We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent week at Ft. Wilderness!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort to your Saves list
The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   4510 North Fort Wilderness Trail, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Walt Disney World Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Excellent week at Ft. Wilderness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived the day before Mother's Day to a FULL campground, but it cleared out on Sunday, leaving the grounds only about 1/3 full. We were in the 300 loop, which was close enough to walk to the Magic Kingdom boat, Pioneer Hall (for the fabulous Hoop De Doo Revue) and Crockett's Tavern where we enjoyed 2 delicious breakfast buffets. The restroom facilities are kept very clean and showers were always available, even on the busy Sunday morning. We enjoyed the pool one afternoon, and my nieces were thrilled with the kids' afternoon activities, especially how the leaders made sure to include the younger of the 2 girls. The campground has some biting white flies, so if you're susceptible to bug bites, spray is a must! The bus transportation all around camp is a bonus. The campsite size was more than adequate for our large trailer, and the loops which allow dogs are much appreciated. A family of wild turkeys wandered through our campsite one morning, making us appreciate this wilderness resort even more.

Room Tip: The 300 and 400 loops allow dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    762
    284
    87
    55
    26
See reviews for
829
95
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Once again Disney does not disappoint. We stayed here with our camper "Lucky Dogs" and the two dogs it is named for. Friends with their camper and two dogs joined us for five days. The reservation staffed honored our requests to be next to each other. Lots of trees and shrubs are between each campsite which makes it more private. The grounds are well cared for in a natural way. We were close to the bus line but enjoyed taking the boat to most of the parks which is a relaxing way to get around. We enjoyed walking about especially in the morning. The dogs love the dog park which is very large. The play station areas have agility toys such as stairs to climb and others toys. Then when done playing they have water stations for them.One morning we saw deer by the dog park which was neat. Several restaurants are on the grounds and we enjoyed the breakfast buffett one morning which was bountiful and even discounted if staying on property! One night we enjoyed the free movie under the stars which is shown nightly on a large screen with plenty of seats available. We saw Malicifent which I had not gotten a chance to see so that was fun. There is a concession stand where you can buy s'mores kits and other items or you can bring your own treats. The comfort stations were spotless and near each camping section. As usual Disney thinks of everything. Loved it so much we already have reservations to go back for Thanksgiving.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Through a strange series of events, we became the proud owner of a new RV in October. So after a very brief discussion we decided to try out the RV with a 2400 mile round trip to Ft Wilderness. My wife booked us into the 200 loop. The site had more than enough room for us and our 28' motor home. It was an easy back in for this rookie even in the dark. The site was level and nicely paved with a dirt/sand area in the back of the site where the grill and picnic table were located. The utilities were properly set up and close to the RV service bay, everything worked properly and the site had good WIFI.

The bath house was just across the road from us, it appeared to be shared between loop 100 and 200 ( these are very small loops) We found the bathhouse very clean and well maintained. There is also a laundry room in this building but we did not use it. I found the site to be in a great location. It was an easy walk to bus stop, the boat to the transportation center, general store and the restaurant.

Over the years we have made many trips to Disney World, most times staying at one Disney hotel or another, so we were somewhat familiar with the Disney transportation system. For us a car was not needed, no small children. We just brought bicycles and relied on the transportation system. Is It fast? At times yes. Is it slow? Can be depending on where you wanted to go. But it worked for us. The pool is a bit of a hike from the 200 loop. It is an easy bike ride, but walking? I don't know. The Ft Wilderness Camp Ground is very spread out if you have small children you may want to consider renting golf cart for your time here.

Would I go back again? Absolutely!!

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, f
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fort Wilderness has something for everyone. It's camping light for my wife, while still allowing my son and I to get the Outdoors experience. The amenities are always kept up well and we can access all parts of Disney's property from the bus systems near the front of the campgrounds OR can take a boat to the Contemporary (where we can hop on the monorail). There is no better place to camp than Fort Wilderness. Now, if Disney could just do something about that frustrating automated service you have to go through to make your reservation (it is atrocious).

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldo, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our favorite "resort" to stay in. We have camped (in a tent) a LOT! We have stayed at other resorts but always compare it to being in the outdoors.. Cooking outside, enjoying a cup of coffee first thing in the morning. Relaxing at night time. We absolutely love it.

Room Tip: Try camping and staying at the campground. We usually stay in the spring and fall when it is cooler...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Disney (on the phone when I made the reservations) insisted my teardrop trailer would be too big for the lowest cost sites, even though I explained it was smaller than a popup camper. So, I had to upgrade to next level of cost. Check in took a bit longer than it should have I would say, but the staff was very friendly. This site was average at best...too close to other sites, very buggy, charging station at the front of the site (for the golf carts) did not work, cable TV did not work. Very nice shower rooms/laundry. We loved the pool area (the one with the water slide). We rented a golf cart for two days...an expensive addition, but given the distances you must travel within the park, a necessity. Overall, I guess it was "worth it" for the fun we had at the pool, but it was much more expensive than any other campsite in which I have stayed. We were there in early May...not many folks in the pool area, although campsites were pretty much full.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was a little leary of staying the cabins at Ft Wilderness campgrounds but really enjoyed our stay. The area is great it is a must to rent a golf cart. Bus service to the parks is timely and the boat ride to the magic kingdom is wonderful. The cabins are nice but beds are small. 4 kids can sleep in the bedroom on a double and two bunks and mom/dad can sleep on the Murphy bed in the living room. DO NOT go to the pool in the middle of the camp ground unless you like MASSIVE crowds. There are a few pools around the park to use that are not as crowded. Do it again; yes.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort

Address: 4510 North Fort Wilderness Trail, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Walt Disney World Resort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp amid the magic of the great outdoors. Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort & Campground evokes the timeless beauty of the American frontier, with deer, rabbits, ducks and armadillos roaming the Resort's 750 acres of pine and cypress forest. Discover charming woodland trails, a pristine beach, spectacular pool areas and rip-roarin' entertainment at this picturesque backcountry retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Camping
Fort Wilderness Disney
Campground Orlando
Fort Wilderness Florida
Disneys Fort Wilderness Resort Campground
Ft Wilderness Disney
Disney Fort Wilderness Resort
Disneys Ft Wilderness Campground

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.