We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Pompous" and Circumstance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of il mulino

il mulino
Epcot Resorts Boulevard, Lake Beuna Vista, Orlando, FL 32830 (Walt Disney World Resort)
(407) 934-1199
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #673 of 3,263 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Walt Disney World Resort
KY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“"Pompous" and Circumstance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have enjoyed fourteen trips to Disney (Polynesian, Contemporary, Bay Lake Tower Resorts, Grand Floridian...) and we've eaten at many of the "nicer" resort establishments over the years. We arrived for a two night trip after Christmas and after a disappointing dinner show at the Polynesian and an exhausting day 2 at a crowded park, we were looking forward to Il Mulino. A very long bus ride to Hollywood Studios and boat ride to the Swan Hotel delivered us to our destination. Piano lounge near the bar boasting decent talent looked promising. The exposed brick and soft lighting was earthy and soothing... until we were seated. Then the cacophony of conversations and kitchen activity hit you...couple that with our snooty wait staff who seemed to have forgotten that he wasn't exactly working in an actual five-star NYC Italian eatery. I have enjoyed far better Italian meals at less pretentious establishments. Dinner for 6 was $450 with only one bottle of wine. If one had a larger party, I might suggest one of the rooms where a sliding door closes you off the main dining area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    141
    86
    49
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Christmas Eve dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This was our families first time at il Mulino at the Disney Swan Hotel. We chose this restaurant for our Christmas Eve dinner after looking at the menu and reading reviews. We made our reservations 6 months in advance as Christmas time at Disney is very busy. I must say the restaurant did not disappoint and we had a wonderful dinner. All of the staff from Hostess to Busboy were friendly and attentive to all our needs. The restaurant was beautiful, the chairs were very comfortable and the ambiance was great. The only draw back was that it was a bit noisy. We had several courses and each was as good as the other right down to the complimentary Limoncello served at the end of our meal. The food was worth the prices that we paid. I never have a problem paying for a exceptional meal and this definitely qualified as exceptional. For those on a budget, this would not be the place for you. This was our first time at il Mulino but it will not be our last. We look forward to visiting this restaurant on our next trip to Disney. Buon Appetito!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The appetizers were not average, and well worth the cost. A nice family meal with kids and friends. They have a nice wine list and the pasta was so fresh.-- The Gnochi was just right, as well as the rice balls!! WE all enjoyed our meals and the desserts were great! Excellent service too!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
464 reviews 464 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Fine Italian Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

The food at Il Mulino is quite good, and the service was too. My risotto con fungi was terrific, and the calamari was very good. The restaurant is extremely noisy, but otherwise is a fine choice.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food, good wine, a tad pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My family and I ate at Il Mulino over Thanksgiving weekend. The restaurant, located inside the Disney Swan Hotel, is big, beautiful, and has an open kitchen. The food was solid, although only a couple of the pasta choices, to my surprise, are made from scratch. The sauces are wonderful, the bread is delicious, the service impeccable, and the presentation perfect. The wine list is quite extensive, but high priced (I ordered a $65 Amarone, a very good wine, but one of the least expensive choices on the list), and the food is priced on the high side as well. But, it's Disney, you're on vacation, and this is a high end restaurant (despite the lack of a dress code), so all of this was certainly not unexpected. At the end of the day, although I cringed a little at the final bill, the food was terrific, and we left there satisfied.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il mulino also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to il mulino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage il mulino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.