We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Unforgettable"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Heron Beach Resort to your Saves list
Blue Heron Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13428 Blue Heron Beach Drive, Orlando, FL 32821   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Click here for 15% off
Ranked #80 of 327 Hotels in Orlando
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“"Unforgettable"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

I always read up reviews extensively before making a decision to stay at a non-branded-large-chain hotel or resort. As we were staying in Orlando for 7 nights and we were travelling with a toddler, we wanted a place which came with a kitchen, washer and dryer for the convenience. Blue Heron seemed to meet our requirements based on the reviews here. Its affordable pricing and location made it a good compromise from the more luxurious accommodation types we are used to staying in .

After an 8-hour drive, we were just glad to finally arrive at the resort. Check-in was quick and efficient and we were up in the unit in no time. We did, however, end up being locked out of the apartment on the first night due to faulty keys. It didn’t happen again for the rest of our stay since we were careful to keep the keys in the paper sleeve provided after that. Being Spring Break week, traffic was horrendous but we were mentally prepared for it.

Our unit was in Tower 2, Room 1405, a one-bedroom unit. Location of the master bedroom was less than ideal as it was right along the corridor and main door of the unit - noisy. This is followed by a long corridor where the 2nd bathroom was and opposite it, the double-decker bunk beds were tucked into a hole in the wall. This was really not a good location, it was dark and felt dirty. The room then opened up into the kitchen and living room, which felt spacious and relatively clean.

As the main purpose of our trip to Orlando was to visit the Disney and Universal theme parks, we were only in the apartment at night to sleep. We didn’t use any of the services..

During the week, I woke up on two different mornings with a couple of bites on my left arm and forehead. I assumed they were mosquito bites and thought nothing of them until the very last night of our stay because the itch wasn’t going away. We suspected that there might have been bugs in the master bedroom, so I decided to sleep in the hallway on the lower bunk bed instead. BIG MISTAKE. By the end of our 9-hour drive home, my entire body was covered in huge red welts and the itch was unbearable. My neck, chest, face, arms, legs and middle torso were covered in over 200 bites. These were confirmed to be bed bug bites by the doctor I saw the next day.

I informed the owner of the apartment, who then informed the resort’s management. They were quick to get in touch with me to follow up. A week later, the resort did confirm that they found ONE bed bug in the apartment, although the number of bites on me couldn't have been the work of just one bug.

Perhaps I am one of the unlucky few that had to battle with the reaction from the extensive bites for such a long time even till today. Multiple visits to the doctor and dermatologist, thousands worth in medication and injections, have still not been able to treat my bites and scars fully.
Needless to say, I do not recommend staying here, unless you are prepared to take the risk of getting bitten by bed bugs, and carrying them home with you (which thankfully did not happen to us).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
We apologize for the delay in response to this issue as we wanted to due our due diligence in light of the fact that it occurred 7 months ago.We have reviewed the emails and correspondence regarding our offers to amend the situation to ensure that our actions were both appropriate and professional. Bed bugs are a very serious issue in our industry today and are not relegated to any one specific building, establishment or region. Because of this epidemic, and more specifically, your actual experience we have contracted a company to perform quarterly inspections using trained canines to locate any potential signs or evidence of the pests. This proactive approach allows us to address and neutralize any potential issues before discovered by a guest.






We understand this response does not change your experience but we hope you feel confident that we heard your concern.



The Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    440
    116
    51
    38
See reviews for
944
168
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

From the moment we arrived the service was very good. Condo was ready right on time. We were on the 12th floor right by the elevators and was concerned about traffic and noise but it was very quiet. We were able to see the Epcot fireworks from our bedroom window. We had a beautiful lake view off the living room. Only complaint would be that the living room floor was sticky but the rest was fine. Also the light switches didn't all work. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back. Great rates, location and very comfortable units.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We are deeply disappointed to hear that your stay was not up to our usually high standards. Please accept our apologies that your housekeeping and maintenance was not consistent. This is highly unusual and we will forward your comments on so that this does not happen again.

