We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consider the sides” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Capital Grille

The Capital Grille
9101 International Dr, Ste 1000, Orlando, FL 32819-8125
407-370-4392
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Capital Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #58 of 3,168 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: Indulge in our famous dry aged steaks, 5,000 or so bottles of wine from our award-winning list, and sublime desserts. All in an atmosphere of the casual ease and elegance born of Floridian leisure. We are located at The Pointe Orlando. Near the Convention Center. The finest hotels. And, naturally, the best golf courses.The Capital Grille Orlando. Paradise, redefined.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Consider the sides”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Resturants in Orlando are funny, you can't walk to them but drive. They are in a box with no history or character but open the door and the stage is set. The ambiance, food and service was good but do take time to consider what side dishes to have with your meal as Lobster Mac N Cheese would not be something I ordered

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    141
    53
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Treat yourself”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We visited as a special night out towards the end of our holidays. The restaurant is quite large and can tend to be a bit noisy, however the service was wonderful. Hamid (apologies if I've spelled it incorrectly) was very friendly and really excellent. The food is just fantastic, the menu offers a varied choice for both the seafood lover or carnivore. Portions are very large so you probably need to choose between starter or something sweet.

It is quit expensive but is a lovely treat. However the one thing which is a bit of a shame is that there doesn't seem to be any sort of a dress code. Some people were dressed smartly with others wearing shorts and flip flops.

I would highly recommend the Capital Grille for that special night out. Go on treat yourself!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York and Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great Ending to our Celebratory Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This was the last stop for the celebration weekend for my husband's birthday. When we arrived we were warmly greeted and seated where a birthday card was at my husband's place.. Our server, Dave Fields, introduced himself and then presented us with champagne to start our evening.
We ordered drinks and their signature calamari to start. The calamari was delicious, tender and way too generous in the portion size. We did not finish, wanted to save room for dinner.
My husband ordered the Kona crusted sirloin and I ordered the filet, both medium rare. We ordered roasted wild mushrooms to share. We ordered a lovely bottle of Zinfandel to accompany our main course.
The service at the Capital Grille is what fine dining is all about. If you have dark clothing you get a black napkin, if your clothing is light, you get a white napkin. Silverware is changed with every course, water glasses are kept filled and the wine is poured as needed. Servers are attentive, but not hovering and always seems to be around if an when you need them.
Following our main course, Dave said that he had taken care of the dessert and delivered a plate with mini portions of cheesecake, flourless chocolate cake and creme brulee. We ended our dinner with decaf espresso and a wonderful feeling about the Capital Grille. People seem to count there. We will be back.
Dinner for two including drinks, tax and tip was $287.00 and worth every cent.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Steak Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013


The Capital Grille, American Restaurant in I-Drive/Universal. See the menu ... Very good service great worth the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious but portions are huge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed this steakhouse , great lively atmosphere , excellent food but for the EU palate the portion sizes were too big. I was persuaded to change my order to a full rack of ribs .... half a rack is plenty... I promise !! Aslo beware of the added salt here ... steaks were fab if a little salty !

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Capital Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Capital Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Capital Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.