We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids loved it... and so did we!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort to your Saves list
The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   4510 North Fort Wilderness Trail, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Walt Disney World Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
McKinney, Texas
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Kids loved it... and so did we!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We just returned from a 6 day trip at the Cabins at Fort Wilderness and loved it! For months we read tripadvisor reviews and recommendations so we have a few of our own!

Overall, the park was beautiful and maintained with little or no bugs or pests- amazing! We stayed in the 2300 loop in a cabin that was clean and quaint and comfortable! Some of the lightbulbs were out but it didn't matter and we didn't call housekeeping about it because we were gone much of the time. We felt the cabins were well appointed and comfortable in general- the privacy and extra space were great. We felt the staff was really great in general- we especially appreciated Robert, who was soooo helpful and friendly and brought our luggage to the checkout, Ms. Marie who cleaned our place, and Ms. Angie at lost and found who will mail our swim suits we left at the pool on the last day! One night, our TV and DVD stopped working and at 11pm a great technician from New York, came out right away to fix it! Thanks everyone! We really wanted a late check out because our kids were so tired but alas, they could not accommodate, but that was probably less about service and more about getting the cabin ready for the next guest.

We ordered from Green Grocers to have food in the cabin in advance and loved the service. We did order too much, however, and learned later that you could re-order once we were there and there would be no extra charges (but I would tip the nice delivery people). We grilled fillets one night and burgers another- 1 9lb bag of matchlight charcoal did the trick.

For transportation, we rented from Kenny at T-Time and loved the freedom of the golf cart- it was really affordable considering and we only wish we had requested another day or to have it longer because on the last day, our plane left late and it would have been great to have it another day.

We have a 10 year old and a 4 year old and ironically adopted unique sleeping arrangements. Although they liked the bunk beds and back room, when push came to shove, they wanted to sleep on the Murphy bed with Mom or even the little couch next to the Murphy bed. Dad preferred the firmer double bed in the back room, as the Murphy bed was too soft for him.

Packing- we brought too much and we flew. We only fished one day in the canal by the dam and brought our poles in a suitcase thinking $6 per person, per 30 min was too much from the Bike Barn on property. Really, if we rented only 1 pole for a few hours, the kids could have taken turns- they played with sand and looking for shells mostly. We caught a few sunfish and sadly, a few hungry turtles.

Trails End Restaurant- never crowded, always delicious! We really liked the food and easy service. they have hula-hoops on the porch and checker boards plus nearby playground.

Smores and Chip and Dale- VERY FUN! We made it to the end of one and it was great! We had a few days with no activities planned but the rain or unexpected surprise interrupted our plans to go. We highly recommend.

Bring-
1. BBQ tools if you plan to BBQ
2. We didn't need any additional lighting- except maybe 1 flashlight. The cabins were well lit. I had read in a tripadvisor to bring solar lights or it was difficult to find your way but maybe it was campgrounds or RV sites because the cabins were fine.
3. Rain ponchos- we had 2 nice $11 Coleman ones from Target and a bunch of $1.49 rain ponchos for the kids from Target but really, I don't like to pollute and dispose of all that plastic so next time we will order nicer, reusable ones- 2 kids ponchos for $11 from Amazon. Keep these in your bag all the time if you travel in the rainy season like us.
4. Sunscreen- we had it in the cabin but left it when we went to park- mistake.
5. We like the Frogg Togg towel for $15 for the Park, it really cools people fast, also the fan misters.
6. Hoop- dee-doo musical review was fun and the food was delicious home style fare. The adults ordered vegatarian meals and got huge platters of grilled veggies courtesy of Chef Michael- by the way, he was great about our daughter's Nut Allergy.
7. Bring towels to the pools- we brought our own from home but with airfare checked luggage costing so much, we would next time borrow hotel towels.
8. over the door HOOKS- you know the kind with multiple hooks so you can hang all the towels and wet clothes.
9. 1 warm cozy sweatshirt or jacket - even in the summer. My husband turned the air down so low, I felt chilly in the cabin.
10. a DISPOSABLE tablecloth or 2, maybe some plastic or a garbage bag to cover the picnic table benches if wet or dirty. I brought nice vinyl ones that wanted to bring back home.
11. condiments like salt, ketchup, mustard, garlic powder, etc.
12. Our 4 year old dropped my key card under the deck of the cabin while trying to open the door for us. Careful when you eat outside, it is easy to leave the key card inside. I would get a $1 card holder that goes around your neck from the dollar jewelry store. We kept getting locked out but the concierges at Pioneer Hall were helpful.

Note about the Magic Kingdom- we were able to bring the stroller onto the boat without folding them- very convenient. We took the boat in around 10pm on the late night magic hour night and saw fireworks from the boat- beautiful and not loud! Also, KNOW that the boats run every 30 min and not every 10 min for extra magic hours- check on this. I went to the boat to return at 12am and was first in line and we didn't go back to the resort until 12:30am.

We had a wonderful trip! We loved the peaceful resort. My husband would have preferred to save for the Polynesian just for the proximity to Magic Kingdom and monorail access so tired kids could go home quickly to nap but we all agree that Fort Wilderness was very fun and beautiful.

