We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Avanti International Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Avanti International Resort to your Saves list
Avanti International Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8738 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct
Ranked #86 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

On the surface rooms look decent but they aren't.

-The rooms are sticky and filthy, good luck to your feet or white socks.
-tv remote, lamps, door handles, dresser handles etc are also filthy, probably have never been wiped down. Hand sanitizer is a must.
-The sheets and towels are stiff and crunchy. Plus they left a dirty recently used wash cloth on the towel bar in the shower/tub when I checked in. Who knows what else wasn't clean?!
-Our AC unit is so loud it literally sounds like a jet starting up to take off. I can't hear the tv over it, how am I supposed to sleep?!
-Internet is absolutely horrible.
-I am 100% disappointed in this place and can't believe I even paid $80 a night to stay in this nightmare.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at Avanti International Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We are sincerely sorry to learn that your stay was not up to our usual standards. We hope that you will accept our deepest apologies regarding the items that you mention. Please know that this is highly out of the ordinary and we are surprised to hear about this. We have sent you a private message to learn more information about your stay. We look forward to hearing back from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    688
    490
    196
    43
    41
See reviews for
525
366
29
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Loved the hotel. Great guest, workers, employees, pool, fitness center, hot tub, room, everything is pretty much on POINT! I would most definitely stay at this Resort again, 5-Stars for me...

What I loved most about the Hotel is how close it is to everything. My girl and I rented a car, we didn't need it, lol. We just walked on the international drive strip to certain locations. The frogger club was poppin at night, very hyped, so was the Bob marley club nearby. We are planning to revisit in Feb, 2014, hopefully we will have the same or better experience as before. Great stay, loved it, I would tell everyone.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at Avanti International Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thanks for such an amazing review! We are thrilled to know how much you enjoyed your time with us. It sounds like you had a great time walking to nearby restaurants and nightlife. Thank you for staying with us. We are looking forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We have booked a room at this hotel for oct 2014. But I am very worried about the noise from the highway. The hotel looks lovely from the pictures and I do not really want to cancel. I have two children and they need there sleep. Is there anyway I could reserve a room away from the highway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at Avanti International Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Lyn, thank you for choosing Avanti. We are looking forward to having you as our guest. In order to make room requests, you need to provide us the full name on your reservation. We will privately message you to get this information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

My first rule for booking a hotel is never outside rooms. But Avanti has made me throw that rule out the window. This is the white tablecloth location you will never believe you can afford. The staff treats you like high society and the place is spotless. I mean spotless (all of it). Don't have to leave the hotel for anything. Heated Pool with kids area and hot tub, full bar, game room, workout room. The cafe has breakfast made with real eggs and fresh baked breads, lunch and dinner, and a bistro in the lobby. There's a store that has everything you need. If we asked for anything it was taken care of immediately and was followed up by a phone call to make sure we were happy. There is an actual security guard that walks the property so I never worried about anything. If your trip is all about making you feel at home and not breaking your bank, this is the place. If you need to get away, this
is the place. The staff is nice, kind, and professional. Every one of them made our stay so special. My only regret is having ever stayed any place else.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at Avanti International Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thanks so much for the great review! We sincerely appreciate all of your feedback. Thank you for mentioning the wonderful interactions you had with our staff as well as the high level of cleanliness that you observed at our property. It is also wonderful to know how much you enjoyed the food served at our poolside Cafe throughout your stay. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again when you return to the Orlando area. We are looking forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Great location on international drive. Excellent facilities including huge pool, cafe, pool bar and games room. Transport to Disney. Gave us a foldaway bed and lots of parking. Has a fridge. Can't complain about anything for this price. In fact I rarely see hotels anywhere at this price range.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at Avanti International Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thanks for the great comments! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. It is wonderful to know that you enjoyed the pool area so much, including our poolside bar & grille. We hope that you will stay with us again when you return to the Orlando area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed here during our winter vacation December 2013.
The location was the most important reason to choose Avanti. You have everything that you need and a lot more on I-drive.
I learned from the staff at the reception that the hotel was acquired and totally renovated. After that they re-opened in summer 2013

The room appeared fresh and the size was okay, even for staying with 2 adults and 2 kids.
The beds were comfortable. In my opinion the rebuilding was really thought through:
Instead of using carpet they have used laminate floor. An extra dehumidifier is located in each bathroom. They are trying to avoid the mildew and smell that you might know from other hotels. I like the idea.
The TV is a flat screen with a lot of channels, only the brightness in our room was to dark and couldn't be adjusted.
We had a small fridge in our room which did a great job with cooling our beverages while staying in the Florida weather zone.

My tip: If you are noise sensible, try to avoid staying in building 3 (room number 3XXX) facing the highway. It can be really loud and bothersome.

The pool is great and the kids will love it, it is heated and you can expect lots of kids swimming and playing until late evening.
There is a pool bar and restaurant where you can get lots of foods and beverages. At the pool bar of course cocktails, beer and liquor.

The fitness room is nice, they have a couple of new machines.

