We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Hotel with Heavenly Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard to your Saves list
Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9501 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Westin Imagine Orlando)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #90 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Heavenly Hotel with Heavenly Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Westin advertises its Heavenly comforts, and this is a well deserved self proclaimed prophecy! Very nice 4 star hotel. This hotel is very clean, comfortable, and the one bedroom suites are large and luxurious. The Heavenly beds and showers are just that. I especially love the balcony and separate living room, dining area, and kitchenette in the suites. Suite have microwave and mini fridge. The one bedroom suites are a cut above the standard hotel rooms. They are divine! The hotel has a heated pool and a hot tub. Nice poolside service. I only wished that the hotel was more like a resort with more eating area and activities, but hey, it is the perfect place to stay when you want to be located close to the heart of everything, but with just enough seclusion to enjoy peace and quiet. It is perfectly located right near International Drive and plenty of things to do. You can even order from their home collection to take the comfort of their hotel home with you. I will certainly be back in one of those Heavenly Westin beds soon!

Room Tip: Try a suite. they are very roomy and luxurious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinImagineOrlando, General Manager at Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We couldn’t be more pleased than to learn that your entire experience at The Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard was heavenly! With our location just outside of the hustle and bustle of the area, our guests can enjoy a renewing retreat and quiet oasis while here. Our Heavenly Bed is truly a rejuvenating experience! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back, thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    293
    95
    22
    21
See reviews for
249
163
58
289
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We had good expectations with this hotel as we had great experiences with other Westin hotels, such as the Harbor Front in Toronto and the Grand in Vancouver. But our experience was ruined with this hotel.

First, we booked our stay with Expedia and asked for a 2 bedroom suite as we were a large group. On our third morning of our stay, the Imagine staff told us we had to pack and move to another room. There was a mixup with the reservations between Expedia and their hotel. We told them that Expedia guarenteed us the room for our entire stay. But the staff told us that Expedia does not have final say with the room reservations, they do. The hotel offered us to provide free valet parking for our entire stay and all other current charges (Internet and restaurant). We pleaded with them to let us keep our room as we have 16 month old son with us and we planned an entire day of Disney with an Easter dinner and shows and won't be returning until late evening. But their final answer was NO. Great service...

We emailed Expedia to what has happened. No one has called us back.

We called Expedia and after 20 minutes on the phone, and with an email confirmation, Expedia told us that they we able to convince the Imagine hotel that we can stay in our room. HOWEVER, upon returning, we found our room was not cleaned! The Imagine hotel told us to move to a new room. At 10pm, with a very tired 16 month old, we finally moved.

Room service was poor. For our first room, the cleaning staff did not turn on the dish washer. It was full of dirty dishes and dish washer detergent was not provided. For our second room, detergent was provided, but the counters were not wiped and the bathrooms needed more cleaning.

Our bill: Our bill contained the charges that were promised to be taken back. Also we charged double for Internet access. We called the the hotel to yak about the bill, but they have yet to return our call (24 hours).

Conclusion: First, we will change our awards credit card to one that does not use Expedia. Second, we will not go back to this hotel. To us, they treat Expedia guests lower than their own guests, probably because Expedia bought a block of room at a lower rate. When we go back to Orlando, we will spend the same money at a Disney Resort. We enjoyed our time at the Corinado and will probably go back.

Thanks Westin Imagine for making our Orlando experience a memorable one.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinImagineOrlando, General Manager at Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the less than satisfactory experience at our hotel. We are committed to providing our guests with a stay that is refreshing and relaxing, and from what you have described we have fallen short of our goal. While it is not clear as to what transpired with the third-party booking site, we regret that you and your family were inconvenienced in any way. Your comments will be shared with our management team for a full review as the situation you have described is not one we would hope for any of our guests. Thank you for your review. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Westin Imagine is the first hotel I've ever stayed in which didn't stash a Gideon's Bible in the bedside table which has to be some kind of record.
The decor is Asian-lite stylish with rattan finishes and simple lines to the furniture and there are sofas and chairs and coffee table to relax and watch TV. Thankfully the bed is not an Asian futon or tatami mat but one of the famous Heavenly beds in which you can snore away blissfully for 8 hours or more. The walls are thick so you won't ever hear guests next door and for that matter, you don't really hear them walking past in the corridor either which may explain why I slept until 9.30am.
Surprisingly, there is only one restaurant for the hotel - most have at least a couple or more - which serves all meals. The breakfast buffet is good and they come around constantly with fresh juice.
My room overlooked the lovely-looking pool but I didn't have time to use this nor the gym.
This is not a resort so I don't know I'd stay here if I wanted a lie-by-the-pool type holiday but it is definitely a pleasure to stay in.

