We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it here, great for family's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heron Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Heron Beach Resort to your Saves list
Blue Heron Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13428 Blue Heron Beach Drive, Orlando, FL 32821   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Click here for 15% off
Ranked #59 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Arcata, CA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Loved it here, great for family's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here for christmas 2011, to go to Disney, without the Disney price tag...Oh boy, this place was perfect. The kiddie pool was great for our 3 year old. He loved the bunkbeds. He felt special in them, like it was his secret spot. the bathrooms were nice and updated. The bed was GREAT! I see people complaining about the lack of pillows and blankets and towels, we had no such problem. If you ask the front, you can probably get more. If thats all you have to complain about, thats not worth mentioning....cause the price and location negate that. We will stay here again!! you have questions? contact me....cocoabeachshark@yahoo.com

Room Tip: don't get the one next to the elevator, the trash shoot is there too, and people start throwing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    373
    98
    39
    36
See reviews for
825
148
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

The stay at the resort was nice. Comfortable beds and pillows spacious.

- Had a few issues such as the message button on the phone would not spot flashing. Had to cover it every night (we were way too busy to call the front desk to bother having it fixed)
- Cobwebs were found on the light fixtures in the hallway.
- Top of bunk bed (ceiling) was dirty
- The people we booked though told us that we would be able to see Disney's fireworks from our balcony and that we could take the shuttles to the park. Upon booking I get an e-mail that our room was on the 2nd floor that you can't see the fireworks and we can not take the shuttle unless we have already checked in by midnight the night before. Two main reasons why we booked here, and we didn't get what we expected. We were then told they can move us up to a higher floor but we wont have the 2 king beds, just a king and two separate ones in the other room. This wouldn't suit us because we had two couples going. To have to sleep separate on a vacation isn't right.
- The place was decorated nicely, and had a nice home feeling to it (even my toddlers called it their "Disney Home") but the con's will make me look elsewhere before booking again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clicky53
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Blue Heron is set on times to the parks, so if you think you may go to a theme park make sure to let them know the night before. We saw the bus come by and nobody getting on. But since we did not let them know.

We were told prior to arrival that transportation would be there if we want to come home early from the parks. They Meant they would call us a Taxi

From Epcot to Blue Heron is 15.00 from blue heron to Downtown Disney is around 12 dollars.
Since parking is free at Downtown Disney there are NO direct buses to the Theme parks

Rachel was very helpful I hope she is there next year when come back to Disney/Universal

This is the best place to see fire works.
We saw Disney Hollywoods, Magic Kingdom, Epcot and Sea World. If Universal had fireworks we would have seen those as well.

Room Tip: For free parking at Disney part at the Resorts or Downtown Disney. Rent a car if you plan to come b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The staff at the front desk was friendly and helpful, and the rooms at this property are extremely nice. We stayed in a 1 bedroom on a high floor, and there was more than enough space for 2 people. There was a king-size bed, 2 full bathrooms complete with tiles (1 had a whirlpool tub!), plus an amazing full-size kitchen. The 2 bedroom units would be perfect for a family. Keep in mind, you don't get housekeeping services at this place, unless you want to pay an astronomical fee for it, so this is basically a short-term apartment rental.

Now for the best part of this place: THE VIEW! Be sure to rent a room on a higher floor. The back of every room has a balcony that overlooks a beautiful lake. Look carefully in the distance, and you can even see Sea World. Looking for Disney? Open the front door and step out. You can see Downtown Disney, Epcot, Hollywood Studios, and Animal Kingdom off in the distance. At night, you can see fireworks from all the parks, including Magic Kingdom. The end units, which have 2 bedrooms, also have a balcony at the front, so people staying in those rooms don't need to step outside to see the Disney parks and fireworks.

There are definitely areas this property can improve on. I checked in at night, so the entire check-in was with the front desk personnel, overall a pleasant experience. As this is not a timeshare property, I was shocked to get a call the next morning from a timeshare representative. I was further shocked to discover that, during the day, people are not allowed to check in without being sent over to a concierge/timeshare salesperson. I feel that's completely inappropriate for a non-timeshare hotel.

Also, I really didn't like being woken up early by slamming doors. Doors can be pretty easily fixed to keep from slamming, and it wasn't an occasional issue. Every single time a person opened a door, it slammed shut loudly. Perhaps most frustrating was that it was housekeeping opening and slamming the same doors shut over and over again for about 20 minutes per room.

Regarding maintenance, the rooms are kept up nicely. However, the outside walls of the buildings, which are fairly new, are in really bad repair. There were also issues with the gym. There are 2 of them, but one has old and failing equipment, and the weights are missing the pins to adjust them. The equipment in the 2nd gym was fine, but there were others in there vying for the same machines, and despite signs saying children under 18 aren't allowed on equipment, the staff does nothing to enforce that.

The pools were too cold to use, which was a disappointment. I've stayed in Disney properties during the winter, and they always keep the pools warm enough to use.

