We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fort Wilderness Campgrounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort and Campground

Save Saved
You added Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort and Campground to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort and Campground
3.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   4510 North Fort Wilderness Trail, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Lake Buena Vista)   |  
Hotel amenities
Port St Lucie
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fort Wilderness Campgrounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

This is a super great place to stay we were here for 11 days to long for me it was a very busy place meant for kids there is no quiet time we were surrounded by familys with lots of kids up till 1am and up at 7am they need to find a better way should have quiet places for the seniors who still like to come to the Wilderness and have motorhomes there to visit places too, but until that is available we won't be goin back and we had a group of 20 motorhomes that arrived at different times and felt the same too noisy need to have a better grip on seperating the guests,, would be nice, Thank you Eva

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    680
    296
    88
    44
    27
See reviews for
790
83
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Fantastic place to take your kids. If you like to go on vacation but also enjoy nature, the cabins are a great way to accomplish this. Just remember though, that you will be spending almost your entire day at the parks, which is truly exhausting. You need to have a couple of days of down time to truly appreciate the resort atmosphere. Other wise, a cheaper alternative might be in order. This vacation had it all. Incredibly efficient transportation systems, unbelievable dinners, and great entertainment.

Room Tip: Try and grab a cabin close to the bus stops. Carrying passed out children to your cabin can be quit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have been spending at least a week to 12 days at Thanksgiving camping at Disney's Fort Wilderness Campground for the last ten years. Fort Wilderness is a terrific campground. Not only are the facilities clean and modern but the campground itself is beautiful. So many trees, canals, and extras. There are many family friendly activities. Our grandchildren have enjoyed all the sporting events - dodge ball, football etc. Year after year the same families are camping at the same time we are. Now that the kids are old enough to drive one of the pleasures is driving around in the golf cart to see who has arrived. Soon they will have a pick-up game of some kind going on. They often go to a park for the early-hours for Disney hotel guests then spend the afternoon with friends and return to the parks for the late-night hours. Camping at Disney has allowed us to have so many wonderful family memories. We already have our reservations for next Thanksgiving. One other neat thing about camping Thanksgiving week is all the campers who decorate their sites for Christmas. It is definitely the beginning of the Christmas holidays for us. There is one problem with camping at Fort Wilderness -- it spoils camping at other locations!!

Room Tip: All the sites are good--each area has its own advantages. We prefer the bigger, canal side lots on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a great place to stay in your RV. we have stayed here 3 times. Once in June 2012, August 2012 and October 2012. We have a 28ft travel trailer and had a premium lot. It was fully paved and large. The table was nice and they have a grill. All of the lots are back in. When we stayed in June and October we had no problem but it took almost 30 minutes in August.The comfort stations found in every loop are huge and very nice and clean. the laundry room is very inexpensive and is quick. This place is HUGE I highly recommend bikes or to bring your own golf cart if you have one. It cost 60 a day to rent one and I would only rent one if we were going to spend the day at the campgrounds or you have alot of people. The buses from campgrounds run frequently and I found that we only needed the bus to go to the main bus terminal to go to the Disney parks or Downtown Disney. If you have a bike it's just a quick ride to most places. There are tons of activities. The pool area is great and holds up to any other Disney Resort. The large pool with slide, a wading pool, hot tub and sprinkler area for the tots. They have a snack bar at the pool area and tons of life guards.There is a smaller pool on site as well. There is canoeing, Kayaking, boat rentals, bike rentals, segway tours, pony rides, horse back riding, and wagon tours. There is only one main restaurant on site which is buffet for lunch and dinner and table service for lunch. This can be a problem when using the dinning plan because your options are limited. Also there are only two places to use your refillable mug. We have eaten there for lunch twice and dinner once. I highly recommend eating there for lunch. We solved the Dining plan problem by careful planning. We cooked breakfast in the RV and ate at the parks or Downtown Disney. There is a boat to take you to the Magic Kingdom and buses to take you every place else. There is show every night with a sing along and Chip and Dale come out and take pictures with the kids. Then you can roast marshmallows and make smores or hotdogs. Bring you own supplies and a really long stick because the fire pits are huge and a "smores kit" is expensive. This is followed by a movie which changes nightly. I can't wait to go back

Tips: Go to the beach area after dinner time and watch the light parade. You can also see and hear the firework show from the beach that launch at the Magic Kingdom. This was much better than being in the crowd and my 4 year old is very sensitive to loud sounds and this was a great bonus.(ask a cast member for times)

If you have the extra dough upgrade to premium lot the 'full hookups' are away from the main areas

Bring beach towels for the pool. They are NOT provided by the resort(like other Disney hotels).Probably because people take them back to their RVs and leave lol.