Thank you for choosing the Blue Heron Beach Resort . We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Orlando.

The Management and Staff at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

being local, needed room for weekend for my daughter's wedding in Orlando. Had booked at another timeshare ( Grande Villas's) - took time to read guests comment prior to traveling to Orlando....very poor reviews....decided at last minute to lose $150 and book in at Blue Heron -the security was great -couldn't use elevator without room card - what a great decision - beautiful resort with ALL rooms facing the lake -make sure you read comments before booking anywhere!

Room Tip: be sure to read comments from other guests - if not booking at Blue Heron - it cost me an extra $150...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of our property. Also thank you for your trust in booking us!
We do hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Orlando.

The Management and Staff at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Heron Beach Resort 17/10/13-01/11/2013 (we went as a family of 3 ages 8, 32, 35 yrs).

This was our first time to Orlando and our purpose was just to do Disney and have a few days out. We had a hire car so we didn't use the shuttle bus to the parks. It took us approx. 20 mins to get to each park in the morning by car. We turned right out of the hotel and then turned left onto Hotel Boulevard which we found to be the quickest and easiest route. This way takes you past Down Town Disney and Disney Quest but provides access to all parks.

We managed to do all of the parks within 10 days of our stay. We did Magic Kingdom over 3 days and the rest 2 days with the exception of Epcot which we visited 1 day. Our 8 yr old daughter wasn't that excited about Epcot as she was the rest. We could have done Disney over less days but we chose to go to the parks early and come out at approx. 3-4pm daily and use the hotel pool. We took a leisurely pace everywhere we went and didn't pressure ourselves into doing too much in so little time. The longest we waited in line without a Fast Pass was 25mins with the exception of Story time with Belle which was a 40 minute wait in the morning (afternoon queues for this attraction went as long as 90 mins).

The hotel pool was clean and we never had trouble finding 3 sunloungers whenever we went to the pool. It was never overcrowded and closed at 9pm in the evening. In the winter months the outdoor pool is heated however the temp. was never lower than 25c throughout the entire period of our stay. The Tiki Bar was open until approx. 7pm in the evening depending on how busy it was and was fairly reasonably priced. You can take your own drinks down to the pool provided you don't take any glass (we bought our own Budweiser in aluminium bottles from Walmart)

Our room was a 1 bed suite in tower 1 with a sofabed in the living room and bunk beds in the hall. The bunk beds are quite close to the master bedroom in case you're worried about not hearing your little one during the night. There was an iron and ironing board, full washer/dryer, full kitchen appliances incl coffee maker and smoothie maker, microwave, toaster, fridge & freezer, dishwasher, garbage disposal, etc..

The 2 x bathrooms were ideal and very clean. Although there was only 3 of us it meant we could be showered and changed in next to no time.

The hotel staff were all very polite and helpful. The cleaning staff in particular were very nice and said hello whenever we saw them.

The lifts were clean and the rubbish chutes were always clear of rubbish and kept very tidy.

The balcony to the apartment was lovely, the only downside was it only had a small bistro type table and 2 x chairs. I would have been nice to have had more chairs and sit outside to eat (on the few nights we ate in our room).

The master bedroom had a flat screen tv and DVD player (and so did the living room) and we had our own wifi router in the room which could also connect via ethernet cable to a laptop if preferred.

Local calls made from the telephone in the room were free of charge which was handy for telephoning Disney to make reservations.

There is a few shops next door to the hotel: Dollar Tree, Dunkin' Donuts, Starbucks, CICI's Pizza and a gift shop. Over the road is Walgreens which is open 24hrs and has a 24hr pharmacy, Santa Fe Cattle Co restaurant - excellent food and reasonably priced, Wendy's (McDonalds type food), a fuel station, gift shop.

A 5 minute walk takes you to Applebees - we used this for a few nights to eat in the evening and is reasonably priced - which is within the grounds of a hotel.

