We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort to your Saves list
The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   4510 North Fort Wilderness Trail, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Walt Disney World Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
A TripAdvisor Member
“Best Place on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2006

We love Fort Wilderness more than any other place on earth. We travel there at least twice a year, if not more. It is beautiful, peaceful and more relaxing than any place I have ever been. I know the choices for lodging in the area are huge and we could stay at a much "nicer" place for less money but ... for us there is no comparison. I would take a night at Fort Wilderness over a night at a Ritz-Carlton any day of the week. Everyone who reads this and everyone within the sound of my voice: you need to pack your things and head for Fort Wilderness immediatly. You will not regret it! And you'll make memories that will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    272
    82
    48
    24
See reviews for
783
89
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2006

One of the best parts of our trip was going back to the "cabin" after a long day of walking and playing to rest in our own private spot. It was like a small community. Everyone was friendly and the woods gave it a laid-back, peaceful feeling. It was great for the kids and so COMFORTABLE & RELAXING!! We have 3 kids ages 12, 5 & 9 and we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else when we go to Disney. We cooked out on the grill, ate on the deck, walked up to the little store and had a great time! I know the kids wouldn't say the resort was their ultimate best time of the trip but I say it was mine. I loved it so much i'm now decorating my bedroom with a touch of Fort Wilderness because it was a peacful & relaxing get-a-way. Yet it's close enough to the action that after dinner we would head into one of the fun parks for some rides or go to downtown Disney and walk around the shops at night.

WE LOVE FORT WILDERNESS!!
The Beal Family

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2006

I stayed at Fort Wilderness in June for 6 nights w/ 6 other people.
3 adults and 4 kids. Nice experience. More than enough room for 7 ppl. Could use more closet and drawer space. Cabin is extremely clean, and cleaned every day wonderfully with housekeeping. A golf cart is a must to get around. Expensive for the carts ($44 a day-car rentals are cheaper) but you cannot drive your car around so they got you there. If you are looking to stay in a place where you actually feel wilderness around you this is the place but not the place if you are looking for luxury accommodations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deland, Fl
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2006

Stayed at the FW cabins for two nights along with another family. Each had a cabin with children in the 2600 loop. As mentioned previously, these single wide trailers which have been covered with a facade of wood beams are very large relative to the Disney Hotels and have actually more amenities in the room than most. The cabins measure about 500 sq feet with separate bedroom. Living area has a murphy bed for addtional sleeping space. The cabins are tucked in among tall pines so all seem to be nicely shaded and well cared for. It is a long walk from most of the "loops" of cabins to the main eating and entertainment areas..this is a very large property and the golf cart was absolutely necessary for our families. Transportation to MK is easy by boat though other parks require a bus. The Hoopdedoo Review which is a dinner option at the FW is overpriced as most of Disney is as the entertainment was mediocre as was the food. Other food options will get tiring fast so you will need to cook your own in the kitchen or travel around the park for some variety. There is a grocery on site with most essentials.
All in all a nice change of pace from the other Disney properties where you can benefit from the Disney management without feeling immersed in Disney culture. Certainly a good value for families who don't mind traveling almost everywhere you need to go.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2006

We just got back from a 4 night stay in the cabins at Ft. Wilderness May 21-24 and can happily report a terrific time. My wife and sons ages 5, 4, and 2 slept very comfortably in the well appointed and well decorated cabin in the 2600 loop. All the cabins are the same with some being closer to laundry facilities, bus stops, and pools than others. Ours was right across from a pool and a laundry stationand around the corner from a bus stop. This resort is 700+ acres and has a very efficient and convenient bus system to transport you from place to place. Many people rent golf carts available at the bike barn but these are about $95.00 per day. We chose to use the bus system and our bodies to get around and that was good enough. The cabins have full size oven, fridge, microwave, and all the cookware, plates, glasses, and utensils as well as daily maid service. We bought our groceries at a local Albertsons on Orange Blossom Trail in Orlando (They will pre-pack groceries for you from a faxed list and you can pick them up on the way in). Since we drove from Dallas, TX. this was a good option for us. We saved a ton of money by cooking all but two of our meals in our cabin. The resort has plenty to do without ever going to the theme park. There is horseback riding, petting farm, pony rides, fishing, boating of all kinds, swimming, nightly campfire sing-a-longs, outdoor movies, wagon rides...and more. Our boys ended up having plenty to do at the resort and we only spent one day at the Magic Kingdom. For their ages this worked perfectly. We were able to bring them back to the cabin for naps each day and they crashed from exhaustion each time. The cabins are sooo quiet and comfortable. It was like our own vacation home for a short while and the kids could be as noisy as they wanted to. Also there is a great beach at the resort where the fireworks show at the Magic Kingdom can be seen perfectly as well as a nightly electric water parade. These can be enjoyed in great style on a moonlit, cool sand beach while relaxing in lounge chairs. Most of the people are so preoccupied with being at the theme parks at closing time that they miss the perks of the resort. We shared the whole beach with maybe 20 other people. Watching our kids dancing in the sand during the light parade or sitting in awe during the fire works were the images that stuck with me. I cannot imagine a more perfect resort for families.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Mexico
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2006

We stayed in one of the Wilderness Cabins and really enjoyed our time there. Granted these don't have the all amenities of all the other Disney hotels, but they more than make up for it in space, quiet and convenience. That said, who wants to spend lots of time with hundreds of other people at a hotel pool or whatever when you’re paying $$$/day for Disney park passes.

Anyway, we checked in the day prior to our first park excursion. I ran over to the grocery store in the Crossroads shopping center, bought fruit, breakfast fixings, and lots of bottled water. Since our kids are early risers, we ate breakfast at the cabin, ate lunch there too when we brought them back for a nap, and then ate dinner in the parks.

The cabins are huge by Disney accommodation standards. The beds are comfortable, the kitchen nicely equipped and being able to pull up to within 15 foot of your hotel door is priceless (think tired kids, lots of gear, etc and parking as closely as you would to your own house).

We drove our car to all of the parks except for Magic Kingdom (take the ferry, it’s worth it) and averaged 10-15 min from the door of the cabin to the shuttle at the park’s lot. On the subject of cars, the one downside is that you can’t really drive and park anywhere in the Wilderness area. This makes sense as they’re trying to cut down on road traffic and minimize parking areas, but it can be hassle. That said, the purple/orange busses run very regularly and you can get around to the stores and farm area.

Great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2006

Our family, 2 adults and four kids ages 4 through 12, spent 6 nights at the Fort Wilderness Campground and loved it. We were tent camping in the 2000 loop which we thought was a great location. Sites are large enough for 2 tents, which is what we had. There was not as much privacy between sites as we would have liked but it was not a problem at all. The comfort stations and laundry room were very clean. Renting a golf cart is a must since the campground is very large. Transportation to all parks could not have been easier. The restaurant and shops in the campground were very convenient. We would highly recommend Fort Wilderness.

Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort

Address: 4510 North Fort Wilderness Trail, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Walt Disney World Resort
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 408
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Camping
Fort Wilderness Disney
Campground Orlando
Fort Wilderness Florida
Disneys Fort Wilderness Resort Campground
Ft Wilderness Disney
Disney Fort Wilderness Resort
Disneys Ft Wilderness Campground

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.