There are two dinner shows on site. The Hoop Dee Do Revue and Mickey's backyard BBQ. When they let out the buses get very crowded.

If you go at Halloween or Christmas bring lights to decorate your RV you don't want to be left out.

Room Tip: When making a reservation ask for what you want and they try to give it to you. If you want to be cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have camped 2x in Disney Ft Wilderness. Once was with a pop up and once in our hybrid. We stayed both times in Nov. and got a AAA discounted rate of $41/night. This included electric and water, but no sewer.

We camped in the 1500 loop. This loop was great b/c it is across the street from the large pool, arcade, trading post and Chip and Dale nightly campfire. Loops 1600-1900 are also near by but include sewer.

The check in process is horrible, unless you are the only ones checking in (for camping, not the cabins). Expect to wait 20-25 PER CAMPER. Last two times we checked in we waited over 45 min.

There are no campfire rings provided. If you wish to have a fire, it must be on the approved fire pit list. Basically they want a solid, not mesh, top.

To get around Ft Wilderness, bikes or a golf cart is a MUST.

Ft wilderness is very large, so they have their own bus system w/in the campground. We highly recommend utilizing your free parking and drive to the parks as it will definitely be faster. Otherwise you wait for a bus that makes other stops and transports you to the front of the park to wait for another bus to take to the parks. Magic Kingdom is the exception. The quickest way to MK is the boat down near the beach in the campground.

The sites are a decent width apart, except for some of the big rig loops. They are all level.

Ft Wilderness allowed us the ability to enjoy on property perks while saving a ton of $. Last year we stayed 12 days at Disney w/8 day park tickets for our family of 3 for $1200. We ate no meals in Disney. Instead, we ate breakfast at camp. We carried our lunch in (Disney allows this, no sneaking necessary.). Before we left for the parks, I loaded up my crock pot. Dinner was waiting for us when we returned.

You CAN do Disney for cheap! No excuses! Ft Wilderness is pure Disney magic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I write this review with lots of mixed opinion. On the one hand, the cabin itself was darling. Plenty of room for us two adults and four teens. We put the teens in the bedroom which has a door that closes ( super nice ) and we took the murphy bed. For a fold down bed we found it to be super comfy and slept well all four nights. LOVE LOVE LOVE that you can pull right up to your cabin and unload your belongings. Full size kitchen major plus if you want to cook while there but who wants to cook at Disney??? I know some folks like too but when I am on vacation I don't want to cook and clean. That being said, mousekeeping will do your dishes for you at this resort. Each night we would come back and all our glasses were clean in the dishwasher. Lots of fun towel art and they would move the toys around as though they had "come to life" The resort is large and for me very confusing. I still dont feel as though I figured it out:( It also lacks the disney magic feel that the other resorts seems to possess. The grounds are beautiful if you like the woods/camping scene. Lots of fun stuff to do. For us, it seemed to draw a different kind of crowd. Lots of party types and they were loud. Once in our cabin though we didn't seem to hear the chaos outside. Probably won't stay at this resort again unless its a last resort, lol

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Pros: spacious 'room' for the cost, super cozy bedding, privacy, frontier theme-ing, tv channels, convenience to Magic Kingdom/boats, park in front of your cabin, and they do your dishes!!
Cons: If you don't have a golf cart, you must catch the bus to even get around the campground as there is no parking other than a 15 minute parking at the shops. Which makes for a very long travel time! I tried to book special events for my husband and I's first Disney Wedding Anniversary, and nobody helped out....just your standard 'I can book a dining reservation', and when we did we went to our reservation at Artist' Point and the only congrats we got was 'you want a free pie'? .... WOW.... which took away from the 'magic'... I know it's not expected, but it would have been nice if someone would have helped me plan something more extravagant as I asked. I'm not sure if this was because Wilderness Campground doesn't do the services like the Concierge we have had in the past at the Polynesian, but because of the lack of 'magic' at Wilderness Campground we will stay at our home, Poly, in future :) This also comes from someone who grew up at Fort Wilderness! It's great for someone who wants to be left alone, in my opinion. Other con: It appeared there were mold spores on the ceiling in the bathroom -- LOTS. But everything else was spotless.

Room Tip: Get a cabin closer to one of the boat or front of the resort bus depot for quicker transport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort and Campground

Address: 4510 North Fort Wilderness Trail, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Lake Buena Vista
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort and Campground 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort and Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney Camping
Fort Wilderness Disney
Campground Orlando
Fort Wilderness Florida
Disneys Fort Wilderness Resort Campground
Ft Wilderness Disney
Disney Fort Wilderness Resort
Disneys Ft Wilderness Campground

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Disney's Fort Wilderness Resort and Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.