We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5877 American Way, Orlando, FL 32819 (Florida Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn from June 1 - June 3. We paid $38 per night, using Hotwire - they call this a 3 star hotel in the Universal Orlando - I-drive North area. We had a quiet 3rd floor room near the elevator, overlooking the parking lot, which I liked since I could always see my car below. There are no additional charges for parking, WiFi, use of the business center or fitness center. There is no free continental breakfast, but the breakfast buffet was $12.95 and looked extensive. Coffee was free in the morning. I think this rate was incredibly inexpensive due to our stay being Monday - Wednesday, and school still in session. I was very surprised at how close this hotel was to Universal Studios, and yet still close to restaurants & shops. There were no hidden "additional fees" except Orlando's hotel taxes, but many nice amenities.

There were 2 shuttles to Universal at 8:30 and 10:00 and 2 returning at 4:15 and 7:20. Universal opened at 9 and closed at 7, so we thought this was perfect since we planned to stay all day. Shuttles to/from Universal Studios arrived about 10 minutes earlier than the posted 8:30 time, and waited the full time for all to arrive at the pick-up points, but left promptly. So don't be late! It was wonderful not to have to pay for parking at the park, and the hotel does not charge a parking fee either. We brought my daughter's manual wheelchair with us, and the shuttle driver simply put it in the luggage compartment beneath the bus ( a big Greyhound-like bus). We arrived at the Universal entry gates well before the opening at 9 am even though the shuttle did stop at the hotels across from Universal first.

Check in/out was very smooth. Clean and welcoming atmosphere everywhere. Shower/bath was clean, had good water pressure and drained appropriately. Cold A/C. Double beds were comfortable with fluffy comforters. Ask at the desk how to use the sleep number beds. Having the microwave, coffee maker and larger mini-fridge in room were a nice plus. We ate in the room or at nearby restaurants on International Drive because that's what the kids wanted. The hotel restaurant was small, but dishes looked elegant - served inside or by the pool. Walgreens & several restaurants (I-Hop, Denny's, Red Lobster, Sweet Tomatoes, Ponderosa) all within walking distance. The outdoor tiki bar and large hot tub were a welcome sight after a long drive and long days at the park. Pool was heated and towels were free and always available. My children especially enjoyed the "babysit a goldfish" option, available from the front desk. It made missing our pet at home a lot milder. Front desk always took the time to speak with my children and inquired regularly as to whether we were enjoying our stay. They also offered a free cookie.

Didn't use the fitness center, but noticed that several guests did. It, too, looked clean and fully operational with newer equipment. WiFi worked great in room and lobby. This hotel met and exceeded our expectations because of the kind, helpful staff and overall cleanliness. On the first day, I went out the back door to the car, after giving my room card key to my daughter at the elevator. A maintenance worker saw me do this, and gently asked, "Did you know that you need your key to re-open this outside door again?" Then, he offered to wait at the exterior door until I retrieved the items from my car so that I would not be locked out.

I could not find a single negative comment about this hotel and have none to offer myself. Fabulous!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    196
    49
    17
    8
See reviews for
224
164
22
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

We stayed there for 4 nights over the Memorial Day weekend. We have no complaints. The staff was friendly and courteous and the room was clean and comfortable - a BIG plus in my book. They had a breakfast buffet every morning, which was a little expensive at $12.95 per person, but it was fresh and very tasty and convenient. Overall, we are very happy with our experience at this hotel.
Two small things tho - it says its adjacent to Universal so we figured we could walk to Universal rather than spend $$ on a cab. Not so. They say you can walk to it, but they don't recommend it as it is a fair bit away, even though we could see the Hulk and Dr. Doom's fearfall from our window.
The other thing, and this is absolutely no fault of the hotel, is DO NOT order from any menu slipped under your door. ESPECIALLY Pastino's Express. We got back too late to eat at the hotel rest. and ordered a simple sandwich and fries. TWO HOURS later, it showed up, cold and wrong. Called 3x and was told "on its way" and other excuses. AVOID THEM! Told hotel staff, who was extremely apologetic, but says they have tried to stop this menu leaving, and even called police, but unfortunately cannot do anything bc they show up looking like hotel guests and then leave the menus. Just a word of warning for any travelers thinking of this. Otherwise, had a GREAT time and very happy with stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

