We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than another hamburger!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Yamas

Taverna Yamas
7500 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819
407-203-0960
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Taverna Yamas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,337 of 3,263 Restaurants in Orlando
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish, Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Niteroi, RJ
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Much better than another hamburger!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

It was my first meal on arrival and a very good "welcome card"!
You'll find great choices, you'll be well served and do not expect to pay too much for that!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    6
    3
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Biggest disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Two friends and I were waiting in the I-Drive traffic, looking for something to do on a Saturday night, and we saw the attractive sign for Taverna Yamas- mediterranean food and hookah bar-- sounded perfect. So we thought we'd give it a try. It was a late dinner, but not late night. Inside was completely empty when we walked in (perhaps should have been a sign), but we were offered the option of eating outside with live music so we did. There were a handful of tables already seated outside and we chose to sit at the far end of the patio area. Our waitress greeted us promptly and took our drink order. We got our drinks (1 beer, 1 water, and 1 soda) and soon ordered our food and requested a menu for the hookah (one of the main reasons we chose this place in the first place). After what felt like an eternity (a couple was seated at the table behind us and was never helped and ended up walking out), our food arrived. Our waitress hadn't checked on us at all and we never even saw her until she had reappeared with our food. Our food left a lot to be desired (the asparagus side was essentially 5 pieces of wood, the lamb ribs were 80% fat, and none of the "kabobs" that we ordered were actually kabobs- they were just the ingredients all thrown on a plate after they had been cooked). Our waitress never came back to check on our food until we requested a check (THIS is when she asked if we wanted a hookah). Gratuity was automatically added even though we had a small party. Our meal of 1 entree and 5 appetizers, 1 beer, 1 soda, and 1 water came out to over $100. We even commented that the asparagus was really bad and our waitress said "oh thank you so much, honey." We had decent expectations but were nothing but disappointed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Tasty food in Orlando & great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We were in the area attending a wedding at the Wyndham Hotel nearby. Since there was time until the reception, we wandered around looking for a quick snack (not fast food and somewhat healthy). Since Yamas offered something different compared to the fast food joints around and had vegetarian options, we decided to stop by. It was late afternoon so the restaurant was empty and we were the only guests there. We were quickly seated in a booth. Our waitress was very attentive and checked on us several times to ensure we enjoyed our meal and asking if we needed anything else. We chose the sample platter that had a good mix of hummus, pitas, salad, etc. The food was really tasty and it would have been great to come back for dinner! The restaurant looks small from the outside, but once inside it is quite large with a decent size bar. It has a Turkish feel to it with the dark wood furnishings.Hope to visit Orlando someday again and come back for dinner and see the the belly dancers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing salad and Saganiki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Wonderful fresh non traditional salad.
They did add 18% gratuity without telling us... Not cool. We were a party of five.
Great food % Service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Wonderful :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Had a fantastic time here , we stayed in hotel next door so it was just on our doorstep, there was 10 of us and staff here was AMAZING, belly dancing at night and children were welcomed to join in they all loved it, food is fantastic, service is great i couldent fault this resturant at all, owner kept throwing napkins in the air so our kids were delighted joining in with him, huge indoor eating area but we sat outside in the beautiful weather , thanks to everyone for making our stay in florida more exiting and thank you for joining in our birthday celibrations :) x

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Yamas also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Taverna Yamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Yamas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.