We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been gone too long, Yellow Dog is better than ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yellow Dog Eats

Yellow Dog Eats
1236 Hempel Ave, Orlando, FL 34734
4072960609
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 2,999 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Sandwiches, Barbecue, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Been gone too long, Yellow Dog is better than ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

It has been a few months since we stopped by "the dog" and we were amazed at all the changes they had made in a short amount of time. The garden area was beautiful with new pavers, rocks, numerous fans with misters and a new stage made out of old barn wood that resembles an American flag. New beer selections are right on target. They also added more parking spaces and the service was fast and efficient. The food is always good, you can tell they use better ingredients than typical and the taste flavors reflect their commitment to excellence. Always clean, fun and interesting. Other readers may not like a cat or chicken in the outside area but this is Florida and the best restaurants always have em for some reason, reminds us of Key West.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    591
    149
    39
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winter Garden, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“great unique sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

first off, i like that this place is close to my residence.
Second, there have been many additions to the location including additional parking, stage for live music and a bar:) kudos!

Although they are known for their BBQ sandwiches, there are other choices that are great for vegetarians, etc. I had the downward dog and it was delicious and filling! It came with a side of hummus and pita chips.
YDE offers a great selection of beer and wine as well (and wine for purchase). This place has a patio so it is also very dog friendly(as seen by all of the canine fan photos all over the walls:)
You may even get a chance to meet the owner/head chef. Very nice guy and so is the rest of the staff:)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“YDE worth the trip out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Headed out to Gotha to YDE for lunch having read several reviews. We were not disappointed. The sandwiches were full of flavour and the pulled pork with BBQ sauce was well worth the trip. Others in our party also enjoyed theirs, which was a selection from the menu. We also managed to fit in a dessert which again were scrummy. YDE is friendly with a difference and don't forget to leave your message on the table, walls, chairs wherever you can find a space. As mentioned by others it is good to find a good place to eat rather than the chains. Oh the beer was good also.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yellow Dogs The BIZ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Tripadvisor tip.... Listen and digest. THIS IS THE BEST PULLED PORK SANDWICH YOU WILL EVER EAT !!!! Worth the 20 mins drive from Universal, quirky and different, this is , as suggested by others, an education. Different to the chains, personable, and satisfying. If you do return to the Orlando area you might just want to go back for ' Old times sake' ...... And the chickens !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Mixed thoughts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Went here because of good reviews on Trip Advisor.
I would say it is more a place for lunch than dinner. Good, healthy food served on paper and tin trays. I wouldn't eat upstairs, it was really dirty when we went but eating in the shop area was an experience. Not the place to "Make a night of it" but good if you want to get off the tourist trail and see where locals go.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YellowDogEats, Owner at Yellow Dog Eats, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thanks so much for you're review and feedback. Glad you enjoyed checking us out and we hope you'll be back soon! Sorry about the mess upstairs, we have addressed the issue with staff and have taken steps to make sure that won't be a problem next time you come on out! Thanks again for letting us know, we love the feedback because it helps us to keep improving YDE!

Peace and Love,
The Dog
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellow Dog Eats also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Yellow Dog Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yellow Dog Eats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.