We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place for a Reasonable Price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Heron Beach Resort to your Saves list
Blue Heron Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13428 Blue Heron Beach Drive, Orlando, FL 32821   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Click here for 15% off
Ranked #61 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place for a Reasonable Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

It was a large condo, not a hotel room. It would sleep 8 comfortably. It was clean and fresh smelling. You could look out the balcony window and see the big ball at Epcot. It was a 10 minute drive to Epcot. There's a nice pool. The only small problem was that the water pressure was a bit low. For $120/night, this is quite a bargain.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience to other travelers who are wanting to make a reservation at the Blue Heron Beach Resort. Your review is greatly appreciated and well stated I did note the comment with rude shuttle drivers and we are addressing this situation with the company. I do apologize on their behalf. . I am glad you enjoyed everything that we have to offer and do hope we will see you back again soon.

The Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    375
    101
    40
    36
See reviews for
831
149
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Just arrived back from the blue heron & all I can say is wow! From opening the door to my condo I was smiling, 2bed 2 bathroom, washer dryer, with master bed room out to disney, where you could see the fireworks on a nightly basis, to living room views of lake Brian which are simply breathtaking, master bedroom has a jacuzzi bath which was great & the kitchen has a dishwasher& was modern & equipped with all you needed to cook which we did with ease. Overall it was clean bright & spacious.

The lifts only operate with a valid card key so this was good for safety.

The gym room is simple, yet has all you need whilst on vacation & very clean.

This is NOT a hotel so please read up on the blue heron before you book, bad reviews are, in my opinion from guests who were expecting a full hotel service.
First off they will only clean your room once a week, there is everything there to clean it yourself the duration of the time you are there if necessary.

You do not need a car as previous reviews have suggested, we never & got around perfectly fine, there are a number of restaurants within a 3 minute walk of blue heron & a lot more around a10 min walk, 15 dollars max in a cab.

The reception staff are great! Always remembered our names & I found them all to be courteous, professional & knowledgable of the area when questions were asked. A credit to the resort.

The pool area is fantastic & is something i very much enjoyed.

The shuttle service to disney has to be booked before 10pm the night before you wish to go, that service is not the best, drivers can be rude, & over book on return & seem to not want to take you back to where you are staying, when returning tired from the parks its the last thing you need, there is a lot of children sitting on laps without seats & people standing up on coaches, which if not overbooked I feel would not happen. It appears to be very badly managed with drivers going before the allocated time (witnessed a number of times) & generally drivers avoiding certain destinations & only taking you if other drivers said they could not, this is no direct fault of blue heron but it does need to be addressed properly cause it happened too often during my stay.

Overall I would say it was 4* accommodation, & I would 100% return again as well as recommend to family & friends, people giving bad reviews I cannot understand, to stay so near to disney but not on disney property you will not beat this its a home from home & i was sad to leave.


Top tips:
Ask in advance for a double balcony end condo, I did & was very impressed.

If in doubt ask reception they are more then happy to help.

Go to the dollar store next to blue heron all toiletries & basics you cannot go wrong.

Purchase drinks from the dollar stuff for your days out to the parks, a bottle of water at the parks on average costs you 3 dollars! The dollar tree do 6 for a dollar!

Get rain ponchos from the golf store on the property for 99 cents disney charge much more & you will need them as it rains heavy & quite often.

Get your disney/universal tickets before you arrive they are so much more once here & by doing so we managed to bag free legoland tickets.

Don't waste money purchasing disney items at disney the local shops do it all for cheaper.

Final tip? ENJOY IT!!! Its the holiday of a lifetime & something that you will never forget.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience to other travelers who are wanting to make a reservation at the Blue Heron Beach Resort. Your review is greatly appreciated and well stated.
I am sorry to hear that the shuttle drivers were rude. We have addressed this with their management and I assure you that in the future you will not experience this.
I am glad you enjoyed everything that we have to offer and do hope we will see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We lucked out on a price deal. The place is no Taj mahal, but the condos are complete, clean fully stocked, quiet and very conveniently located near everything including walking distance to Walgreens, Starbucks, mini golf, restaurants and I 4 expwy.

As a condo there is no valet or bellma so you must drag your bags.
Front desk is friendly and accommodating
WiFi is VERY spotty and typically overwhelmed with users and therefore not very good
Fully stocked kitchen appliance and washer dyer is very convenient and money saving. Two full baths is a terrific feature.
Huge pool, the only real amenity but no shade at all. Music at pool all day is nice.
Parking lot is a bit tight, but there is always room on either level.

Maid service is available for extra charge

View of lake Bryan from the terrace is pretty.