We did like the guest laundry. It is located on the ground floor of each building.
Tip: You don't need to bring quarters, there is a money change machine and you will have to use the tokens. No quarters accepted. A wash and a dry cycle will cost you 2 USD each.

A big minus goes to the cleanliness and I hope that Haley the manager reads this and takes action for the future:
Already when we arrived we had the feeling that the room was not properly cleaned. There were lots of black hairs in the bathroom and in the tub.
We did ask for a follow up, but the lady that showed up didn't really take this case serious enough. I am not asking for much, but a spotless clean room is what I do expect in every hotel where I stay.
During our stay we got dirty towels (see picture) a couple of times from the cleaning lady.
When you look at the cart that the cleaning personnel uses, you will see that there is no separate compartment for dirty (collected) and clean (to be replaced) towels. I assume that this causes that guests might get dirty towels. This is in my opinion effeminately something to improve. Dirty and used towels from your neighbors is just disgusting.
What I also dont understand is the fact that the room floor never gets cleaned. You read right.
The hotel does not clean the laminate floor, even though you stay for a week with 4 people.
A pitty, because as you might have seen there is a sand / pool area and you can imagine that you have lots of sand in your room even after a day. You will find a sign in your bathroom that tells you that you will get additionally charged if you request a room cleaning.
I really don't understand that management decision, especially since they charge you already 9 USD ("Housekeeping/cleaning fees/gratuities") per night per accommodation additionally to the fee you might have already paid for your room.

Another thing that bothered us was the terrible WIFI service. It might have been because the hotel was fully booked and lots of people used the WIFI. But again: If you charge 9 USD per day for housekeeping and WIFI, there has to be housekeeping and WIFI. Otherwise the fee is pointless.
My tip:
If you hang out by the reception, there is a pretty stable and fast internet connection through their WIFI.
By the pool is a WIFI that is called "Avanti Poolside" That usually was much faster and more stable than the WIFI in the room.

Summary:
A nice and fresh hotel, conveniently located. It has a lot of potential in my opinion.
The cleaning concept really needs to improved. To be honest, it feels a bit as rip-off at this moment.

Room Tip: If you are noise sensible, try to avoid staying in building 3 (room number 3XXX) facing the highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at Avanti International Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. It is excellent to hear how much you enjoyed the resort itself. We appreciate your comments regarding the bed, floors, and other room features. Thank you for also mentioning how much you and your family liked the pool area.

Please know that each and every one of our managers read all of our reviews in order to continually improve the guest experience here at Avanti. Your comments are being addressed internally with our staff. We'd like to communicate that clean and used towels are absolutely kept separate on the housekeeping carts. Used towels are placed in a bag and clean towels are kept in a separate compartment on the cart. We sincerely apologize that the cleanliness of your room was not up to our usual standards. Our policy is that floors are to be swept every day during a guests stay. We will use your comments to ensure that this is occurring.

We appreciate all of your feedback. Your comments are valuable to us. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future should you return to the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We arrived on January 8th Jimmy at the front desk when we got there was great. We did not have a car on our trip and told him he gave us an upgrade to a premium king suite it was really nice I am glad I said something so for the reviews at booking third party and no upgrade is false. The rooms were well kept. My feet were not dirty the tubs were not gross. Rhandi at the bar was great :) super friendly and great drinks! The bathroom door came off its hinges but was fixed in minutes I don't know how that happened. The pool was kept clean. The hot tub was down on my last night but I am not that upset I got my use. The quesadillas were great from the café. I did ask for a wake up call at three fourty five am because of my flight but no one called I did have an alarm set but sometimes I sleep though it they had a cab ready for us in the morning it was a great couple getaway it was lively at times and fun such nice people the price was great thank you AVANTI!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at Avanti International Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, Danielle. It was our pleasure to provide you with excellent service throughout your stay. Thank you for mentioning several of the staff members who helped made your stay so great. We also are pleased to know how clean you found your room to be. We sincerely apologize that your wake-up call was not completed as it should have been. It seems that we had a glitch in our normal system. This is not typical, and we are very sorry for the inconvenience. We are so glad that you had a great getaway at Avanti Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avanti International Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avanti International Resort

Address: 8738 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#70 Business Hotel in Orlando
#75 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#89 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avanti International Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 652
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a total renovation, the Avanti Resort is a shining beacon in the heart of activity and dining options on International Drive. This new resort features 652 renovated, comfortable, and contemporary-style guest rooms and suites. All guest rooms are equipped with an in-room coffee maker, mini refrigerator, hair dryer, iron & ironing board, as well as a safe. The oversized pool complex features a kids water play area, beach volleyball, and shuffleboard court. Enjoy casual dining and beverage options without leaving the resort at the Avanti Pool Bar & Grille, along with property-wide WiFi. Avanti is located within walking distance of a variety of dining and shopping, and only a short ride on our shuttle away from major theme park attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Avanti International Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites International Drive
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites International Drive Hotel Orlando
Econolodge Hotel Orlando
Best Western International Drive
Best Western Plaza International Drive
Econo Lodge Orlando
Best Western Plaza Orlando
Orlando Econo Lodge
Best Western Plaza International Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avanti International Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.