We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average for this type of hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rosen Shingle Creek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rosen Shingle Creek to your Saves list
Rosen Shingle Creek
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   9939 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 326 Hotels in Orlando
Keller, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Above average for this type of hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate her 40th birthday. The grounds, lobby and rooms are very nice and very clean. The staff is exceedingly friendly, but that is to be expected in the Disney/Universal Studios area. They were going through a little bit of construction in the valet area out front, but I can't knock them for this. The only real complaint is the the distance of the parking from the hotel. They do have valet service, but if you want to park for free (on the weekends only), it is a hike uphill to the hotel with your luggage. I definitely would stay there again especially for the price I was able to get on Priceline.

Room Tip: One side of the hotel faces the parking lot, and the other faces the grounds which are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tshoemaker, Guest Relations Manager at Rosen Shingle Creek, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Hi mulhollen~!

Thank you for the review of your stay. The re-pavement of the front driveway is finally complete and looks amazing.

Sorry you had to deal with this during your stay.

Hope you come back and visit us again. We would love the opportunity to have you stay with us in the future.

Thank you,

Troy Shoemaker
Assistant Director - Central Reservations
Rosen Hotels and Resorts
9939 Universal Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32821
Direct Line: 407-996-1474
Cellular: 407-832-1569
Fax: 407-996-3157
tshoemaker@rosenhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,267
    697
    224
    90
    57
See reviews for
565
545
85
815
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Very nice location! I attended a conference here with my wife. Our 6th floor room was very comfortable. We experienced no noise issues in the room (even though there was evidently a barber shop quartet convention and we could hear people singing most everywhere we went around the hotel). The hotel staff - from check-in to maintenance to restaurant staff - were VERY friendly and helpful (an IT staffer walked us to our meeting room when we were lost a long way from where we wanted to be).

The restaurants and meeting arrangements were excellent. We ate dinner at Calla Bella, lunch at the Clubhouse Grille (great sandwiches) and the buffet Cafe Osceola. They served breakfast at our meeting room, including one beautiful morning outside the room. They obviously know how to cater to groups.

The pool areas provide a great place to sit and relax. There is a long jogging trail and a nice interpretive nature trail. The fitness center is well equipped and was never crowded while we were there. We did not use the golf course, sand volleyball, or tennis courts. There is also a fishing dock.

The hotel and property is very large, catering to groups and conventions. So expect to walk a lot. Valet parking and self parking available for a fee ($20 & $16), but the fee can be included in your group fees if you are scheduling a conference. The walk to the self-parking is long, but security on a golf cart offered us a ride!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tshoemaker, Guest Relations Manager at Rosen Shingle Creek, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so much, BSGA!

We appreciate your honest feedback on the hotel. We hope you come back soon and visit.

Please let me know if there is anything I can help you with in the future.

Thank you,

Troy Shoemaker
Assistant Director - Central Reservations
Rosen Hotels and Resorts
9939 Universal Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32821
Direct Line: 407-996-1474
Cellular: 407-832-1569
Fax: 407-996-3157
tshoemaker@rosenhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natrona County
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel is a great venue for conventions and large groups. The Christmas decorations and trees were still up and quite lovely. We checked in while a national cheerleading competition had competitors also arriving. We had booked a 2 queen room and were offered a hospitality suite instead. It was fabulous but it meant 5 nights sleeping on a murphy bed. No thank you. We did agree to switch to a king petite suite since we could tell they really wanted 2 bed rooms for cheerleading groups.

We noticed an unpleasant smell when we got to our room. Decided amping up the air system was needed. Left immediately for dinner at Land Remembered (delicious steak!!) and did not return until after 10 pm. Smell still present and made us think of a shower curtain that needs to be switched out. Decided to make sure that happened when the room was made up the next day. However, by 5:00 in the a.m. we couldn't handle the smell (think mildew) and called to see what our options were. The hotel was scheduled to be full that night so it took some time to figure out where to put us. The bellman showed up by 6:00 a.m. and we moved to a standard king room. It smelled fine and we were happy to be out of the odor that we were sure was invading our clothes, etc. The main reason I am relating this experience is to warn travelers to not accept the room with the hope it will improve. Wish we hadn't as it was a sleepless night and our new room was fine as were the rooms we were in of several friends.

It was nice to have a room fridge and the Market on the lower level was nice to have. Parking was ridiculous. Thought we did not want to always have to wait for valet but it may have taken just as long to locate a place to park in self parking. With the hotel full, it was not surprising that this was an issue. By Sunday when all the cheerleaders left, parking was plentiful.

We were here for business and did not have a choice of hotels. It was much more enjoyable after much of the crowd left. The casual eateries were not packed and it was quiet. If I had a choice to stay again, I would really try and opt for a time when they were not overflowing for a more relaxing experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tshoemaker, Guest Relations Manager at Rosen Shingle Creek, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
I’m happy to hear you enjoyed your stay overall, Takemeaway79!

Sorry about the few issues you ran into, but happy to hear that they were solved.

I will check with the housekeeping on the situation to see what it was. That is very interesting.