We just finished a 9 night stay at the Hilton Garden Inn, had a great experience. The hotel is in a great location, upper end of International Drive, far enough away from the discount store strip malls, just off of International Drive on American Way, so you don't have the noise and lights of I Drive. It is less than 5 minutes from Universal Studios, and you can actually see the Royal Pacific Hotel from here. The pool and hot tub were very nice, there are little cabanas available to shield from the sun. Pool area and Tiki Bar were open til 11 pm. The room was spacious, refrigerator and microwave in the room. Bathroom was a good size and had Nutregena products. Beds could be a little more comfortable, I would love to see them upgrade to the comfy beds most chains have gone to. But, they were not too hard or too soft. Front desk was very helpful when needed, you can purchase tickets to all the attractions right at the hotel. There is an IHOP and a Walgreens right around the corner as well. We did not try the breakfast buffet at the hotel, it did look a little sparse compared to some of the buffets offered at other restaurants. The one thing that really impressed me was that they were in the process of repaving the parking lot and took measures to make sure that guests were not affected. They waited until mid week when the hotel was quieter, they only did one small section at a time so there wasn't any issues with parking availability, and the work started after 9 am and was done by 5 pm, so there was no noise waking people up. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

Stayed for 11 nights at this lovely Hilton Garden Inn for 11 nights and then went to Royal Pacific for 4 nights. This hotel is probably the best ive stayed at on the International drive area. Its clean comfortable in a nice quiet area away from the madness of I drive but close enough to get to everywhere.
The staff were some of the most helpful and friendly i have ever come across. The service was so good it was like staying in a 5 star hotel. Hilton should be very proud.
The rate i got was extremely cheap and every thrid night was free. We simply couldnt fault this hotel and will be staying again and again when we visit Orlando.
Well done Hilton. it also had free parking and WiFi.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

pros
- close to international drive attractions, universal, wet n wild and sea world
- staff very friendly and helpful
-wifi worked 100%
-big rooms, individual air con,
- widescreen tv, no widescreen or digital channels available though.
-rooms serviced daily with nice supplies, nutrogena, plenty of towels
-pool area very nice, tiki bar open till 11pm nightly
-free shuttle to nearby universal attractions

cons
- no shuttle to Disney
- disneyworld is really far away, half hour drive, or over an hour for public transport
- non smoking room was on the same floor as smoking rooms, so the hallway stinks......

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn, American Way from 4/13-4/17/2009. The hotel was spotless, room was very big, we were given a handicapped room, not sure why. Pool area and Tiki Bar were great. Had a great vacation. Didn't take the shuttle, wasn't too clear on the times that it ran, but we took taxis to City Walk everyday.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

If you can find a good deal on this Hilton hotel, DO NOT pass it up! The location is ideal if you are planning your trip around Universal Studios, and there is a complimentary shuttle that takes you back and forth to the park.

The rooms are well-appointed, with flat-screen televisions and an easy-going, Florida-esque decor. The beds are adjustable (like a Sleep Number bed), albiet not that comfortable, but a nice perk if you are picky about the softness/firmness of your mattress.

Nearby restaurants include Denny's, IHOP, Red Lobster, and Sweet Tomatoes. There is also a miniature golf course within walking distance. Also convenient to the Fun Spot and Wet and Wild.

They definitely take the Hilton hospitality thing seriously at his hotel, so you will be treated well. Be sure to visit Katie at the Tiki bar!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North

Address: 5877 American Way, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando > Florida Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#30 Business Hotel in Orlando
#79 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North hotel. Our hotel is five minutes from Universal Orlando Resort®, and twenty minutes from Walt Disney World®. Make the most of your time here thanks to the complimentary scheduled shuttle service to and from Universal Orlando® theme parks, SeaWorld Orlando®, and Wet 'N Wild®. Situated off Interstate 4, this International Drive hotel is within walking distance or a short drive to shops and restaurants. Orlando International Airport (MCO) is just 20 minutes away.Stay in the loop during your visit to Orlando with complimentary high-speed internet access in all guest rooms and public areas. Enjoy a variety of complimentary services at this Orlando hotel including a 24-hour Business Center, fitness center and swimming pool. Relax poolside with your favorite beverage from Tiki bar or indulge in hearty cuisine at the Great American Grill®. For meetings and events, the hotel offers a range of meeting rooms with audio/visual equipment and an excellent catering menu.Unwind after a day of business or fun and adventure in Orlando in one of the hotel’s comfortable guest rooms or suites. All rooms feature a hospitality center with a microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker for your convenience. Relax with a movie on the flat screen television or contact family and friends back home with complimentary high-speed internet access.Rejuvenate at this Orlando hotel by plunging into the outdoor pool or enjoy an invigorating workout at the fitness center. For a delicious meal, the Great American Grill® restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner every day. Meet up with friends for pre-dinner cocktails at Tiki Bar or catch up with work at the 24-hour Business Center. The Pavilion Pantry® is open 24 hours a day, serving a selection of beverages, snacks, and microwave dinners to enjoy in your guest room or suite. Host a business meeting, function or wedding at the hotel and enjoy delicious cuisine in relaxed surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North Hotel Orlando
Hilton Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Orlando International Drive North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.