I have read previous reviews advising it's not safe to cross the road due to there being 3 lanes of traffic on each side of the road however if you walk to the traffic lights (less than 5 mins) there is a proper crossing. Provided you wait to cross we found it safe to use. I'd say best to ensure any children/teenagers are accompanied by an adult. Vehicles are allowed to turn right on red lights - a little common sense is needed that's all.

A little further up the road (approx. 10 min walk) is another cluster of restaurants including Golden Corral, Bahama Breeze etc.. We ate at the Golden Corral on a couple of nights and whilst we didn't have anything to complain about, we preferred to eat at Santa Fe and Applebees.

This hotel was ideal for our holiday needs. We didn't want to be cooking everynight but wanted the space to just relax and sit and watch tv if we chose to (not that we did that very much). We also planned to take a picnic everyday to the parks which we did most days. The fridge and freezer were handy for freezing our water and keeping essentials like sandwich meat etc.. and fruit.

We made use of the washer/dryer (we only took 7 days clothes so we could bring more back with us).

We parked easily and effortlessly and the Hotel Information folder in our room provided us with information on other amentities such as how to use the cable TV etc..

The gym was also well equipped and clean and the gym in tower 1 was open 24hrs.

There's also a vending machine in the Hotel reception for DVD rental and a concierge who can assist with attraction tickets and shows etc..

We had a couple of day trips out (not via the concierge). We drove to Clearwater Beach for the day. The beach was beautiful, white sand and blue/green sea. People were fishing on the beach. I've never seen so many fish! We were paddling in the sea and could see shoals of fish (not harmful and quite small). We watched Pelican birds: in the sea, taking in the view and then taking off and diving into the sea to catch fish. We also visited St Augustine which was a lovely old town with an old fort and a few shops. We visited the beach here too but it wasn't as lovely as Clearwater.

All in all our first stay in Orlando was fantastic and we believe this hotel played a major factor in this.

We will be returning to this hotel and recommending it to anyone who'll listen :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience to other travelers who are wanting to make a reservation at the Blue Heron Beach Resort. Your review is greatly appreciated and well stated. I am certain that after reading your wonderful review of the Blue Heron and the area we will have many interested visitors!! It is always helpful to read someone else's experiences before going somewhere.

I am glad you enjoyed everything that the Blue Heron and the local area had to offer and do hope we will see you back again soon.

The Management and Staff at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We visited in off season (Nov 2013) for three nights before joining the rest of our extended family in a different villa rental. We loved the location, helpful front desk staff and the fact the unit was quiet and fairly large. For the price it was good buy. Do not expect luxury, this is a relatively modest condo. The kitchen unit was handy, the fridge was clean, the stove would have been great but the burners were all crooked and bent out of shape so cooking something on it was a pain. We did not use the pool or any other "resort" facilities, we were there for the parks. Parking is free, access to elevators is with your room card key and we did not feel insecure at all. Small old style TV did not bother us, the internet was free but slow / spotty. The room had obviously been cleaned and the sheets were white and crisp but I am picky about bedding and I thought the shabby / worn pillows and bedspread and blankets need a solid cleaning or replacing. The dining chairs were comfy but again very dirty stained upholstery.
We did not have a view of anything interesting although some units apparently can see the fireworks at MK at night. In the bathrooms the lights were dim and washing kids is tough without a handheld shower, but the bathrooms were nice and clean and they had lots of fresh clean towels.
My biggest surprise was the bedroom window overlooking the common hallway - could never pull aside the heavy duty drapes and the windows were not the kind you could open. Luckily we were in the room only to sleep but I like fresh air at night so that bothered me, it probably would not matter to most guests.
For a short visit and a limited budget this is a great choice, you cannot beat the price and the communication with the condo owner and the staff were very good. We left our food in the fridge on the last day to visit parks and picked it up on our way to the new home rental, that was also appreciated. The only reason I took off a star is that I think some of the bedding can be updated and the unit need s a steam clean for carpets, upholstery and drapes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay with us. Our #1 goal is guest satisfaction and we apologize for not meeting those expectations . At the moment Wi-Fi is available in all of our public areas and a High Speed Internet connection is available in all suites. In the near future we hope Wi-Fi will be corrected. I am sorry your unit did not have the new flat screen TV's. Most units have been completed as well as new bed linens. As the units are individually owned perhaps the owner of this particular unit did not buy into the program for new TV's and bedding. I have addressed the cleanliness of the chairs and carpets with housekeeping and brought forth the issues with my team so we can avoid this happening with another guest in the future. We hope you will stay with us if your travels bring you back into the area in the future.