Thanks again,

Troy Shoemaker
Assistant Director - Central Reservations
Rosen Hotels and Resorts
9939 Universal Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32821
Direct Line: 407-996-1474
Cellular: 407-832-1569
Fax: 407-996-3157
tshoemaker@rosenhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I consider myself a big fan of Rosen Hotels, specifically Shingle Creek. I've stayed at several of their hotels near the convention center with very positive experiences. The property and room cleanliness were on point as usual, however here a some of the issues I encountered...for starters, the mini bar didn't have anything in it (not even water...no where in the room for that matter), the coffee pot wasn't operable and even after I walked to the vending machine on my floor it wasn't operational. When I spoke to Randy via phone, I was instructed to go one floor down or up to get water out of a different vending machine. I found this as a curious solution. My other alternative was to call room service and pay even more for my $2 bottle of water. I drove to Publix down the street and bought a 24-pack to solve the matter on my own. IMO not the best way for the hotel to have handled it so I hope to have a better experience if I return and hope other guest don't have the same misfortune.

Other than that, the hotel service was very good and the location is extremely convenient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tshoemaker, Guest Relations Manager at Rosen Shingle Creek, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Hi FicoUCF!

We are a fan of yours too! So sorry about the items you mentioned in your review.

All of our properties have mini-refrigerators; however, we do not stock them. We do offer the market at each of the properties for our guests to enjoy. I’m sorry for the ‘solution’ that was given to you because it definitely wasn’t the best one.

I hope these errors don’t stop you in the future. Please reach out to me if there is anything I can do for you.

Thank you,

Troy Shoemaker
Assistant Director - Central Reservations
Rosen Hotels and Resorts
9939 Universal Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32821
Direct Line: 407-996-1474
Cellular: 407-832-1569
Fax: 407-996-3157
tshoemaker@rosenhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel by far is one of excellence, from the moment you drive up to it and when you leave it.
It rises up from the landscape with its towers and large portico with multiple lanes and awaiting attendants to unload and wisk away your luggage to your room. Front desk clerks are very friendly and most efficient. The lobby is enormous with multiple wings. The rooms are very spacious , comfortable and quiet.There are a number
of different restaurants and bars avaiable to you in this property. One of them is called the"Market" which is open 24/7. As we were there for the Russell Athletic bowl with Rutgers,it was great to return late at night after the game and be able to get food. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Top floors 11-14 with express elevators. Ease of access skipping all the other floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tshoemaker, Guest Relations Manager at Rosen Shingle Creek, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We definitely are a large property, Traveler7010!

Thanks so much for amazing review of the property.

We were all pumped for a win for Rutgers....maybe next year!

Thanks for staying with us. Hope to see you next year.

Thank you,

Troy Shoemaker
Assistant Director - Central Reservations
Rosen Hotels and Resorts
9939 Universal Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32821
Direct Line: 407-996-1474
Cellular: 407-832-1569
Fax: 407-996-3157
tshoemaker@rosenhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked last minute to be in Orlando for the Capital One Bowl (Go Dawgs). We usually stay at the Ritz Grande Lakes or the JW Marriott, but both were booked. I have to say that I was very pleased with our stay at the Rosen Shingle Creek. It compares quite favorably to the Ritz and JW in terms of its amenities, service and decor (though not quite as opulent). The property is huge and well maintained. It has 4 large pools, 2 hot tubs, a terrific golf course, and numerous on-site bars and restaurants. We had our kids with us (ages 5 and 10), and they loved it. The location is convenient to I-4 and International Blvd (Restaurant Row). The rooms are very adequate - nice size with comfortable beds. They, also, include a refrigerator, which is nice for storing drinks and leftovers. I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tshoemaker, Guest Relations Manager at Rosen Shingle Creek, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We hope you do stay with us again, brastumac!

Thanks so much for your kind words. Please visit us again soon.

Have a great day!

Troy Shoemaker
Assistant Director - Central Reservations
Rosen Hotels and Resorts
9939 Universal Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32821
Direct Line: 407-996-1474
Cellular: 407-832-1569
Fax: 407-996-3157
tshoemaker@rosenhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whippany, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our stay at Rosen Shingle Creek was great! The grounds are stellar, the lobby area vibrant, and our room inviting. While I was aware of how the hotel looked in the pictures, it was so much better looking in person. And our breakfasts and dinner were first class.

But I have saved the best for last. After we checked out and arrived back home, we realized we had left behind some personal items. I called the hotel and they said that they would try to locate them..An hour later, they called back to say that the items had been found and they would ship them to our home at their expense.

Thanks from us for going the extra mile!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tshoemaker, Guest Relations Manager at Rosen Shingle Creek, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We go the extra mile as much as we can, jhlad!

Thank you very much for your compassionate words.

Please visit us again soon.

Troy Shoemaker
Assistant Director - Central Reservations
Rosen Hotels and Resorts
9939 Universal Blvd.
Orlando, FL 32821
Direct Line: 407-996-1474
Cellular: 407-832-1569
Fax: 407-996-3157
tshoemaker@rosenhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rosen Shingle Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosen Shingle Creek

Address: 9939 Universal Boulevard, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#6 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#7 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#8 Family Hotel in Orlando
#11 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#29 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosen Shingle Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 1500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rosen Shingle Creek proudly presents a combination of 1,500 luxury guestrooms and suites that are functional and classically styled with soothing earth tones and sumptuous bedding. Most guestrooms feature views of our beautiful manicured gardens, pools, and Shingle golf course. Our alluring suites, ranging from expansive hospitality parlors to the 1,744-square-foot presidential suites provide the perfect atmosphere for intimate gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rosen Shingle Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosen Shingle Creek Hotel Orlando
Rosen Shingle Creek Orlando
Shingle Creek Resort
Rosen Shingle Creek Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosen Shingle Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.