We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and comfort food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boatwright's Dining Hall

Boatwright's Dining Hall
2201 Orleans Dr, Disney Dixie Landings Resortc, Orlando, FL
407-939-3463
Improve this listing
Ranked #501 of 3,175 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: "Boatwright's Dining Hall is a Southern, shipyard-themed casual restaurant serving dinner at Disney's Port Orleans Resort - Riverside. It's a shipbuilder's paradise parked alongside the Sassagoula River that winds through the resort.This restored boat-construction warehouse features the large wooden hull of a fishing boat suspended from the ceiling, from which dangle rustic, rope-strung lanterns. Fantastic shipbuilding tools and artifacts adorn the high walls, while shop rags are used as napkins and tool boxes contain salt shakers. Fireplaces keep the vibe and the interior quite cozy.This popular table-service restaurant features Southern-style cuisine as well as American dishes imbued with the South. Savory entrees such as jambalaya and blackened red snapper, and more traditional fare like prime rib, pasta with shrimp and filet mignon, grace dinner plates. Southern sides and pecan pie round out the dining experience.A children's menu is available for dinner.
UK
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
“Great service and comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were staying at Port Orleans Riverside and ate here twice during September 2013. The atmosphere and decor is really relaxed and the service excellent. The complimentary corn bread is really nice and the main courses were excellent. I had the jambalaya which was packed with flavour and my wife had the pork which I am told was very tasty. The star of the show is the pecan pie dessert though, sweet, rich and a great way to end the meal. It's certainly on our list to go back to on our next trip to Disney.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    201
    90
    25
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Studio City, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I really like this place -”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

-Lots of space to eat indoor and out.
-Very organized and easy to get around (even with my then 9 year old.)
-clearly marked food choices (if you purchased a meal plan, which we did. )
-Nice atmosphere and very clean.
-Televisions and play areas for the kids to sit and color if the parents are still eating.
-Stays open late for you to hit the dining hall after a long day at the park and pick up a snack on the way to the room or before you begin your evening out.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“RUN!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

During our stay at Port Orleans, the front desk suggested we try the amazing prime rib over at Boatwrights. Wanting to stay close to the hotel and enjoy the complete idea that is staying at a Disney resort, we took up the offer. When arriving to the restaurant we were seated quickly, however our table was not pre-set for our reservation. Our server, whose name now slips my mind told us it was her first day. Listening to a large table behind us giving her quite a hard time, we took it easy on her. For appetizers my boyfriend ordered the gumbo and his brother and I ordered the french onion soup, both sub par at best.
On to our entrees. My boyfriend and I just had to order their signature dish the jambalaya and his brother opted for the voodoo chicken. After waiting for about 30 minutes for our entrees, mind you, at this point we were the last table in the restaurant. The food runners dropped our dishes in front of us and simply walked away. We all looked at each other in horror. The "jambalaya" if you could have even called it that, was hard, par boil rice, poorly seasoned at that, one piece of sausage sliced down the middle and two extremely over cooked shrimp. My boyfriends brothers voodoo chicken was the perfect name for the dish; dry, under seasoned and just down right nasty. After we all three sent our dishes back and ordered something different I opted for the catfish, my boyfriend the prime rib, and his brother the salmon.
The catfish came out dry, atop cold, completely unseasoned bagged white rice, served with two asparagus and buffalo and tarter sauce for dipping. Disgusting. My boyfriend ordered his prime rib MR and it came out well done. The salmon was completely over cooked and honestly wasn't much other than mixed greens to the "salad". