We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation in perfect location for all parks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Heron Beach Resort to your Saves list
Blue Heron Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13428 Blue Heron Beach Drive, Orlando, FL 32821   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Click here for 15% off
Ranked #59 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great accomodation in perfect location for all parks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Just spent 2 weeks at The Blue Heron no complaints. Located near everything but you do need a car and there is covered parking so no issues. The wifi is only available at the pool area which is only downside but very minor.

Rooms are clean and have everything you would need, all the staff are very friendly and always willing to help.

I would have no hesitation in recommending The Blue Heron resort either for couples or families.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    373
    98
    39
    36
See reviews for
825
148
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My grown up kids (21 and 24) and my wife have just spent 3 weeks at the Blue Heron Beach Resort and had a loevely time and would definately use it again. Ok first things first, - the negatives:The matresses on the single beds had seen better days and there was one chair, a small 2 seater sofa and a small 3 seater sofa in the lounge area - so not much space to spread out on after a day at the parks. Also as the main kitchen / lounge area is tiled on the floor, if you have people in the condo above you, there can be quite abit of noise when things are moved about.
That said, the condo was spacious enough for the 4 of us (you could put 2 children in the additional bunk beds - but I would not want to put older teenagers / adults in this area), and had good kitchen facilities (dishwasher, fridge/freezer, washing machine / tumble dryer, microwave). There were 2 full bathrooms in our 2 bedroom apartment and hair dryer.
We were on floor 17 (of 21) in tower 2, which overlooked the lake. This was nice and quiet. We only had to go outside to the large balcony by the lifts if we wanted to see the Disney side of the area and watch some of the fireworks at night. There are 3 lifts to the apartments.
Parking was not a problem in the undercover garage, although if you had a large vehicle it could be a bit tight.
Check in was easy and the staff courteous and polite. Although we were not expecting this, our apartment was cleaned 3 times while we were there, but reception did inform us when this was going to happen, so that was nice.
The view was great, although I expect if you were in an apartment in tower 2, facing Disney, that the 'exploding volcano' of the mini golf outside may be a bit irritating.
The pool and jacuzzi were a nice size and there is a small bar by the pool as well.There is also a small gym, with weight machine and running machine.
The location of the Blue Heron is excellent, with easy access to everything. Straight off the I4, so easy to get to Universal parks, International Drive is around the corner, so easy for Seaworld, and you can see the Disney parks from the apartments. The Vineland Road Premium Outlets shopping centre is a 2 minute drive around the corner for all your designer shopping. There is a large Wallmart and the Lake Buena Vista shopping centre within 5 minutes drive south down Apopka Vineland 535.Right next door to Heron Beach is a Dollar Tree (US version of Poundland but cheaper!) which had a surprising amount of everyday stuff, including food, which proved to be very handy. There is a 24 hour Wallgreens (US equivalent to Boots) right oppoosite the Blue Heron whicnh also sells food (so if you end up arriving very late at night, you can get a few items). There is also a Wendy Burger opposite (cheap 99 cent burgers etc) and a Dunkin Donuts, Starbucks and Ci Cis Pizza ($5.99 all you can eat buffet) pretty much on site.
We did not use the free bus to the resort, although it sounded quite good.

