We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and relaxed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yellow Dog Eats

Yellow Dog Eats
1236 Hempel Ave, Orlando, FL 34734
4072960609
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 3,101 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue, Café, Soups, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious and relaxed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Sorry to visit only once but it was a short trip. Sandwiches are full of surprises because of its creative combinations. Staff very helpful.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    511
    122
    37
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Off the Beaten Path But Worth the Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Found this lovely gem of a place during my last visit to Orlando. In downtown Gotha. I have heard about this restaurant from a recent Guy Fieri show visit. The restaurant is in an old house from the early 1900's and has little rooms throughout the place to sit down and eat your food. The barbeque pulled pork sandwiches are the best I have had. The availability of toppings for your sandwich are endless, Also quite clever names for the sandwiches. Other items on the menu appeared just a good. Very hippie friendly place. My only disappoint was I was not there on a night of musical entertainment.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fun place to go for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This restaurant has been here for years. It is always a good place to go for lunch if you are looking for something unusual and not in a strip center.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“RUFUS!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hidden gem in Gotha Fl has built it nitch great friendly service and unique takes on familiar foods. Sandwiches are king in this cozy establishment. I have watch this tiny joint turn into a spacious saloon. Happy hour is great, but most importantly the creative being known to all as fish makes smiles everyday with colossal sandwiches that some how make sense. One of my many favorites the Rufus pulled pork sandwich. He'll start with homemade pulled pork, then Bree cheese, raspberry preserves, Carolina mustard barbecue sauce, french fries, onions, banana/cherry peppers and slap it all together on a nice soft roll. Make sure you grab a knife and a fork because you'll need it to eat what's left over on the plate. If you're into nice little bistro/ Gastro pubs this is a place for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Garden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Laid back atmosphere and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We have been going to Yellow dog for years. We are never disappointed. The food is always great and the staff friendly. It is a very comfortable place to relax with great food and some wine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellow Dog Eats also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Yellow Dog Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellow Dog Eats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.