We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love The Blue Heron” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Blue Heron Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blue Heron Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13428 Blue Heron Beach Drive, Orlando, FL 32821   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off for TripAdvisor
Ranked #42 of 328 hotels in Orlando
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love The Blue Heron”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have stayed many times at the Blue Heron since it opened in 2007 and we just love coming back here year after year, so much so that it's become an essential part of our holiday.Our last trip was April and as ever we were looked after incredibly well by all of the staff here, but a special mention has to go to Darlin who always takes such good care of us, and to be honest we are quite fussy, but nothing is ever too much trouble. Any issues that we have had are always dealt with straight away without fuss. One of the most important things in a hotel/condo for us is to have a balcony where we can relax with a drink after a nice meal out in the evening. This is what makes the Blue Heron unbeatable in Orlando as, like many have said, the view over Lake Bryan is stunning and surprisingly peaceful, something which is hard to find in this area.We prefer the 2 bedroom deluxe suite as this gives you the choice of a peaceful view over the lake, or you can sit on the balcony at the front and watch the Disney fireworks every night. The condos themselves are extremely spacious and for the price of a regular hotel room you have a fabulous 2 bedroom condo with 2 bathrooms, fully equipped kitchen and comfortable lounge. We would never stay anywhere else as we regard this as our home from home. The location is perfect for all of the theme parks and close to I4 to get you further afield if you wish. Several restaurants are within a few minutes walk and Crossroads at LBV is 20 minutes walk if you want a wider selection. Some have mentioned the busy traffic but to be honest we don't find it any worse than anywhere else in Orlando.It's taken a few years to give a review for the Blue Heron as we wanted to keep it a secret, but now I think the secret is out - The Blue Heron is the best!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience to other travelers who are wanting to make a reservation at the Blue Heron Beach Resort. Your review is greatly appreciated and well stated. I am glad you enjoyed everything that we have to offer and do hope we will see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    570
    306
    88
    34
    29
See reviews for
699
125
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was possibly the best resort we have stayed until now!!! The resort was clean,refreshing and ideal for families. The location is fantastic and pretty close to every attraction in the Orlando area.The property grounds are well cared for and looks lovely. The folks at the front desk are friendly and courteous. The resort offers free shuttle to Magic Kingdom, Epcot and Sea world. This in itself saves you a ton of money in parking and gas!
If i could point out one single thing that makes this an awesome resort is the view!!!! We were on the 9th floor and one side it was the beautiful lake Bryan and the other side was Walt Disney resorts. There is a trail through some lush green shrubbery leading into the lake. This as refreshing as the pool. If you have kids you can't ask for anything better. My son was using his binocular to locate the elusive Heron that lives in one of the trees.
Special shout out to all the staff esp. Avery

Room Tip: Few tips: If are playing to travel somewhere please allow 15 extra minutes for the traffic in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Blue Heron Beach Resort on your recent visit. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Orlando . Your feedback is very important to our efforts to continuously improve guest satisfaction. We strive to do the best job we can, and letters like yours make it all worthwhile. I've shared your comments with all of our staff, and I know they take compliments like yours as seriously as I did.
I have passed on your comments regarding lounge chairs by the pool and umbrellas to our HOA who manage that area.
The Management at The Blue Heron Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I decided to stay at blue heron for our honeymoon after some issues last minute with our original plan. We were so happy we decided on this hotel instead! The staff is SUPER friendly It is beautiful outside and inside.it was a great big place. the kitchen had everything we would need to cook, which was great for saving some money. The bathroom was great, with a big bathtub for both (but the jetted bathtub did not work thats why I gave it a 4) the bed was SUPER comfortable, we missed it when we came back home. the pool was big and realxing. we stayed on the 20th floor. facing the lake and had breakfast out there, it was amazing.Very quiet and relaxing. we really enjoyed our stayed. It was perfect for our romantic week,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HUDSON, FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a one bedroom condo with two bunk beds and were quite comfortable. The Blue Heron was super clean and well maintained. The services was very friendly and accommodating. The location was nicely situated, convenient to Epcot and I-4. The pool was fantastic, very clean, nice sound system, nice little Tiki Bar with adult beverages and hamburgers and snacks BUT, there were not enough chairs, loungers and NO UMBRELLAS AT ALL! I was looking forward to relaxing at the pool while everyone else did the Epcot thing. Without an umbrella or shaded area, I could not last more than a hour or two. It sounds picky, but was a major factor to the enjoyment of MY vacation. Husband and kids loved running around the park and doing their thing. I was looking forward to relaxing around the pool. The front desk said more pool furniture had been ordered, but not yet delivered. They did not specify umbrellas. If this is important to you, ask the desk before booking. We will most definitely return, but the next time, I'm bringing my own beach equipment. It's not a big deal for us, we live in Florida, but folks flying into the area should know.

