We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard to your Saves list
Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9501 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Westin Imagine Orlando)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #90 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Orlando, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for my birthday weekend last April and it was a great experience. The lobby is large and elegant, at the time I checked in there was free food set up just outside of the bar in the lobby. The check-in service was excellent, especially since they have a reserved check in station for starwood preferred guests. The room was large and immaculate with an extremely comfortable bed, a mini kitchen, large bathroom, separate bedroom and a balcony. There really isn't much of a view besides the convention center and some woods but the balcony was still pleasant. The location is just off of international drive, far enough away that it doesn't have traffic or noise issues, but close enough to have easy access to all of the attractions and important locations in orlando. The pool wasn't very large, but it was nice as was the pool bar. Overall I would definitely suggest this hotel for young adults looking for a nice weekend getaway and it also seemed that this would be an absolutely perfect place to stay on a business trip or for a convention. For the price I paid I definitely felt like I received great value.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinImagineOrlando, General Manager at Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing the gift of your review with us, a getaway trip is such a lovely way to celebrate your special occasion! From check in to check out, it is our desire for all of our guests to experience a rejuvenating and relaxing time here at The Westin Imagine Orlando and we couldn’t be happier to know you enjoyed your stay. Our location, as you mentioned, is just off International Drive and provides the perfect combination of quiet and convenience. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another exceptional stay in the very near future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    313
    110
    27
    22
See reviews for
273
182
61
311
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We went there during christmas till New Years and I really liked it. The staff were exceptional and accommodating when we had problems with our rooms. Whenever we left the room dirty it was all cleaned up whenever we got back. The doormen were really nice helping us with our groceries and letting us take their luggage cart when we needed it. The beds were very comfortable, the washrooms were clean and I really liked the kitchenette they provided us. The only issue I had was the water pressure in the shower, toilet and the scalding hot water that would sometimes come and go. We were on the 11th floor so I guess it happens during high seasons. But nonetheless a very comfortable experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinImagineOrlando, General Manager at Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
It is our greatest pleasure in being able to contribute to our guest’s travel experiences from start to finish and we will be sure to acknowledge our Associates for a job well done! We must apologize, however, for any issues you experienced regarding water pressure during your stay. The holiday season, particularly the end of December, was a very busy time, which caused some issues. While this is not a typical experience in any way, we appreciate your patience in dealing with this matter as our maintenance associates were diligently seeking a resolve. Thank you for sharing how much you enjoyed your stay at The Westin Imagine Orlando, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back very soon. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I shared a twin room which is unusual for me, but seemed to be unusual for the hotel as only one of everything was provided. Room smelt stale but was otherwise fine with a great bed and nice shower. Lots of room service trays were left in the hall and made the place look untidy but not a huge hassle.

We loved the pool, its well looked after with plenty of loungers and a great hot spa pool. Gym looked decent, and there is a poolside bar which was nice.

Only complaint was being charged for WiFi because we didn't choose it as part of the spg loyalty programme. When we queried this the 60 dollar charge was removed, but it would have been nice for them to proactively offer this not lecture us on not having specifically asked for it. Small downside however, and the bar staff were so lovely and friendly it made up for it.

Breakfast was great-lots of fresh fruit as well.as the usual hot choices and good coffee. 10 minutes to universal was convenient and great value and service would see me recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinImagineOrlando, General Manager at Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We sincerely appreciate your sharing the gift of your review with us and all that you enjoyed while staying at The Westin Imagine Orlando. From a fulfilling breakfast dining experience to our central location and more, it seems as though you enjoyed much of what we have to offer and for that we are truly grateful. We must also extend our gratitude for reaching out to us and informing us of the aspects of your stay that were not as you hoped they would be. It is always our desire to provide our guests with the most positive stay possible and rest assured, we will re-emphasize with our associates the importance of delivering a consistent and true Westin experience, as well as clean, hospitable accommodations. Thank you for your review and we hope to be able to welcome you back for the exceptional stay that you deserve. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I love staying at the Westin in Orlando. The pool is so nice it almost makes up for the lack of a beach. Seriously. The pool bar is great, and the waiter out there is awesome and very friendly.

The poolside hot tub is nice, even in November you can have a good sit out there and just relax after work or golf.

