We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic gem of a place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Blue Heron Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Heron Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13428 Blue Heron Beach Drive, Orlando, FL 32821   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off for TripAdvisor
Ranked #44 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Ayr, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“fantastic gem of a place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

stayed for two weeks from 4th July to 18th, 2 bedroom apt on tower 2 on the 20th floor. we as a family cannot recommend the blue heron any higher, first class staff,, lets start with the front desk does not get any better, could not do enough for us. maintenance staff, first class any problems their up in a flash. cleaning staff fantastic. special mention to Linda at the tiki bar first class mate...... Brooke says hi................ on to the hotel the views from our apt where simply stunning one balcony on to lake Bryan and the other to down town Disney, will be back and back again been to orlando a few times nothing touches this great resort from the service to the apt and not to forget the great pool's hot tub and playroom and for the fitness people the gym overall cant find any problems with this resort. PS the rooms are great and on suite in each of the bedrooms and bunk beds in the corridor great kitchen all you need. and nice big lounge TV in all rooms .....

Room Tip: tower two our one try get as high as you can get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay with us. The staff certainly appreciates it ! We hope the next time your travels bring you back to Orlando you will be a second stay guest at The Blue Heron Beach Resort.

Thank You

The Management and Staff at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    574
    306
    91
    33
    29
See reviews for
717
125
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My family (of 7) stayed at the Blue Heron Beach Resort in the 3 bedroom Penthouse Suite for 4 nights and had the time of our lives. The management team was friendly and helpful - the room was beyond our expectations, very spacious and CLEAN!! Very close to the parks (plus terrific restaurants) - beautiful swimming pool... just can't brag enough. The view from the balcony was a million dollar view. We have stayed everywhere from Pop Century to Disney Yacht club - not one of them beats this hotel when it comes to hospitality, efficiency, cleanliness and the location. Having a living room and kitchen saved the day!! I can't wait to plan our next trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I will surely share your notes with my staff this morning .
We are dedicated to ensuring all of our guests have a great experience with us, and hope that we will see you back at The Blue Heron in the near future.

The Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

stayed here for 2 weeks, 2adults and 2 teenagers and we had a 2 bedroomed unit in tower 2 on the 15th floor, views were very good over the lake and beyond (could see SeaWorld and even the coasters at universal in the very distance) the location is very good, less than a 1 minute drive (if not much traffic and traffic lights on your side) to get onto the I4, from there everywhere accessible within 10mins, the room was large, well furnished, clean and very comfortable, no complaints there at all. overall really liked this place and would recommend it to anyone staying in Orlando for the theme parks and shopping, the only gripe I had and for me it was a major issue, although it may not matter to some people, was the lack of sunbeds round the pool, what ever time we seemed to go down on different days we could never get more than 1 or sometimes 2 beds for the four of us, and then that was only by going round asking people if they could spare one, then dragging it round the pool to where there maybe another, this for me was a pain as l love to lay round the pool and read my book, and very often this wasn't possible. I do think for 2 large tower hotels there should be far more sunbeds, and there was plenty of room to put them so I can't see why this hasn't been addressed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience to other travelers who are wanting to make a reservation at the Blue Heron Beach Resort. Your review is greatly appreciated and well stated. .
I have passed along your comments regarding the sunbeds to Provident, who manages The HOA and thus the pool area. They are aware of this problem and we do hope it will be resolved for our guests in the very near future.
I am glad you enjoyed everything that we have to offer and do hope we will see you back again soon.
The Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lordsburg, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights and we loved it. Plenty of room for my family of five. We stayed on the 7th floor and it overlooked Lake Bryan and it was a beautiful view. It has a full kitchen and washer and dryer. I was able to go to Wal-Mart and buy groceries for the week and It helped that I was able to do our laundry throughout the week so when I got home I didn't have to worry about being overwhelmed with laundry. There were plenty of places to eat nearby which made it convenient. The Disney attractions were not far from the resort. The only complaints I have is the internet was very very slow and the king size bed was a little uncomfortable, but after being at the parks all day, that really didn't matter. All in all this was a great place to stay and I would definitely come back to this resort for our next vacation....

