, french toast or pancakes, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, and probably something else I'm forgetting. Beverage options were skim milk, 2% milk, chocolate milk, orange juice, cranberry juice, coffee (regular or decaf), and there was hot water for tea or hot chocolate. On our last morning there, the orange juice was awful for some reason, but I think that was a fluke because it was fine the other days.

The location was good too. We were fifteen minutes from the Universal parks, which was what we were doing in Orlando. There were several take-out places nearby. They offer room service as well, but we didn't use it. They have a Pizza Hut Express in the hotel, but there is a regular Pizza Hut that is a sit-down, carry-out, and delivery location just a few blocks away. It's cheaper as well. There was an Indian restaurant nearby called India Palace nearby that my husband enjoyed. There was also a grocery store close by that was good, although I thought it was a bit hidden. Disney property was just a few blocks away. We went to Downtown Disney for a bit, and I think it was only a few miles from the hotel to the parking lot. It was about a half hour from the airport.

The hotel staff was great. The bartender opened our wine that we brought in and gave us chilled glasses as well. A guy at the front desk helped recommend restaurants, even going so far as to print out information for one he thought we would like that wasn't on the list the hotel provided.

Parking was free. You just had to insert your room key to open the gate. There was plenty of room in the lot.
Our room had a small fridge and microwave as well as a coffee maker.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

great overall deal. with a corporate discount i got this for $82/night including taxes and fees. (last year i stayed at a Quality Inn, that was almost just about as nice, that included pretty much the same amenities (for $85/night after all taxes and fees)).

+ this included free wi-fi internet in your room (just ask the front desk for the login/password) and this worked very well in my room! you just have to play around with the initial logging-in to the wi-fi from your computer/ipad
+ also included free breakfast 7-10am (approx.) every morning: hot food is an egg omlette station where you can order what you like; and then it switched between potatoes/bacon/sausage and pancakes/french toast depending on the morning, then cereals, toast, coffee/tea/hot chocolate, pastries, juice, instant oatmeal packets. we took extra food for either dinner later or muffins to snack on thru-out the day no-problem. no ticket needed to enter at all, and it's just out in the back of the lobby.
+ there is a daily free cocktails reception everyday in the evening for about 2 hours, but we never got to take advantage of this as we were always at a theme park. i don't think they use drink tickets; i think it's like a free open bar
+ finally included free shuttlebus service to only all 4 disneyworld parks (NO seaworld or universal orlando parks). shuttle buses pulled up right out in front of hotel. if anything, they consistently seemed to run a few (approx. 5-7min) BEHIND schedule.

the lobby is a touch beach-cheesy looking, but our room was nice, fresh, and clean.

our room (room 112) had a (we're a young-ish couple, late-20's/early-30's):
- living room with a couch, desk, flat-screen tv, closet
- kitchen with sink/microwave/dishwasher/coffee maker/mugs and cups
- 1 bathroom with shower (NO tub - we had gotten a wheelchair accessible room unintentionally), sink, toilet, toiletries, bath towels for 4 people
- 1 bedroom with 1 COMFORTABLE (like sleeping on a cloud!) king bed, closet, safe, flat-screen tv, another sink with hand towels and toilettries
- this was on the 1st floor, but we ended up hardly ever hearing any noise from the lobby/outside, so it wasn't ever really a problem

taxi from MCO airport to hotel: it's about a 30-min drive (max). Mears (the big cab company in Orlando) will charge about $60-70. we used a regular meter taxi bc i had read online that that was cheaper; it was not! we ended up paying about $62 total :( (the cab did take credit cards, fyi)

Platinum is the company that runs a lot of the free shuttle bus services in Orlando; we got a taxi to Universal Orlando theme parks for $27 one-way (the front desk told us that a meter taxi would run about $30-$35). they also then took us back to the MCO airport for $60.

i think there's lots of local take-out places deliver right to your room, but we never did this.

the hotel itself for dinner sells PizzaHut pizza, but we never ate/bought this.

hotel has a pool, hottub, kiddie pool, and outdoor & indoor bars. pools open until 11pm. we got to enjoy the last 45min for 2 nights, it was decently nice.

