We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nile Ethiopian Restaurant

Nile Ethiopian Restaurant
7048 International Dr, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)
407 354-0026
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 3,263 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Florida Center
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We eat Ethiopian food all the time so decided to try this place out while in Orlando.
The food was good but could have been better. The tibs were a bit dry and the dorowat was good. The njera was old though.
We also found out that if you don't order a meal per person you are charged a "sharing" fee. We didn't read the menu since we knew what we wanted.
We will go back when in Orlando!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    50
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Unexpected fare for the tourist center of Orlando”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was the fourth or fifth time my family has had Ethiopian. All other times were in major cosmopolitan cities such as Chicago or Washington DC. When we saw that Orlando had an Ethiopian restaurant we were intrigued. I have to say that I was impressed. Between the four of us - we tried enough variety so that we could capitalize on the huge circular platter of various types of food put in front of us. Ideally, I'd recommend that everyone get something different. Then when you get served on the platter - you can taste a number of different taste sensations.

The earlier reviews give a sense for the eating style.

The atmosphere looks authentic. One gets a true Ethiopian feel, I believe. I wouldn't have guessed I was in a strip mall on a major street in Orlando.

The spices are unusual by American standards - so if you're concerned, ask. The servers were friendly and happy to help.

I'd certainly recommend for the adventurous who want something different than the standard fare in Orlando. It is not gourmet, it is simple fare, yet very good and more than enough.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Whilst I enjoy a good chain restaurant it was nice to try something different. Nile is good. We ordered 2 of the selection dishes to share between 4 of us. You get portions of curry style chicken and beef, some corn dish and some veggies.

All were tasty, the pancake bread that you eat with instead of a fork is a nice touch. The food was very filling and enjoyable. Would go again

Server was a tad slow but she was very nice and that is important. The st George lager was nice

Give it a go

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
359 reviews 359 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
“Very good and very authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We ate Nile this evening with friends. It was our second time ever having Ethiopian and our friends first time. So glad we all decided to give this restaurant a try. Nile is located on the west side of International Drive, across from the Magical Midway, in a recessed shopping center.

When we went in, about 40% of the restaurant was full. As the evening went on, the place filled up nicely, including a number of Ethiopian and African tourists, which I took as a good sign. They also have a few cozy small rooms just off of the main dining room, for a more authentic dining experience.

The server was very helpful by providing assistance in figuring out what we should order. We told her what we liked, she made suggestions, and then made sure the kitchen prepared the food to our specifications. This is not like ordering a steak, because Ethiopian food can get really hot, which would not be okay with my kids.

The appetizers were delicious, a spicy (but not too hot) lentil meat pie. Absolutely wonderful in all aspects. Next came our entrees, all on 1 large tray for us to share. We easily had a dozen different small mounds of food ranging from spicy steak, to curried cabbage, mashed up peas, and seasoned chicken. These small mounds are deceptively dense and filling, but simply delicious. The fried tilapia was light and moist too. Every bite was a new experience and perfectly seasoned for even the gentlest of palates at our table. 6 of us, 18 small mounds of food, and still had left overs. They bring out a lot!

We did order a few bottles of their homemade honey wine. It's really very good and quite interesting, almost like a flat mimosa with honey added to it. Hard to describe, but worth the extra few bucks. After dinner, out server came out with raw coffee beans for us to view and then offered to fresh roast them for us, so we could enjoy Ethiopian coffee after our meal. We thought we should try it, because if you're going to try a new cuisine, you may as well go all the way. A few minutes later, our server came over with a large wooden try with a pot, burning incense, and what appeared to be some small espresso cups. When she poured the coffee, it had a very rich aroma. It's got a good, clean coffee taste. Not bitter at all, with an almost Guinness aftertaste. As a non-coffee drinker, I actually enjoyed a sip from my wife's cup.

For 6 of us, we ordered 4 of the lentil pies, 6 beverages, 3 honey wines, 2 $30 combination platters (for 2 people each), coffee for 3, and an extra tilapia for my daughter. Dinner was $150. Had we just stayed with food, Dinner would have been about $75 for 6 healthy eaters, including tip. Not a bad deal in the touristy part of Orlando. We're going back and bringing more friends. What stands out to us is the adventure and the quality of the food. Everything was lean, well prepared, clean, and delicious. if you like Ethiopian food or are looking for something different in Orlando, Nile is a must.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a party of eleven, age 10 through 71, a few are picky eaters. I'm happy to report everyone loved the food! We had two of the big sample platters and a few individual entrees, all the plates were empty when we left. It was a great social meal. Of course you eat with your right hand using a "tortilla" called injera. If you need gluten free let them know ahead of time, the will make the injera the true Ethiopian way with a grain called teff. Very tasty. Service was great. Great experience, we will be going back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nile Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Nile Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nile Ethiopian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.