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake are awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just returned today after spending two weeks at the Blue Heron and had a brilliant time. When we first arrived I thought the place needed a lick of paint but once inside the rooms were excellent. We were on the 18th floor in tower 2, a fantastic room with a brilliant view of the lake and pools. We had booked the two bedroom suite but also had an alcove with bunk beds so there was loads of room. The quality of the furniture was excellent as I had stayed in condos before in Florida and the furniture was dated. The beds were comfortable especially the master bedroom with a memory foam matress and jacuzzi bath. The pools were lovely howeber not enough sun beds in the afternoon and hotel should invest in more beds and umbrellas. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a few nights of heavy rain and lightening so it was great to be able to rent a dvd from the machine in reception for approximately £1.20 per night. The dollar tree shop and CiCi's pizza next door were very handy. The cleaners on clean once per week but they did a good job. Only small complaint was that the tvs were very small. Great location and fantastic view of the fireworks on the fourth of July. If we return to Florida I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher level floors get great views of the fireworks display and the lfts were never too busy so don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed there from July 1-6, 2013 for our summer vacation to Disney and we absolutely loved it! We had a corner condo on the 20th floor with 2 balconies, one overlooking Lake Bryan and the other one Downtown Disney. The view was awesome, but I do have to say like prior guests, that the balconies are so big and beautiful for the little patio sets out there, but we still enjoyed it very much. My family,( 2 adults 3 children) enjoyed our stay very much that we didn't want to leave. My 11 yr old had the bunk beds pretty much for herself, she had so much fun. My 2 older boys had their own beds, they slept very comfortable. All the attractions are close, getting around wasn't a problem, we had our own vehicle. Walmart no more than 10 minutes away for groceries and walking distance Walgreens, dollar tree and Cici's pizza. Very clean! I do not have any complains what so ever. Pictures are legit, no lies. We would definitely come back to this resort and same condo. Our stay was great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay with us. The staff certainly appreciates it !

The Management and Staff at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family of 4 recently stayed at Blue Heron for 9 days/8 nights over the 4th of July. We stayed in the Family Suite on the 4th floor (Building #1) and were pleasantly surprised how large and clean the suite was. The view overlooking the large pool and Lake Bryan were fantastic and we could even see Downtown Disney and Epcot from the open corridor next to the elevators. We had a rental SUV for our vacation so parking spaces were available at all times and access to the Magic Kingdom/Seaworld/Universal were quick and easy. We didn't utilize the provided shuttles so we can't comment on this. I have read reviews where traffic can be a nightmare on 535, but it wasn't terrible at all (early mornings around 7:00 no traffic at all). Several forums online stressed using backroads to get to/from Walt Disney World but we quickly found out that using I-4 was the fastest way to get to/from each of the four parks. We enjoyed the pool(s) which were very clean and not very busy in the afternoons. We even rented jet skies from Buena Vista Watersports (since they are on Lake Bryan they picked us up at Blue Heron's dock and brought us back afterwards). We knew from making reservations that housekeeping is extra so we were okay with doing laundry and cleaning up after ourselves on a daily basis. Having a washer and dryer available in the suite was one of the big reasons we chose Blue Heron vs staying at a typical hotel. A Walmart SuperCenter is only a few miles down 535 (it was very busy) and a Walgreens is across the street (we stopped by here a few times). My two boys and I did spend a couple of hours playing miniture golf at Hawaiian Rumble adjacent to Blue Heron but would recommend skipping this place as there are better miniture golf courses available in the area for less $$. Check-in/check-out was extremly fast. Overall we thorougly enjoyed staying here and would definitely stay here again when we come back to Orlando!

Room Tip: The Family Suite is perfect for a family of four!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience to other travelers who are wanting to make a reservation at the Blue Heron Beach Resort. Your review is greatly appreciated and well stated. I am glad you enjoyed everything that we have to offer and do hope we will see you back again soon.

The Management and Staff at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Heron Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Beach Resort

Address: 13428 Blue Heron Beach Drive, Orlando, FL 32821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#51 Family Hotel in Orlando
#85 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Heron Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron Beach Resort, a lakefront resort featuring one- and two-bedroom, condominium-style suites is just one mile from the entrance to the Walt Disney World and located just off Interstate 4 at exit 68. In addition to our immediate proximity to Disney World, we are also just four miles from SeaWorld and their new water park, Aquatica. Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure are eight short miles north on Interstate 4. The Premium Outlet Mall, just one mile from our front door offers discounted merchandise from some of the world’s most recognizable names. We are in the midst of Lake Buena Vista, the primary tourist area where you’ll find hundreds of restaurants, shops and entertainment venues.The Blue Heron Beach Resort offers one- and two-bedroom suites with living room and patio overlooking the resort pools and Lake Bryan. Each suite also has a full kitchen, dining area and two full baths. In-suite amenities include flat screen TVs with DVD players, high speed internet, washer and dryer and Jacuzzi-jetted tub in the master bath. Resort amenities include two heated pools, a kid’s pool, an outdoor hot tub, fitness center, game room, access to the miniature golf course adjacent to the hotel, and water sports available from our own docks on Lake Bryan. Services include a complimentary shuttle to the major theme parks. Parking is free. Our full service concierge can help you with car rental, attraction tickets and/or restaurant reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Blue Heron Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Beach Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heron Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.