We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid 4 Star Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard

Save Saved
You added Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9501 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Westin Imagine Orlando)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #66 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Miami
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
381 helpful votes 381 helpful votes
“Solid 4 Star Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I spend 100+ nights per year in hotel rooms and travel to Orlando regularly.

Some Highlights:
Room was larger than the norm and quite. Featured a kitchenette and balcony.
Westin Heavenly Bed/Bath.
All employees I encountered were friendly and professional.
Pool area is large, beautiful and well maintained.

Couple areas of concern:
Self parking is nearly
$16.00 per day; expensive for Orlando.
Hotel elevators and especially the parking garage elevator look beat up/worn?
Guest room TV is way too small for such a large room and signal kept going out on multiple channels.
TV On-Demand options are week/limited compared to other branded 4 star properties.
Walls in my rooms entry were scratched up and chipped.
Kitchenette was never stocked with paper towels or dish towels. Kind of a waist and stupid having to use bathroom towels...

Would totally recommend if attending the convention center or looking for a quiet property away from International Drive and the parks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinImagineOrlando, General Manager at Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Whether our guests stay for business or leisure, The Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard is perfectly situated just minutes from so many of the area’s top destinations. After a long day, step inside our renewing hotel and be pampered with the best of comfort and amenities. While we do charge for parking, we hope that it wasn’t too much of an inconvenience for you. We hope to provide a safe and secure environment for our guests with our gated parking garage. We have noted the concerns you have shared regarding your guest room and will be certain to address them with our associates. Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback. It is a pleasure to know you enjoyed your overall stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    390
    265
    81
    20
    17
See reviews for
225
148
53
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We planned a last minute trip to Orlando to take my son and his friend to Disney - we decided to be adventurous and try our luck with Hotwire, which brought us to this hotel. I was pleasantly surprised - friendly and efficient check-in, and we got a 2 room suite with a king bed and sofa bed in the adjoining room. The kitchenette was a nice surprise- perfect for a family stay. The bathroom was very clean and spacious - and housekeeping staff very helpful when I asked for a shower cap. Since we were away for most of the day, we didn't get the chance to try out the restaurants or other facilities- but I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinImagineOrlando, General Manager at Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard. It’s a pleasure to receive such positive feedback, as we are committed to providing attentive service and a nurturing experience for each of our guests. An unexpected, pleasant discovery is the best kind! We will be sure to share your gracious compliments with our associates. Thank you for your review. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This place was okay, after staying at another 4 star hotel, this place didn't even to compare. I would not go out of my way to stay here again. I travel alot and my expectations were let down upon arrival. I was only here for 1 night, location was great, the people at the service desk was okay nothing to write home about. Just an okay staying 3 1/2 Stars at the best, but certainly not 4.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinImagineOrlando, General Manager at Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your honest feedback regarding your experience. Whether it's positive or otherwise, we’re always grateful to learn about our guests’ time with us. We are genuinely disappointed to read that your stay was not all you had hoped it would be. Please know that if there was anything we could have done differently, we would love to know. The next time you are in the Orlando area, we hope you’ll consider visiting with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

It’s been several years since I’ve stayed at a Westin. I swore them off after a couple of negative experiences at the Westin Coral Gables. Recently, I stayed one night at the Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard and was quite impressed by the staff, cleanliness and appearance of the room and the property. They stick you for self-parking but I guess it’s another way for the hotel and airlines to squeeze an extra few bucks out of us. I stayed in a one bedroom suite which had a walk out balcony and sitting area which was a nice addition. The Westin beds have been written about and have a very strong reputation. I had some cocktails at the bar and the bartenders were friendly and helpful with local recommendations. The pool area was nice, rooms were quiet. I would stay here again if I come back for work or to visit. It was a nice and clean property and I had a pleasant stay. Thanks Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard you are commendable, if only your brethren in Coral Gables could get in together …

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinImagineOrlando, General Manager at Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
It is wonderful to hear that your recent stay with us at The Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard was such a positive experience. As you mentioned, our Heavenly Beds are well known for their comfort and we’re so glad you enjoyed them as well as the service of our associates. Our pool area is a refreshing place to relax and seek respite from the warmth of the day. As you mentioned, we do charge to park in our secure garage but we hope that it wasn’t too much of an inconvenience. Thank you for taking the time to share your enjoyment with us. We look forward to greeting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, NJ. USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed on in Orlando for two nights after eight days of theme parks with family. As such, I particularly enjoyed the quiet that this hotel offered! It was clean and comfortable - and it was nice having the kitchenette to store food. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinImagineOrlando, General Manager at Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We realize how busy our guests can be and we’re very pleased that you were able to enjoy a refreshing stay at The Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard after your experiences in the theme parks. Our associates strive to ensure that each guest’s encounter is personal and that you leave more relaxed than when you arrived. Thank you for your gracious review. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

As always the westin worldwide offers the best service and atmosphere.. Westin orlando has the best family place ever. Great location on universal blvd few min away from all main attractions. i stayed the suite on the 9th floor "prefferd starwood member floor" with 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms.. kitchen , dining area and a private balcony that has spectacular view over orlando.. Mine was overlooking convintion center and part of universal blvd. the rooms were clean and also bathrooms.. I love their service of providing u workout clothes from nike "new balance" line for only 5$ a day! The place is a MUST for anyone considiering vaccationing in orlando .. Thank u westin for making my stay memorable!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinImagineOrlando, General Manager at Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We sincerely appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts with us regarding your recent stay at The Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard. The feedback that we receive from our guests gives us the ability to continually improve the experience for future guests and we are sincerely grateful for yours. We’re happy to hear that our associates, convenient location and luxurious accommodations all made for a memorable stay. As you mentioned, our New Balance Lending Gear Program enables our guests to maintain their daily routines while being on the road. Thank you for your review. We look forward to greeting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at your hotel over Labor Weekend and received some of the best service that I have ever received at SPG Properties from the Housing Keeping staff to the front desk staff everyone was great, I had spoken to Brianna before my stay and she made my checkin very easy and she was VERY helpful, I will most def be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinImagineOrlando, General Manager at Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
We are thrilled that your stay at The Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard was so great. Our associates work extremely hard to ensure our guests are cared for from start to finish and it seems that the attentive service you received helped to reinforce that goal. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another exceptional and refreshing stay. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard

Address: 9501 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Westin Imagine Orlando)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#36 Business Hotel in Orlando
#44 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#66 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#82 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard is the area's ideal Orlando Convention Center hotel. Located within the heart of numerous attractions and things to do in Orlando, this Orlando luxury hotel features 315 guest rooms, including one- and two-bedroom suites. Experience personal renewal and luxury at this Orlando hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Imagine Orlando Hotel Orlando
Orlando Westin
Westin Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.