We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing more authentic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nile Ethiopian Restaurant

Nile Ethiopian Restaurant
7048 International Dr, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)
407 354-0026
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 3,086 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Florida Center
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nothing more authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We made a special trip back to Orlando just to eat here and the second time was just as good as the first. That is the mark of consistent good everything. For starters we had their own home made honey wine. I had forgotten how good it was. Our two dinners were served on a shared plate (no knifes or forks) and a basket full of bread (called injrera and thin with lots of air) to gather the lamb and beef along with the veggies. Service is not just with a smile, it is as though you just came to join the family. I like spicy and when I ordered my chicken with turmeric I was asked if I wanted more spice and another was suggested. It was not overwhelming and just right and how did she know? That is the mark of a really customer driven owner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    54
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The food here is delicious! The staff is nice too. I recommend one of the samplers for two, unless you're dining alone, along with an Ethiopian beer. This was my third visit and I'm looking forward to my fourth this fall.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Do it, you'll love it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I dined here last night and had an awesome experience. This was our first time visiting, and like others I decided to give it a go based off of TA reviews. My wife is a Midwest meat and potato type of girl so her branching out to try Ethiopian food was huge. We sat at a traditional table in a quasi private room. Make sure to order the homemade honey wine! I also ordered a Ethiopian beer call Bedele which was unique. I was anxious to sample as much as I could so we ordered the Chefs special combination that included chicken doro wat, doro alicha, beef alicha, beef tibs, cabbage, collard greens, lentils, and split peas. Plenty of food for two. The food had flavors of delightful spices, but was not too spicy/hot. So don't confuse spicy with being super hot. The bread you eat with is a flat spongy texture called injera and is a nice pairing with the food, almost has a sour dough flavor to it. Overall we had a great experience and plan on coming back next time we are in town!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“This restaurant is something special.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I didn't know what to expect the first time we visited this unique restaurant in a rather remote place on the busiest boulevard of theme park heaven! The meal was fabulous. We four had a combination platter with lamb added. Yes, there are no utensils, but the bread worked beautifully to scoop up the tasty meat, vegetables and salad. And then we watched the coffee being roasted. Not only was it fun, but the coffee tasted wonderful.
We went back again, and the food was just as good the second time. The service the first time was impeccable; the second time, not so much.
Eating at "The Nile" is an experience everyone should try!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Want to try something different?
Try some Ethiopian cuisine. I love it. meals is served on a type of pancake which u use to pick up the food with.
Yes you eat with your hands..so if your sharing a meal with non family, then I recommend getting ur own personal dish. But the food is flavorful. There is also lots of veggie items.
The meals are mainly stews of different kind. All with their unique awesome flavor. try it..atleast once!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nile Ethiopian Restaurant also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Nile Ethiopian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nile Ethiopian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.