I have been to Florida 9 times now, and the Blue Heron provided a good standard of accomodation, in an excellent location, and was very good value for money. I'd definately consder going there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed 8/31 - 9/7 and had a wonderful time. So close to Disney, that we were able to come back to condo in the afternoon and regroup. Literally a 10 minute drive to any park. At the condo, there were always parking spots in the coverd garage so the car wasn't as hot when we got in. The main pool is massive and honestly, was never crowded. One day around 4pm we were the only ones there! It was so nice. Not a fan of the lady who worked the tiki hut or the drinks. We only bought drinks once and ended up throwing them away. I have read that the some had issues with the condos not being clean. That was not the case for us. Ours was very clean minus some rust in the toaster, but we worked around that. Also, the ice maker was not working, but my husband took it upon himself to fix that. The washer and dryer were a huge plus - so nice to not lug home dirty clothes! I would suggest adding more cooking equipment such as mixing bowls to the kitchen. It was only a 20 minute drive to airport. Walmart is about 5 minutes away and Walgreens is across the street (a busy one though) The mini golf next door was a good way to spend an evening. We are absolutely staying here next time we visit and I have recommended this to several people already.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We've returned to this resort many times for 6 plus years. Our experiences with the staff have been exemplary each and every time. Fast and trouble free check-in and check-out...Clean, spacious!! accommodations...the best view around, overlooking Lake Bryan and every unit has this view.
The location couldn't be any more convenient and very close to stores and restaurants, and to WDW and its parks and resorts.The one time we had a problem after a late night arrival, the BHBC and its staff went out of their way to correct, and went over and above the call of duty, all by noon the next day. They treat us right, each and every time.
We're often weary to give good (hotel) reviews for fear of losing our hidden gems to the masses, but these guys are the best. Admittedly, there is no beach at the Blue Heron Beach Resort, but they are lakeside and have two pools plus a hot tub on site.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great value! We had eight people in our group. Plenty of room. Pool was huge and very clean. We stayed in a villa. Worth every penny! We will stay there again on our next visit. Close to everything, Downtown Disney,Sea World, Downtown Orlando and only 45 min from Legoland Florida!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

We loved every minute of our stay at the Blue Heron. The location is convenient, the apartments were very spacious for our family of 5, the balconies had a fantastic view. The shuttle service was convenient. There was also everything we could possibly need in the apartment including an ironing board and iron, a hair dryer, complementary washing powder, washing tabs for the dishwasher, plenty of towels. I found the bed very comfortable and there was plenty of storage space. Overall I would highly recommend the Blue Heron for the amenities of a villa stay with the convenience of a hotel reception attached.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I went to Blue Heron Beach Resort for his birthday & we had a wonderful stay. The condo they gave us was beautiful & clean. There is a washer and dryer in every room,full kitchen & dinning room, two full large baths & the living room over looked the lake with a balcony. This hotel is close to everything that you may want to do. Bouns were the fireworks every night over Disney we could watch from our room.
The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Alfonso was a hotel employee there and he was amazing, he seen that my husband & I were waiting for the elevator and he got off the elevator and said "you are my guest please take the elevator, I will wait for the next one". If that's not great service I don't know what is. We will be back next year!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Heron Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Beach Resort

Address: 13428 Blue Heron Beach Drive, Orlando, FL 32821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#62 Family Hotel in Orlando
#93 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Heron Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron Beach Resort, a lakefront resort featuring one- and two-bedroom, condominium-style suites is just one mile from the entrance to the Walt Disney World and located just off Interstate 4 at exit 68. In addition to our immediate proximity to Disney World, we are also just four miles from SeaWorld and their new water park, Aquatica. Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure are eight short miles north on Interstate 4. The Premium Outlet Mall, just one mile from our front door offers discounted merchandise from some of the world’s most recognizable names. We are in the midst of Lake Buena Vista, the primary tourist area where you’ll find hundreds of restaurants, shops and entertainment venues.The Blue Heron Beach Resort offers one- and two-bedroom suites with living room and patio overlooking the resort pools and Lake Bryan. Each suite also has a full kitchen, dining area and two full baths. In-suite amenities include flat screen TVs with DVD players, high speed internet, washer and dryer and Jacuzzi-jetted tub in the master bath. Resort amenities include two heated pools, a kid’s pool, an outdoor hot tub, fitness center, game room, access to the miniature golf course adjacent to the hotel, and water sports available from our own docks on Lake Bryan. Services include a complimentary shuttle to the major theme parks. Parking is free. Our full service concierge can help you with car rental, attraction tickets and/or restaurant reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Heron Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Beach Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heron Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.