All rooms have a balcony and a mini kitchen area so eating healthy is easy. They also can loan you workout clothes (very clean) if you like.

All in all a great place to stay. (Hey, it was good enough for Obama a while ago).

Just too bad the bar doesn't stay open later at night.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinImagineOrlando, General Manager at Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
At The Westin Imagine Orlando, we constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and take pride in delivering an exceptional experience. We greatly appreciate your review and are truly delighted by your kind words for our associates and accommodations. From our New Balance Lending Gear program designed to help our guests’ maintain their daily routines to a relaxing soak in our outdoor hot tub, or making good use of your in-room kitchenette for stashing healthful snacks and meals, we strive to provide the very best in service and amenities and we as so glad you enjoyed it. It would certainly be our pleasure to welcome you back for another wonderful stay in the future. Until then, be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Olive, New Jersey
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

The Imagine hotel is located across the street from the the north hall of the convention center is an area that has yet to be fully developed so its an easy walk to the halls but a short drive to most restaurants. The staff was amongst the most friendly I've encountered in the past year they were always pleasant and helpful. The maid thanked me in the hall for the tip saying than you very much. The feature t team was equally hospitable and attentive. Ill stay again on my next trip to the convention center in Orlando.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinImagineOrlando, General Manager at Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Located directly across from the Orange County Convention Center, The Westin Imagine Orlando provides the perfect accommodations for any events or conferences in the area. We sincerely appreciate your gracious feedback and will acknowledge our associates for providing you with an amazing experience. Thank you for your review and upon your return, we look forward to exceeding your expectations. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here last week for 4 nights in a 1 bedroom suite and enjoyed every minute. It is a hotel away from the maddening crowd without all the theme park buzz, but close enough to visit. How comforting to leave the big parks with our 8 year old and retreat to the quiet yet elegant space of our hotel and regather ourselves. The restaurant is surprisingly good as exemplified by the herb garden the chef grows outside for use in the kitchen. Highly recommend it for those who want to visit the paks, but have some solitude away from the crowds.

Room Tip: get a room with a balcony overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinImagineOrlando, General Manager at Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
What a wonderful compliment to hear that you enjoyed a calm and rejuvenating experience at The Westin Imagine Orlando! It certainly seems that you and your family had the opportunity to discover the feeling of well-being that is the Westin Difference. From freshly grown herbs to the finest of ingredients, our chef at Fiorella’s Cucina Toscana takes special care to ensure that each dish created is delicious and authentically Italian. Thank you for your review and come back soon. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I actually really liked the location of this Westin being off the beaten path but still right around the corner from the thick of things (International Drive, etc.).

Staff was really professional, friendly and helpful.

I had a Junior Suite and it was really nice.

I wasn't thrilled about the parking prices for Valet ($20) or self ($13). But apparently that is standard in the area. Any time a hotel/resort is in a remote location where parking is not a concern by other people, I have no understanding why on earth they would charge for it, other than greed. This hotel is literally in the middle of a field with nothing else around. Yes it's a cross from the Convention complex, but really, if people are going to try to freeload parking for the convention center then they simply need to make it pass-based and give the guests inclusive parking. Especially at $200-400/night rooms.

The pool area is nice. I only went to the bar in the restaurant but it's very nice atmosphere and drinks weren't that high priced for a hotel like this.

I'd stay here again if I am back in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestinImagineOrlando, General Manager at Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
It's wonderful to read how much you enjoyed our amenities and accommodations at The Westin Imagine Orlando and your review truly gives us the chance to get a clear perspective of your time with us. We’re thrilled to learn that our location and luxurious accommodations added value to your stay. Ensuring our guests have a completely refreshing experience is an essential part of our high standards. Your comments regarding our parking charges certainly concern us and the recommendations you have made will be shared with our Management team. We would be pleased to welcome you back in the very near future, thank you for your review. Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard

Address: 9501 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819 (Formerly Westin Imagine Orlando)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#41 Business Hotel in Orlando
#68 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#92 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard 4*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard is the area's ideal Orlando Convention Center hotel. Located within the heart of numerous attractions and things to do in Orlando, this Orlando luxury hotel features 315 guest rooms, including one- and two-bedroom suites. Experience personal renewal and luxury at this Orlando hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Imagine Orlando Hotel Orlando
Orlando Westin
Westin Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westin Orlando Universal Boulevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.