Room Tip: we liked the middle of 2300- it was private because we had a canal behind us and no neighbors and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    283
    86
    54
    26
See reviews for
822
94
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was our second time in a Wilderness Cabin and the 5th time staying either in the Wilderness Lodge, a cabin or a villa. We enjoyed the privacy and the quiet it provided. We had breakfast in the cabin each morning which made it easier on us and the 4 year old in our group. The buses came quickly and we were able to get around very well. We liked the close proximnty to the Magic Kingdom and the boat ride back and forth. I didn't mind the decor or the rustic setting, but I found that with 5 people a second bathroom would have been appreciated and useful. Also the "murphy" bed was okay but not as comfortable as I would have liked. Though we were so exhausted from our day in the park that we usually did not have any problem falling asleep. Also, the A/C froze out the people in the LR sleeping area while being a bit stuffy for those in the bedroom. We tried to shut off the vents and it helped a tiny bit but it could be improved. While I enjoyed the week stay the next time it is back to the Wilderness Villas and two bedroom/bathroom for our group.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLeansboro, IL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Very impressed, as I knew I would be, with the Fort Wilderness Campground in the Disney Resort area. Very nice concrete, large sites (we rented a premium site) with charcoal grills and picnic table. We had a 30' travel trailer with a Toyota Tundra and had ample space for everything. We were in the 400 loop (404) which was close to the boat launch to Magic Kingdom and we were also close to a comfort station (which we had requested ahead of time for both). Comfort stations were also nice; sufficient laundry facilities, very nice showers and restrooms, very clean. We did rent a golf cart for part of our stay just to check everything out. They of course are a little pricey but we were glad we had it for part of the time. We did not take advantage of the pool or a lot of the on site activities so I cannot comment on them but they all looked like great fun. Even though the next camp spot may be fairly close to you, the trees and bushes really provide great privacy. Would absolutely return again!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

First, we stay here at least 2 to 4 times a year and have been for the last 20 years. Just got back from a 10 day stay on June 6th. The last couple years we have had the misfortune of booking our stay during a long holiday weekend or Halloween. Never again! It becomes chaos with the campground being full to capacity. This time we noticed several times during Memorial Weekend that cars were cleared through security, parked and then took the bus to the pool where the family, friends, and their million children would get onto the campground bus to the Meadows pool area WITH THEIR COOLERS and park themselves. I asked one if they were a resort guest and they said no. There were no pool chairs the entire weekend. I had to go up to the front several times for various reasons and saw this happen 3 days in a row. Now, if they can check resort ID for Beach Club, Boardwalk, Grand Floridian, etc., they can check for all their resorts and keep non-resort people out of the darn pool! I complained to Disney but have not heard back as of yet. As a season passholder and frequent resort guest, I should never have to compete with "locals" for pool time. I am hopeful I am not the only one complaining and they will put an end to it soon. Also, the Florida people think rules are for other people. Example, only one vehicle and 8 people allowed per camp space . They will have 2-3 cars plus their campers and golf carts and 12 people so you can barely get down the loop to your spot with your RV. Halloween weekend, they were driving around with open containers of Jack in their golf carts while their children trick or treated! I did get a phone call back on that one. I did notice more security present this time in cars and bicycles. Hopefully, they will start enforcing their own rules and keep the "local riff raff" to a minimum. Otherwise, I cannot say enough good about the campground overall. My kids grew up in that campground and we love the convenience of being on Disney property and it being affordable. We are also able to bring the dogs which is nice. Fabulous place, just stay away from holiday weekends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stay at this campground at the open field. No signs for flooding area. We got flooded. The drainage system did not work. I wont camp at this place never. probably with a boat on hand. They should review the flooding areas and put signs or fix the drainage system.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Fort Wilderness is a great place to camp and has lots to do for all ages. Recently stayed here with ages from 3 to 63 and everyone had a great time. Swimming, fishing, campfire, bring your bike and ride (which you can't do if you are in a hotel), horseback riding and tons more. It is great that it is part of the Disney resort and once you are there you never have to leave! Disney bus or boat transportation will take you anywhere on Disney property you need to go and back . Campsites are pretty well shaded most of the day. THE COMFORT STATIONS are AWESOME! So clean and nice and cool. HOT water! Did not try any of the restaurants onsite, so I am not sure of the quality or price. Bring rain ponchos! For Disney trip, I would recommend Fort Wilderness. Really enjoyed our stay here and hope to be able to return one day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

There are significant pluses and minuses when you stay here. Perhaps the biggest plus is that you can park outside your cabin something that's impossible at any of the hotels. To get around the site you can also hire a golf cart. The cabins in FW come fully equipped for a self-catering holiday, so you don't need to pack the bowls or cups. The site also lies on the Southern banks of Bay Lake, so you can hop a ferry to the Magic Kingdom each day if you wish.

The minus side has some things to consider. Firstly, make no mistake: this is a small forest, with all the attendant delights which include Armadillos, peacocks, myriad insects and even bears and alligators, if you're unlucky enough to meet one. That said, we didn't, and we were there for three weeks. However, it's probably wiser not to visit during Hurricane season, as the cabins are not up to withstanding a major storm, and they would evacuate you.

Other than those minor issues, security is very good, the best dinner show in WDW is right on your doorstep, buses and boats operate round the clock and the cabin is very large. Set against that folks should remember that Disney don't do food that well, surprisingly, so it's best to eat out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort

Address: 4510 North Fort Wilderness Trail, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Walt Disney World Resort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp amid the magic of the great outdoors. Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort & Campground evokes the timeless beauty of the American frontier, with deer, rabbits, ducks and armadillos roaming the Resort's 750 acres of pine and cypress forest. Discover charming woodland trails, a pristine beach, spectacular pool areas and rip-roarin' entertainment at this picturesque backcountry retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Camping
Fort Wilderness Disney
Campground Orlando
Fort Wilderness Florida
Disneys Fort Wilderness Resort Campground
Ft Wilderness Disney
Disney Fort Wilderness Resort
Disneys Ft Wilderness Campground

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Campsites at Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.