We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice...but with extra costs!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rosen Shingle Creek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rosen Shingle Creek to your Saves list
Rosen Shingle Creek
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   9939 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Miami, FL
1 review
“Nice...but with extra costs!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

We found this hotel through Hotwire ($50/per night) and it was only 4 miles from Universal Studios. The hotel is very nice and the rooms are spacious and clean. The lady at the front desk was friendly and helpful. The bad part was the extra expenses. $12 a night for self parking. The parking lot is a small hike from the hotel. The valets won't let you anywhere near the hotel entrance to drop off luggage or to even check in. Internet is another expense at $10/per day. If I got this hotel on Hotwire again for a similar rate, I wouldn't be too upset, but I doubt I would search it out on my own for our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,267
    697
    224
    90
    57
See reviews for
565
545
85
815
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
173 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

Caveat: I did not stay at the property but attended a conference here. Rosen Creek serves as a convention center alternative and has 2 large halls and the property is enormous. With such a large property it's impossible to 'walk off' to someplace else, despite the relative close proximity to bustling International Drive. Overall, I found the property to be quite dark and boring, with few restaurant and bar choices. It was apparent the hotel charged for everything and prices (no surprise) are high. There is no taxi stand, so you are forced to use the hotel limo service (likely $$$ as well) to leave. In summary, the thought of being holed up here for 2-3 days for a convention seemed less than ideal.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

The Rosen Shingle Creek is a nice place with beautiful grounds, based on their rooms rates they tend to cater to the business crowd and conventions. The reason we stayed here is because my girlfriend attended a conference here and the rooms were paid for.

The 18 market located in the hotel has great food and is very convienient. There is a Publix food store about a 10 minute walk from the hotel so you have the opportunity to pick up some items at a cheaper price ( paid $15.50 / 18 cans of Coors light) .

My only issue is that as the week went by we found that outside of using the Men in Black - limo service a nickname we gave them as (They are dressed in Black suits and drive Black Surburans or Esclades or Crown cars) very expenisive.

We found that the best way to get around cheaper is to use the trolly system or Lynx bus service, now here is where it gets interesting as no one tells you that the Lynx has a stop on Universal Blvd which bring you to International Blvd where you can get off and travel any where you like for either $2.00 or $ 1.25 using the trolley system ... come to find out is that the Lynx Bus actually has a pickup at the Resort at the back entrance (go figure) we found this out on the last day ..Once on Universal Blvd you can travel north to the Prime outlets and Universal Studios or South to Premium Outlets DisneyWorld...Oh yes, before I forget they charge for using their fitness centre !

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

I really enjoyed my stay. I found the entire complex very clean, the staff were great, and the room was fantastic. The food was delicious, pricey, but very good. I would recommend renting a car, (which you can do in the lobby). You're not really within walking distance to much. There is a Publix grocery store across the street, but other than that, you'll have to drive or cab. The hotel kind of frowns on regular cabs picking up at the hotel. They'll let you call one, but they don't make it convenient. Instead they have a car service, which always has cars (Black Escalades and Subburbans) available to take you wherever you want. They charge regular cab fare, plus $6.00. The only time I used it, it cost $42 from the hotel to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

This is one incredible hotel. From the moment you arrive until the moment you leave, you are treated like royalty. The rooms are clean and very well appointed. It is probably not the place to stay if you are looking for a fun place for the kids, but for adults it can't be beat.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

My wife and I visited this beuatiful and luxurious hotel for four days in November. The hotel rooms were beautiful, spacious and very clean. The hotel, itself, was very modern and provided amenities to suit every taste. We would definitely recommend a walk around their nature trail. As for the complaints we read prior to our visit with regards to the parking fee - this may have been a negative aspect of the hotel for some people, however, we thought that it was a little price to pay ($12 per day) for the peace of mind knowing that there was 24 hour security on site. Also, we read about the VAST WALK from the carpark to the hotel - hogwash!! The people who complained about the walk must have been very lazy or very unfit. I would describe the walk as 'a nice wee stroll from the lobby'. The staff were always courteous and friendly and the rooms were cleaned daily. Our only regret is that we didnt have time to swin in one of their beautiful pools. We would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo,Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

If you stay at the upscale Rosen Shingle Creek set on some spacious and lovely landscaping, be prepared to pay for parking and the internet. The rooms are nice and fairly large, the beds very comfortable and the tvs are upgraded to flat panels. But the annoying thing about the Rosen is the self-parking fee of $12 for a lot that's several hundred yards away from the hotel and the $12.95 charge/day to use the internet. The discounted rate was the draw that overshadowed the extra fees. Unfortunately the walls seemed to be paper thin as several party-goers were loud enough to disrupt my sleep.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosen Shingle Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosen Shingle Creek

Address: 9939 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#6 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#7 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#8 Family Hotel in Orlando
#11 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#29 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosen Shingle Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosen Shingle Creek proudly presents a combination of 1,500 luxury guestrooms and suites that are functional and classically styled with soothing earth tones and sumptuous bedding. Most guestrooms feature views of our beautiful manicured gardens, pools, and Shingle golf course. Our alluring suites, ranging from expansive hospitality parlors to the 1,744-square-foot presidential suites provide the perfect atmosphere for intimate gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rosen Shingle Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosen Shingle Creek Hotel Orlando
Rosen Shingle Creek Orlando
Shingle Creek Resort
Rosen Shingle Creek Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosen Shingle Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.