Room Tip: face the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed here with my family in July/August and we absolutely loved it. The condos are spacious and clean. The views from the balcony are breathtaking.Staff were friendly and helpful, always going that extra mile to exceed your expectations. On the day we were to check in to the hotel,our flight was cancelled, which meant that we could not get there on time. We informed our tour operator who then asked the hotel if we could extend our stay by one day to cover the first night that we did not get there. To our surprise the hotel extended our stay by a day at no EXTRA charge. Some places would have just made you pay for the extended stay since the flight cancellation had nothing to do with them. Welldone Blue Heron, we will be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Blue Heron Beach Resort on your recent visit. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the tripadvisor community. It is always our goal to provide great service for our guest for all the services we provide.We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Orlando.

The Management and Staff at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Well
Very boring
Fitness centre is 18+
Lame and small pool
Slow internet
Its like a prison for teenagers
Sofa bed is beyond horrible its so annoying and old
The tv is 10+ years old and it doesnt exist anymore
They say its 3.5 stars but im very, very disappointed
Being 16 years old there is nothing for me to do here no gym no jet ski
Big mistake and my parents feel super guilty

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
I am sorry to hear you had a bad stay at The Blue Heron. It is unusual for a teen to not enjoy the hotel and the Disney area.
Buena Vista Watersports will deliver jet skis, pontoon boats or ski boats to our dock on Lake Bryan. And resort guests get discounts at Hawaiian Rumble miniature golf located in front of Tower II. Our concierge desk is managed by Expedia Local Experts and they can arrange tickets to the various theme parks and attractions in the Orlando area, tee times at local golf courses, etc. There is a large, heated pool between Tower I and the docks overlooking Lake Bryan. This pool has a two lap lanes. We also have a kiosk that you can rent movies as well as a game room and small fitness center. There is fishing from the dock from 6am-9am..
We are in the process of replacing the TV's to larger flat screens. Sofa beds are generally not the most comfortable beds to sleep on, but had you called us we could have possibly sent up a foam topper to add to the sleep comfort of the sofa bed.
Once again I am sorry you were bored.
The Management and Staff at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipsburg, St Maarten-St Martin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Great location, close to lots of restaurants and shoppings. The rooms are nice and spacious. The master bedroom has an ensuite full bathroom, and there is a second full bathroom, a bunk bed in the passage area, well tucked away and also a sofa bed in the living area.

The full kitchen is great, a stove range, a large frigde and a dishwasher. The washer and dryer was an added bonus, it allowed us to do our laundry to our convienence and we didn't have to travel with dirty clothes.

Internet service was disappointing, but who cares, when you're having tons of fun!!! This resort has all the amenities you need, what more can you ask for....loved it.

Room Tip: If you are thinking of booking Blue Heron Beach Resort, you should. Request corner rooms, they are q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time to complete a tripadvisor review and thank you for sharing your comments. We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was a good one! Yes, the internet can has been an issue especially with a full house and numerous devices in each unit. We are working to correct this and hopefully the next time you stay with us we will have corrected this.

The Management and Staff at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My family enjoyed staying here, everything we needed was within a few minute drive. The condo was clean and spacious. We were able to enjoy cooking and eating at the condo saving money and time for more activities. We were able to do wash in the condo with the washer/dryer combo in each unit saving on clothes being brought down for vacation and getting able to return home with clean clothes. It was just like being home but with fun activities closer by and a nice big pool to cool off in.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience to other travelers who are wanting to make a reservation at the Blue Heron Beach Resort. Your review is greatly appreciated and well stated. I am glad you enjoyed everything that we have to offer and do hope we will see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Heron Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Beach Resort

Address: 13428 Blue Heron Beach Drive, Orlando, FL 32821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#64 Family Hotel in Orlando
#95 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Heron Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron Beach Resort, a lakefront resort featuring one- and two-bedroom, condominium-style suites is just one mile from the entrance to the Walt Disney World and located just off Interstate 4 at exit 68. In addition to our immediate proximity to Disney World, we are also just four miles from SeaWorld and their new water park, Aquatica. Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure are eight short miles north on Interstate 4. The Premium Outlet Mall, just one mile from our front door offers discounted merchandise from some of the world’s most recognizable names. We are in the midst of Lake Buena Vista, the primary tourist area where you’ll find hundreds of restaurants, shops and entertainment venues.The Blue Heron Beach Resort offers one- and two-bedroom suites with living room and patio overlooking the resort pools and Lake Bryan. Each suite also has a full kitchen, dining area and two full baths. In-suite amenities include flat screen TVs with DVD players, high speed internet, washer and dryer and Jacuzzi-jetted tub in the master bath. Resort amenities include two heated pools, a kid’s pool, an outdoor hot tub, fitness center, game room, access to the miniature golf course adjacent to the hotel, and water sports available from our own docks on Lake Bryan. Services include a complimentary shuttle to the major theme parks. Parking is free. Our full service concierge can help you with car rental, attraction tickets and/or restaurant reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Heron Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Beach Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heron Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.