We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you see is what you get...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ponderosa

Ponderosa
I535, Orlando, FL
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,027 of 3,168 Restaurants in Orlando
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Wirral, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What you see is what you get...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Ponderosa is a great little place to start your day.
Fairly well located and for the all you can eat breakfast buffet it was unbeatable.

There's a choice of something for nearly everyone here...

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    84
    38
    19
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Breakfasts in Orlando”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Couple of Ponderosa's on I Drive which have just been refurbed. My favourite one is up by wet n wild. Best value, best choice, best tasting breakfast without doubt! Don't be fooled by your own hotel's breakfast buffet, they are not a patch on Ponderosa! I think its about $8.50 each for adults for all you can eat plus unlimited coffee. Choice is fantastic from cereals, pastries, muffins, fresh fruit etc, and of course all the cooked breakfast items you can imagine! Tomotoes, sliced potatoes, sausages all my favourites!

Staff on the whole usually very good, friendly and polite.

This is always a repeat venue for us during our holidays.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Food, Great Service, Great Price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We have just returned from Orlando and stayed on International Drive. I lost count of the amount of times we dined at The Ponderosa, we thought it was excellent for both breakfast & evening meal. The choice of food was fantastic & the service was superb, every waiter or waitress greeted us with a smile & and were very friendly. I have seen a review on here stating that the food was tasteless, I cannot understand that at all.

The breakfast menu had a choice of around six different cereal, a large selection of fresh fruit & yoghurts, plus pancakes, bacon, eggs (omlettes, fried, scrambled, poached), sausages, potatoes, beans, even a large salad section.

The evening menu had steaks, fish, chicken, shrimp and lots of different things on the buffet including, pasta, meatballs, chilli, taco's, fresh vegetables, potatoes......I could go on.

Sweets included Ice Cream, Cakes, Fruit Pies..........

If you visit Orlando's International Drive you must try Ponderosa.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food at good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

nice food reasonably priced Casual and Staff friendly.My family enjoyed the meal here it was a change from eating at Disney and less expensive clean and good value they also except the kids eat free cards here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester le Street, Co Durham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Refurbished Ponderosa - Top of International Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We visit The "Pondy" for breakfast every Christmas and were positivey shocked to see it had been refurbished.
We have been going for years and thought with its "Texas theme" it had lost its character. However, after the initial shock , we thought it was nice. The same friendly staff are there to greet you and seat you ( Niomi on the till and the exellent servers - Pricilla and Abel. )
The food layout has now been streamlined and is much more user friendly. The food itself has also been inproved with new dishes and crispy bacon now !
If you find yourself near the top of International Drive and want a reasonably priced breakfast to start the day and lots of American character please check it out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponderosa also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Ponderosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponderosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.