Room Tip: Room 722 overlooks the pool and is in a corner position so no passing guest noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinImagineOrlando, General Manager at Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
The Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard strives to ensure each and every one of our valued guests is treated to a heavenly experience. It seems that your recent stay was a reflection of those goals and for that we are truly grateful. We are happy to see that you enjoyed a restful night’s sleep and that our quiet guestrooms provided you with a calming encounter. As you mentioned our on-site restaurant, Fiorella’s Cucina Toscana offers guests incredible dining experiences for breakfast lunch and dinner. It is our hope to welcome you back again, be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed at this place last week, for an entire week. I bought the deal on Priceline for $ 100.00 per night (which is not a bad deal on a 4 Star Hotel). The problem was...that it was no where close to being 4 Star. Their housekeeping service sucked BiG time. Half of the time there was no Shampoo & Conditioner in the room and when you call them, nobody shows up for for at least an hour. On certain days the wait was even longer. The property is not sufficiently staffed. I would not recommend anyone to go there unless their service gets better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Windsor, NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Compared to what I paid. This hotel is good enough. But the room is smelly everytime when I first entered. It smells like mold, and the sheet is also not very dry, is it because in Florida? But I'm not picky person, so after a while, I just got used to this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinImagineOrlando, General Manager at Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel during your recent visit to the area. For any inconveniences that you encountered upon entering your guestroom, we sincerely apologize. We appreciate your addressing this concern with us, as we can assure you that the appropriate departments will be notified. It is our hope you will join us again for the opportunity to have a true Westin experience. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Nice location - away from the crowds, but still close to the action. All in all a great and quiet stay, with three minuses:

1. Was not given any spg paltinum suite upgrade as per the spg rules. Only after asking, it was offered. Do we really need to point out how frustrating this is? Upgrade should be automatically, not only if you are in the mood of asking (or begging).

2. Breakfast was a disaster, as we waited for ever to get served. They were clearly understaffed the morning we were there. Plus, the platinum continental breakfast was very weak. The general menu looked tempting, but we were not offered to subsitute the platinum breakfast for a specific amount on the menu.

3. Housekeeping was knocking on our door at 2pm, even though we had asked for late check out AND the do not disturb sign was on the door.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinImagineOrlando, General Manager at Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We certainly appreciate hearing from all of our guests, both the positive comments to otherwise, as it gives us the ability to reevaluate and improve upon the experience we provide to them. Thank you for reaching out to us and letting us know about your stay. We certainly value the loyalty you have for the Westin brand and would hope to be able to regain your trust in the future. Please, stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband, 3 year old daughter and I stayed here for 5 nights, after finding a fantastic deal through hotwire. The room (king suite) was amazing, complete with a kitchenette and all the amenities to make it a home away from home. Pool was just the right size, lobby and grounds were impeccably maintained, fitness center was always well kept, and you can't beat the location... quiet part of Universal Blvd. But the service itself was spotty at best. Our biggest issue was the TERRIBLE housekeeping staff. We had problems almost every day, from our room not being serviced by the time we returned at 5pm, to not having having toiletries replenished, to the linens not being changed as we requested, to the plates/utensils not replaced, to the room not being vacuumed throughout our stay nor the bathroom floor mopped or sink wiped down. And to think we actually clean up BEFORE housekeeping gets there so as to make their jobs easier? Maybe I missed the memo that a $5 tip everyday is no longer the norm, because even that didn't give these workers any incentive to get the work done right. Or, perhaps it's a scam for non housekeeping staff to get additional tips for bringing your missing items to you. Additionally, the business center's printer was jammed and we had to clear it ourselves. Front desk and valet service were kind and accommodating, but upon check out didn't even ask how our stay was ("You're all set, have a nice day!"). Granted, we got this room at a great price, but does that allow them to discriminate and provide us with less service? I don't mean to sound so high maintenance, but as my husband says, "I've never stayed at a bad Westin." (He stays in hotels 4 days a week) Guess there's a first time for that too!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinImagineOrlando, General Manager at Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay at our hotel. It is extremely disappointing to hear about the challenges you encountered and we as that you please accept our most sincere apologies for the housekeeping concerns you raised. Your comments will be shared with everyone here to ensure that all areas are at their best. It would be our hope to be able to welcome you back for the exceptional and refreshing stay that you deserve. Until then, be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard

Address: 9501 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Westin Imagine Orlando)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#37 Business Hotel in Orlando
#63 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#90 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard is the area's ideal Orlando Convention Center hotel. Located within the heart of numerous attractions and things to do in Orlando, this Orlando luxury hotel features 315 guest rooms, including one- and two-bedroom suites. Experience personal renewal and luxury at this Orlando hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Imagine Orlando Hotel Orlando
Orlando Westin
Westin Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.