We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Camping” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort to your Saves list
The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   4510 North Fort Wilderness Trail, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Walt Disney World Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Milltown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Magical Camping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We have stayed at Fort Wilderness many times and it will remain on our list of vacation favorites. It is the most economical way to stay on Disney property and, unlike the value resorts, there is a waterslide in the pool & a hot tub. Every camping loop has a giant comfort station with showers,bathrooms, ice machines & a laundry area. The sites are well groomed with level pads for your tent or camper. As with any other Disney resort there are many transportation options available for free.

Room Tip: Take a look at a campground map to help determine which loop you'd like to request (I.e. close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    296
    87
    55
    27
See reviews for
867
100
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My family and friends recently stayed at the cabins at Fort Wilderness. We had a great time. The reservation staff was very accommodating. They took care of any issues very promptly and thoroughly. The cabin itself, was very clean and well maintained every day. There was enough room for 6 of us. 2 adults, 3 teen, and 1 preteen.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed in a cabin on loop 2600, loved the location! Close to the "quiet" pool and the Reception Outpost. We cooked all our meals inside the cabin. Full kitchen with all the gadgets. Had a DVD player and enjoyed watching movies.
In the bedroom 1-double bed, it was comfie, and a set of bunks,the living room had a murphy bed, also comfie. The cabin is just adorable a little home away from home.
We rented a golf cart to zoom around the resort, that was a blast! It was the highlight to my 12 year old g-daughters trip.
Nice, reasonable priced General Stores that even offer delivery. Dinner buffet at Trails End was family friendly, decent food and priced right,
Of course, there are buses to all of the Disney attractions and a boat direct to the Magic Kingdom.
You cannot go wrong with this Family Fun Resort! We are going back!
.

Room Tip: We loved the 2600 loop,by the "quiet pool"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We reserved and paid deposits in August for this family gathering during Thanksgiving weekend to attend Mickey's Very Merry Christmas Party. Our family is a frequent Walt Disney World/ Fort Wilderness family. We were at Disney World with one child on opening week in 1972 and started coming to the campground as soon as it opened. We requested cabins, 3 of them, in the 2100 loop near the meadows. SURPRISE!! Our cabins were in the center of 2800, far from the bus stop and ANY recreation which we so enjoy. The sofa was grimy, several things had to be replaced during our stay..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We just returned from a weekend camping at Disney's Fort Wilderness campground with our children (ages 6 & 9). It was exactly what I would expect from camping at Disney World. The customer service is exceptional. The facilities are clean and well maintained and there is no shortage of activities for families. We were tent camping, so we were given a spot that had plenty of room for two family-size tents, one minivan, one pickup truck, and two golf carts. The kids had a blast riding around on the golf carts, swimming in the pools, and playing on the playgrounds.

All that being said, I would not recommend Ft. Wilderness to anyone looking to experience nature of have a quiet weekend hiking or bird watching. The buses ran all night and they camp sites are close enough to hear everyone around you. For me, it's about expectation. If you want the Disney experience in a tent, camper, or cabin, then this is a great choice. If you want quiet, nature, hiking, bird watching, etc., I would recommend looking elsewhere.

Overall, we had a great experience and my kids had a blast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We do the Very Merry Christmas Party every year. Little one loves the Toy Soldiers & the Christmas parade at the Magic Kingdom. We love the fact that during the Party it is less crowded and watching the fireworks up front on Main Street with hardly anyone around is so awesome & you can also pick a good spot for the parade because that is where it ends :) As well as just practically walking in to visit Mickey & Santa with hardly any wait time. Because most are down in front of the castle watching those events. The front entrance on Main Street if the place to be. Fort Wilderness is our stay & has been since the early 80's. Seen all kinds of changes(good & not so good) but we still love going & always will. Will be heading back first of May (little ones birthday visit). We rent a golf cart now days (we used to ride our bikes back in the day) but as we have all aged we have gotten a little lazy, lol :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We recently stayed here for one week, in one of the cabins. There is transportation to everywhere on the resort and all the parks. The cabins come equipped and have everything down to a can opener and tongs for the little charcoal park grill they provide. The rooms were big enough for our 3 adults and 2 children. The maid service was just excellent, running the dishwasher when I forgot, always making sure the garbage was taken out. There is so much to do when you add the amusement parks into the mix, that one week just isn't enough to fit it all in. I would definately recommend a cabin over one of the all star resorts, as I've stayed in them as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Walt Disney World Resort
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort

Address: 4510 North Fort Wilderness Trail, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Walt Disney World Resort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp amid the magic of the great outdoors. Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort & Campground evokes the timeless beauty of the American frontier, with deer, rabbits, ducks and armadillos roaming the Resort's 750 acres of pine and cypress forest. Discover charming woodland trails, a pristine beach, spectacular pool areas and rip-roarin' entertainment at this picturesque backcountry retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Camping
Fort Wilderness Disney
Campground Orlando
Fort Wilderness Florida
Disneys Fort Wilderness Resort Campground
Ft Wilderness Disney
Disney Fort Wilderness Resort
Disneys Ft Wilderness Campground

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.