Finally, arachnophobes beware! I couldn't park in the covered parking garage due to spiders. I don't mean a few spiders here and there. There were literally dozens of them covering the ceiling of the garage, and the one time I tried to park in there, my vehicle ended up with multiple spiders on and in it. That is completely unacceptable. Their excuse that there's nothing you can do about spiders in Florida is so not true. I've stayed in many Orlando hotels over the years, and not one of them has had a problem with spiders like this.

Overall, the positives outweighed the negatives at this property, but it wouldn't take much for the management of this place to turn it into one of the nicest properties in Orlando.

Room Tip: Be sure to request an end unit on a high floor for the best views. Also, "Tower 2" is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We just returned from our Christmas holiday vacation and I am happy to report that the Blue Heron did not disappoint. As 2nd time guests my family again felt welcome and right at home with both the facility and the surrounding area. We continue to find this “self service” condo/suite facility to be an excellent value and a great place for a family “on the go” to call home during their stay in Orlando.

Our experience was similar to our July 2011 stay. The staff remains friendly, professional and accommodating. The condo/suite was spacious, clean, private & secure. Views from the higher floors are fantastic. Check in & check out was quick and painless. The grounds & pools(s) continue to be clean and well maintained. The major attractions are no more than a 15-20 minute drive. Parking was never a problem but as others have said before, entering & exiting the property in a car at certain times can be difficult due to traffic on Rt. 535 but this is of no fault of the resort.

Upon our early arrival I was pleasantly surprised that our condo “sunrise suite” was ready and we were offered early check in. After unpacking we quickly headed out to a nearby supermarket to purchase enough food and supplies to last for the duration of our stay. Once settled in, my family concentrated the first few days of our vacation on our theme park itinerary and looked forward to returning each afternoon to our “home away from home” and to enjoy the heated pool(s) and hot tub. Even on our down days we looked forward to relaxing in and around the facility and also sampling some of the local restaurants and shops.

It was convenient to be centrally located near Disney, Universal, SeaWorld, shopping, restaurants and other tourist attractions. Having your own washer & dryer allows you to pack minimal clothing using carry-on luggage thus reducing travel time & stress. Sipping morning coffee on your private balcony while watching the sunrise or enjoying evening cocktails or dessert while watching the sunset isn’t bad either.

In conclusion, as a family wanting to take time exploring what Orlando has to offer, we feel the Blue Heron condo/suites resort is of great value and fits our needs perfectly. We prefer the space, security, privacy and reasonable cost of the “self service” 1350 sq. ft. 2 bedroom “sunrise suite” which offers all the comforts of home plus great vistas. We don’t require a more expensive “full service” resort hotel which may offer additional onsite amenities but ultimately offers you living space consisting of a standard hotel room with 2 double beds, bathroom, under counter refrigerator & coffeemaker all within a tiny 325 sq. ft. area. We have shared our positive experience with family and friends and are in the process of making plans for a 3rd return visit to the Blue Heron. Please see our 8/26/11 review on Trip Advisor for the Blue Heron Beach Resort.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The property is average, we did enjoy tremendous views of all the fireworks on new years eve from a high up floor. The unit itself was in need of some maintenance. Check in was a disaster that took 20 minutes then another line to get a parking permit which came with a pitch to get us to come to the timeshare sales breakfast. Our carpeted floors were soaking wet on arrival, but as they said when we called down, "they will dry" turns out they were correct, by the second day the floors were dry.
The beds were not comfortable and the configuration is just plan odd. The pool is very nice and it is on a small lake. For a decent place at a good price with great views it works.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Although difficult to find after a long flight (double check your directions!) the Blue Heron was a great base in Orlando. Great location to parks and airport and although not luxury accommodation, it certainly gives good value for money for families and provides everything you need.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Heron Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Beach Resort

Address: 13428 Blue Heron Beach Drive, Orlando, FL 32821
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#61 Family Hotel in Orlando
#93 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Heron Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Heron Beach Resort, a lakefront resort featuring one- and two-bedroom, condominium-style suites is just one mile from the entrance to the Walt Disney World and located just off Interstate 4 at exit 68. In addition to our immediate proximity to Disney World, we are also just four miles from SeaWorld and their new water park, Aquatica. Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure are eight short miles north on Interstate 4. The Premium Outlet Mall, just one mile from our front door offers discounted merchandise from some of the world’s most recognizable names. We are in the midst of Lake Buena Vista, the primary tourist area where you’ll find hundreds of restaurants, shops and entertainment venues.The Blue Heron Beach Resort offers one- and two-bedroom suites with living room and patio overlooking the resort pools and Lake Bryan. Each suite also has a full kitchen, dining area and two full baths. In-suite amenities include flat screen TVs with DVD players, high speed internet, washer and dryer and Jacuzzi-jetted tub in the master bath. Resort amenities include two heated pools, a kid’s pool, an outdoor hot tub, fitness center, game room, access to the miniature golf course adjacent to the hotel, and water sports available from our own docks on Lake Bryan. Services include a complimentary shuttle to the major theme parks. Parking is free. Our full service concierge can help you with car rental, attraction tickets and/or restaurant reservations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blue Heron Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Beach Hotel Orlando

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heron Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.