Room Tip: Bring your own beach umbrella if you are going to hang at the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

2nd visit..will do it anytime we are in the area...roomy, clean and close to all attractions...helped make vacation perfect for all of us...have absolutely nothing negative to say...kids and adults loved the pool...staff was outstandingly helpful....

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHBR-Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Heron Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience to other travelers who are wanting to make a reservation at the Blue Heron Beach Resort. Your review is greatly appreciated and well stated. I am glad you enjoyed everything that we have to offer and do hope we will see you back again soon.
Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay with us. The staff certainly appreciates it !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Blue Heron Beach Resort is a fantastic hotel with large rooms and some rooms with lake views. It is in a great location with Starbucks and CiCi's Pizza out the front. It is also a 5 minute drive to Downtown Disney and about 8 minutes to Epcot. Rooms are clean and large and have a TV. This is a great hotel and I would recommend it to anyone going to Disney!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

A great base for our stay in Orlando. We had a one bedroom condo with bunks for the kids in an alcove in the hallway. 2 bathrooms, a nice kitchen, and a living area that overlooks a lake. The other end of the apartment had views of Downtown Disney and the parks beyond. We had a king size bed that we found extremely comfortable. The kids also remarked how comfortable the bunks were. A big bonus was the washing machine and dryer. The condo really was fully self-contained. Friendly staff at the resort, a big pool, and a good location central to all the main Orlando attractions. Walgreens were across the road and plenty of eating options within walking distance. All in all, it was fantastic value. We would recommend getting a rental car to get around. Much more convenient than relying on park shuttles or taxis. Just make sure you get a GPS so you don't get lost!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Heron Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Beach Resort

Address: 13428 Blue Heron Beach Drive, Orlando, FL 32821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#48 Family Hotel in Orlando
#81 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Heron Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron Beach Resort, a lakefront resort featuring one- and two-bedroom, condominium-style suites is just one mile from the entrance to the Walt Disney World and located just off Interstate 4 at exit 68. In addition to our immediate proximity to Disney World, we are also just four miles from SeaWorld and their new water park, Aquatica. Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure are eight short miles north on Interstate 4. The Premium Outlet Mall, just one mile from our front door offers discounted merchandise from some of the world’s most recognizable names. We are in the midst of Lake Buena Vista, the primary tourist area where you’ll find hundreds of restaurants, shops and entertainment venues.The Blue Heron Beach Resort offers one- and two-bedroom suites with living room and patio overlooking the resort pools and Lake Bryan. Each suite also has a full kitchen, dining area and two full baths. In-suite amenities include flat screen TVs with DVD players, high speed internet, washer and dryer and Jacuzzi-jetted tub in the master bath. Resort amenities include two heated pools, a kid’s pool, an outdoor hot tub, fitness center, game room, access to the miniature golf course adjacent to the hotel, and water sports available from our own docks on Lake Bryan. Services include a complimentary shuttle to the major theme parks. Parking is free. Our full service concierge can help you with car rental, attraction tickets and/or restaurant reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Blue Heron Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Beach Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heron Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.