We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tusker House

Tusker House
Disney's Animal Kingdom, Walt Disney World Resort, Orlando, FL
407 939 3463
Improve this listing
Ranked #165 of 3,089 restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $0 - $36
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Dessert
Description: Travelers! Take a break from your safari and enjoy a taste of adventure at Tusker House Restaurant, a colorful and bustling Harambe Marketplace eatery.
Winchester, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great for kids!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The character experience at Tusker House is great. We ate breakfast with Mickey, Donald, Daisy, and Goofy. We received a lot of character time and had some really good food. The breakfast buffet was well appointed and delicious. My daughter especially loved the Mickey shaped waffles. The price is as you'd expect (it is Disney). The restaurant is located inside of Animal Kingdom, so we entered the park early to eat. That was kind of nice. And yes, you have to have a ticket to enter the park. The atmosphere is just ok. Though this was a very nice experience, I still prefer the character breakfast at the Cape May Cafe inside of Disney's Beach Club Resort.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    511
    365
    144
    46
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ocean, NJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great character breakfast buffet in Disney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Having been to all character meals throughout the years, I have finally found one superior. I say this due to the food selection. Well worth the $. I personally love 1900 park for breakfast. Dining with characters that can speak and interact with you is a little more fun in my opinion but the value and selection is wonderful and festive. Most of the character meals leave you feeling rushed ...not here. Service was great, taking pics etc & characters hung around as long as needed. Definitely worth a visit especially if your in AK.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Decided to splurge this visit and do a table service meal. I am so glad I did. There was a wide variety of dishes to try. Even the pickiest of eaters will find something to their liking. It was a little on the noisy side and it was an extra bonus to have some of the characters come around to your table. I will for sure be going back to this place next trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White House, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Fun, & Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

You start your meal with a picture with Donald Duck. How awesome is that? Animal Kingdom is great first off because the different areas look so much like the countries they represent and Tusker House follows suit with this idea. Their buffet will definitely have some of your favorites with an African spin that will both surprise and be pleasing to the palate. They actually had hummus on the buffet! Lots of desserts and choices of meats that are just too good for words. The characters visit your table dressed in their safari outfits and the servers were very attentive. Our son has a food allergy, although not serious, the staff went out of their way to ensure he didn't get anything that was contaminated. As busy as they are, this really made an impression on me.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Awesome spread!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My family and I went there for a character breakfast one morning and the food was great. However, the service staff is a little slow. Clearing of the tables was a bit of an issue but other than that our experience was very good and delightful. The Disney characters (Donald, Goofy, Daisy etc...) were fantastic.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tusker House also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Tusker House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tusker House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.