The Management and Staff at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was our second stay at Blue Heron Beach Resort.The first time was great but this one was amazing .We rented a Two bedroom Deluxe Suite KK with an spectacular lake view, where we enjoyed awesome sunrise every morning.The room was plenty of space for 8 people, very clean , nicely furnished and with everything(feel like home).Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great pool area.Location was perfect, close to parks , Downtown Disney, restaurants and stores. We have stayed in other resorts(like this one) in this area in the past but we agree that this trip was one of the best we have ever had to Disney.Definitely we stay here again.(SOON)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review and most of all thank you for all of the great comments about your stay. We really appreciate your loyalty as a repeat guest and do hope to see you in the near future.

The Management and Staff at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Stayed here with husband, daughter and a friend recently while visiting Disney and Epcot. The location was good, although often extremely heavy traffic at all times of the day. Very close to Downtown Disney and the Premium Outlets (1.5 miles). On a holiday weekend, with a marathon at Epcot it can become a challenge to get around. The unit was plenty large enough for 4 adults, although like others have noted, they are due a face lift. While Festiva has only owned the property for 6 years, clearly these units are either older or have extensive wear. The blankets were old and very coarse (like a worn out mattress cover perhaps) and the mattress on the pull out couch was miserable. On the other hand the king bed in the bedroom was very comfortable. The rooms were very quiet in spite of being close to a major roadway. The view was spectacular and the pool was a nice addition, especially since it was in the high 70's and the pool was heated. There was a Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts, Dollar Tree and Cici's Pizza all in easy walking distance. The front desk staff was extremely helpful as well. I would definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms face the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experiences at The Blue Heron. It is wonderful to hear that our large suites were perfect for your family.
I was happy to read that king bed was comfortable . We are in the process of replacing the bedding in the units. I do hope that when you return your experience will be much better. We have also replaced the TVs in most units with new flat screens to upgrade the units. The carpeting has also been replaced.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. It is always our goal to provide great service for our guest for all the services we provide.

The Management and Staff at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Heron Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Beach Resort

Address: 13428 Blue Heron Beach Drive, Orlando, FL 32821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in Orlando
#74 Family Hotel in Orlando
#88 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Heron Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron Beach Resort, a lakefront resort featuring one- and two-bedroom, condominium-style suites is just one mile from the entrance to the Walt Disney World and located just off Interstate 4 at exit 68. In addition to our immediate proximity to Disney World, we are also just four miles from SeaWorld and their new water park, Aquatica. Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure are eight short miles north on Interstate 4. The Premium Outlet Mall, just one mile from our front door offers discounted merchandise from some of the world’s most recognizable names. We are in the midst of Lake Buena Vista, the primary tourist area where you’ll find hundreds of restaurants, shops and entertainment venues.The Blue Heron Beach Resort offers one- and two-bedroom suites with living room and patio overlooking the resort pools and Lake Bryan. Each suite also has a full kitchen, dining area and two full baths. In-suite amenities include flat screen TVs with DVD players, high speed internet, washer and dryer and Jacuzzi-jetted tub in the master bath. Resort amenities include two heated pools, a kid’s pool, an outdoor hot tub, fitness center, game room, access to the miniature golf course adjacent to the hotel, and water sports available from our own docks on Lake Bryan. Services include a complimentary shuttle to the major theme parks. Parking is free. Our full service concierge can help you with car rental, attraction tickets and/or restaurant reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Heron Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Beach Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heron Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.