Room Tip: we sort of wish we didn't have the accessible bathroom (no tub), but no big deal really
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband & I had won a charity auction for a 4 day/3 night stay at this hotel. We did not actually pay per night.

With that said, I would recommend the hotel. We had a double bed two-room suite. The first room you walk into has a flat screen TV, a lounge chair, a large sofa, a round table with three chairs and a bar with a fridge/microwave/sink. There is a nice size bathroom with another sink, a tub with shower and a toilet.

The actual bedroom had two double beds, a nice sized double closet with hangers, a flat screen TV, an alarm clock and a third sink.

The room was extremely clean and the towels are fluffy. The water pressure was great and the water was hot.

The bed had a velour blanket in between two sheets so you didn't have to touch it. I liked this since most hotels don't protect the blankets. The blanket on top of the bed was pilly and was taken off immediately.

The staff was all extremely nice & helpful.

Across from the front desk is a desk that sells Disney tickets. The tickets are about $100 per person but if you attend a "time share" (they don't call it that of course) presentation, they will give you two tickets for $95 or so. We did not attend the presentation.

The breakfast was EXCELLENT. We had the chef prepare an omelet one day and the chef was nice. They had pancakes with hot syrup, cereals with milks, juices, sodas, coffees, teas, sausage and bacon (yum!), pastries, toasts and hash browns.

We attended the manager's 5:30-7:30 event (I forget what they call it). It included a few slushy drinks (my husband loved these - non alcoholic), some beers (didn't try) and a few alcoholic choices. I had the latter and they were quite yummy. There was also chips, pretzels and popcorn. Very fun.

We stayed a Saturday night, Sunday night & Monday night. Saturday & Sunday the pool & hot tub were VERY busy. We don't have children ourselves. This would be more of a family pool & hot tub than for couples. There were children everywhere - running around, slashing and in the hot tub (without supervision).

Thankfully we were able to go to the hot tub on Monday when it was quieter.

The USA Today is delivered every day. We opted to not have the housekeeping service clean our room since we were there all day and they left a bag outside our door with more shampoo/conditioner/cream, towels & toilet tissue. Very nice!

There are four elevators which allowed for not-too-long of a wait each time we needed to got to the first floor (we were in room 339).

The internet was free for the month we stayed (September 2012) with a code. Internet is usually about $12 per day. This seems a bit pricey. There is a business center with two computers and a printer on the first floor for free.

My husband enjoyed the fitness center each day and said it was not crowded.

Now...I didn't rate this as a five star hotel due to the NOISE! The doors SLAM shut each time you go in or out of any room. You can hear them the entire way down the hallway. I go to bed earlier than most people (around 10pm) and the doors were still slamming. Thankfully we have a white noise machine and it mostly drowned them out.

Also, there are a lot of children. This is fine if you have children but my husband & I would not come back due to this fact. Children are great but are LOUD and the parents we saw allowed them to scream & yell down the hallways. This is not the fault of the staff nor the hotel. It is just children being children. But, I would not recommend this hotel to other non-child couples.

We did not take the free bus to Disney but they do have a shuttle. Valet is also optional (I think the cost is around $12 per day) but the parking lot was empty and only a short walk.

Room Tip: I would pick a room on the end of the hallway to minimize noise as much as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Very clean, furniture could use updating. Breakfast buffet was good with many choices. Could hear the cars on the interstate and every time someone shut their door. Nice fluffy towels, Crabtree and Evelyn bath products were nice. Front desk staff very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Do not stay on 1st floor.. Lots of traffic outside door
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Orlando/Lake Buena Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Orlando/Lake Buena Vista Resort

Address: 8100 Lake Avenue, Orlando, FL 32836
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Lake Buena Vista , Walt Disney World Resort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in Orlando
#152 Family Hotel in Orlando
#171 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Orlando/Lake Buena Vista Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our all-suite hotel is on the doorstep to the Walt Disney World® Resort. We offer a complimentary, scheduled shuttle to and from the Walt Disney World® Resort theme parks. With our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast each morning, tennis courts, fitness center, and multiple on-site restaurants, we are a perfect location for your next Orlando, FL family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Embassy Suites Orlando/Lake Buena Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Orlando/Lake Buena Vista Hotel Orlando
Orlando Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Orlando/Lake Buena Vista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.