We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME lunch!! Off the beaten track and so worth seeking out!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yellow Dog Eats

Yellow Dog Eats
1236 Hempel Ave, Orlando, FL 34734
4072960609
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 3,168 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue, Café, Soups, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“AWESOME lunch!! Off the beaten track and so worth seeking out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We were in Orlando and in search of a non chain place for lunch. I found Yellow Dog Eats on tripadvisor and it was AWESOME!!! Such a great menu and fun atmosphere!

Definitely worth trying....I will be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    540
    130
    38
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mineral Bluff, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Unique menu,very tasty food, unusual decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

This is a one of a kind dining experience. Great food with very unusual combinations of ingredients. My favorite sandwich" white trash"

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yummy...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Very delicious food and food comes heat hot which I really like .I cannot stand cold food!. Good menu selection. We tried the pulled pork (3 different variations) and they were all good. Ambience is different- puts a smile on your face the moment you enter- very casual, sit anywhere you like- place is usually full but lots of seating. Orders are taken at the counter and they will call your name when food is ready. If you like cheesecake then you must try it-totally yum!!!
This restaurant is actually in Windermere, FL.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yellow Dog Eats, local restaurant still the best choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

If you are lucky enough to have time to find the Yellow Dog, a neighbourhood restaurant, it will be worth your while. We were in Windemere and this little gem was just perfect... funky atmosphere, attentive fun service and EXCELLENT food- eat in our out, live music some nights, not large...take out food...locals were lined up Friday night to pic up dinner!!!! they've been here 16 years.....clearly they are doing everything right!! KUDOS to the entrepeneur & chef!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cool Restaurant, Sweet BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I heard they have the best pulled pork and they definitely do. The pulled pork is just overflowing out of the bun. You definitely get your money's worth. I loved the decor from writing on the walls to the different sections. Yery unique. The outside patio was great with the lights hanging above for evening dinners. They played great music too that makes you feel like your in the 60's which coincides with the 60's bus that's in the patio.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellow Dog Eats also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Yellow Dog Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellow Dog Eats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.