We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check in early; request not honored; not to Disney standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort and Campground

Save Saved
You added Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort and Campground to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort and Campground
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   4510 North Fort Wilderness Trail, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Lake Buena Vista)   |  
Hotel amenities
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Check in early; request not honored; not to Disney standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We reserved and paid deposits in August for this family gathering during Thanksgiving weekend to attend Mickey's Very Merry Christmas Party. Our family is a frequent Walt Disney World/ Fort Wilderness family. We were at Disney World with one child on opening week in 1972 and started coming to the campground as soon as it opened. We requested cabins, 3 of them, in the 2100 loop near the meadows. SURPRISE!! Our cabins were in the center of 2800, far from the bus stop and ANY recreation which we so enjoy. The sofa was grimy, several things had to be replaced during our stay..

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    706
    309
    88
    47
    28
See reviews for
826
83
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casselberry, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We just returned from a weekend camping at Disney's Fort Wilderness campground with our children (ages 6 & 9). It was exactly what I would expect from camping at Disney World. The customer service is exceptional. The facilities are clean and well maintained and there is no shortage of activities for families. We were tent camping, so we were given a spot that had plenty of room for two family-size tents, one minivan, one pickup truck, and two golf carts. The kids had a blast riding around on the golf carts, swimming in the pools, and playing on the playgrounds.

All that being said, I would not recommend Ft. Wilderness to anyone looking to experience nature of have a quiet weekend hiking or bird watching. The buses ran all night and they camp sites are close enough to hear everyone around you. For me, it's about expectation. If you want the Disney experience in a tent, camper, or cabin, then this is a great choice. If you want quiet, nature, hiking, bird watching, etc., I would recommend looking elsewhere.

Overall, we had a great experience and my kids had a blast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore Haven, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We do the Very Merry Christmas Party every year. Little one loves the Toy Soldiers & the Christmas parade at the Magic Kingdom. We love the fact that during the Party it is less crowded and watching the fireworks up front on Main Street with hardly anyone around is so awesome & you can also pick a good spot for the parade because that is where it ends :) As well as just practically walking in to visit Mickey & Santa with hardly any wait time. Because most are down in front of the castle watching those events. The front entrance on Main Street if the place to be. Fort Wilderness is our stay & has been since the early 80's. Seen all kinds of changes(good & not so good) but we still love going & always will. Will be heading back first of May (little ones birthday visit). We rent a golf cart now days (we used to ride our bikes back in the day) but as we have all aged we have gotten a little lazy, lol :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We recently stayed here for one week, in one of the cabins. There is transportation to everywhere on the resort and all the parks. The cabins come equipped and have everything down to a can opener and tongs for the little charcoal park grill they provide. The rooms were big enough for our 3 adults and 2 children. The maid service was just excellent, running the dishwasher when I forgot, always making sure the garbage was taken out. There is so much to do when you add the amusement parks into the mix, that one week just isn't enough to fit it all in. I would definately recommend a cabin over one of the all star resorts, as I've stayed in them as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed here at the end of February in a pop up camper with 2 small children. Beautiful campground, VERY clean, toddler water slide / play area and larger pool are awesome. Bath house very clean and accessible. It is a large campground and a little bit difficult to navigate. The loops near the marina / restaurants are premium due to access to parks, etc. The large pool / rec area is centrally located and another great place to try to stay. Our site was closer to the front of the campground. You will either want a golf cart, bikes or be okay giving yourself about 1 hour to get to the parks. Internal bus system is confusing and a little frustrating. The magic kingdom water light parade plays loud music nightly around 9:30 - just a warning for those w/little ones. Otherwise, wonderful!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Our family stayed for 10 days, 9 nights in our 5th wheel trailer the end of January 2014. Everything about this park is just awesome! Easy check-in, beautiful clean sites. This campground has everything you need. You can rent golf carts to get around the campground if you wish, we were glad we did for a day so we got to see everything! The campground is very clean, and surprisingly quiet. We loved the pool, its huge! the kids loved the splash pad, and the water slide! There was so much to do right in the campground, so we didn't need to go to the parks everyday. I couldn't get over how easy it was to go to the parks, either by bus or boat from the campground. We were to any park in no time!
We got to enjoy the fireworks at the beach and the electric boat parade, both were amazing~
We also took in both the Hoop Dee Doo (a dinner and musical) and the Trails end restaurant. I recommend both, especially the Hoop Dee Doo! Both of these restaurants are at the Fort Wilderness Campground by the beach. We just loved our family trip. "It was the best trip ever!" as my kids keep saying! We will be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Bay, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was our first time staying at the Wilderness Cabins and, after having stayed at the Grand Floridian many times in the past, I was not expecting very much. But I am so happy to report that I absolutely LOVED it! The cabin was absolutely perfect! We had ordered groceries to be delivered to the cabin before we left home and everything was waiting in our cabin when we opened the door. Refrigerated items in refrigerator, frozen items in freezer and all others in the well-stocked kitchen cabinets. Full refrigerator, stove, microwave, sink and even a dishwasher! There were 6 of us and we never felt crowded. The Murphy Bed in the living room was absolutely fantastic and so easy to use. Just pull it down at night and flip it back up in the morning. Fulll maid services in the room every day, including a visit from Tinkerbell's BFF, who "tricked out" our room while we were at the Magic Kingdom all day. Our three little girls were absolutely thrilled! Getting around was so easy. Bus stopped around the corner from our cabin every 20 minutes to take you either to the Reception or the dock where we would take the boat to Magic Kingdom or Contemporary Hotel (Which is how we went to the Lilo & Stitch breakfast at Ohana. We boarded the monorail there. Super easy) Everyone at the resort was absolutely wonderful. We got back to our cabin after 10:00 on our last night and I was disappointed to see that the on-site check-in computer for the airlines was already closed. Traveling on Southwest, it is important to do your check-in as early as possible to get a good boarding pass position. But when I went outside the following morning to enjoy my last cup of coffee at the picnic table I was so surprised to find an envelope with all of our boarding passes printed out - and the luggage tags as well! They really go above and beyond! We took the Magical Express both ways to and from the airport and that really was a plus! Not only did we not have to pay for a taxi but we didn't have to wait at the baggage carousel to collect our luggage. While we were exploring the grounds it was delivered to our cabin and waiting for us when we returned very shortly thereafter. I can't wait to stay here again. I didn't miss Grand Floridian at all!

Room Tip: Our cabin #2660 was only a 2-minute walk from the bus stop and the pool. Will ask for this exact on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort and Campground

Address: 4510 North Fort Wilderness Trail, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Lake Buena Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort and Campground 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort and Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Camping
Fort Wilderness Disney
Campground Orlando
Fort Wilderness Florida
Disneys Fort Wilderness Resort Campground
Ft Wilderness Disney
Disney Fort Wilderness Resort
Disneys Ft Wilderness Campground

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort and Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.