We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was just ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flame Kabob

Flame Kabob
7536 Dr.Phillips Blvd #360, Orlando, FL 32819
+1 407-248-2280
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #971 of 3,243 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $22
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Turkish, Middle Eastern, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are located in the Marketplace At Dr. Phillips blvd and Sand Lake Rd.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Food was just ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Food was ok. A little plain though. Thought value for money was ok. You can't order specials if you use groupon to pay for your meal.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    18
    6
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Monroeville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Love this place. we make it a point to visit when in Orlando.We started off with falafel. Gyros were cooked perfectly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I love this kind of food. The spices are very good and everything is fresh. Good for lunch or dinner. Friendly enviorement

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Food was absolutely amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This place is kind of a hole in the wall type of place, but it was delicious! We loved the kabobs, schwarma, and falafel. Definitely check this place out. It's right in the middle of a strip mall, which can be kind of strange....the atmosphere isn't quite ideal, but the food makes up for it!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Mediterranean Food But Absent Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We’d passed by this place many times and I’d been saying we’ll try it for months. Finally, we got the chance. It’s a little hard to find: there are entrances to the center from both Dr Phillips Blvd and Sand Lake Road. It’s kind of hidden all the way at one end of the strip next to a sub shop. There was no one to greet us when we came in. Finally, we helped ourselves to menus and then sat ourselves. (This is not a fast-food or casual restaurant. It’s fine dining. Entrées mostly $19 to $28. )We were a little concerned; there was almost nobody there and only one young woman working the front of the house. She was totally unconcerned. A young gentleman—obviously a regular—came in while we were sitting and waiting for service and the server flirted shamelessly with him for a good five minutes. Unless I am mistaken, they had plans for later. The couple at the one other table noticed too. Finally, we ordered beverages and two appetizers, one hot and one cold. The appetizers arrived 10 or 15 minutes later and the beverages with them. The hot appetizer was not what we had ordered and had to be replaced. (We’d ordered spinach pie and got cheese pie.) But the cold appetizer (baba ghanoush) was good; a little too much lemon perhaps. We decided to order a main dish: lamb shanks, to share. By now, the other couple had left and we were alone in the dining room. The entrée came quickly—with an extra plate for sharing, which was appreciated. I split the entrée and began to eat. The lamb shanks were cold: I mean, out-of-the-refrigerator cold. The server was across the dining room from us, so I said, “The lamb is cold.” Without moving, she said, “Your lamb is cold?” Rather than say the snide remark I had on my tongue, I just said, “yes.” She picked it up and a few minutes later delivered two freshly made plates with one shank on each and full-size sides, which was appreciated. The main course was delicious. I would go here again, but would be loath to recommend it, unless you were really ready for rotten service. (You could do what a few people did that night: call in your order and pick it up at the restaurant.) It’s a shame. Somebody invested some money in nice furnishings, art work, good sound system, and signage. I’ll bet that person does the cooking. But somebody needs to watch the store.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flame Kabob also viewed

 
 

Been to Flame Kabob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flame Kabob, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.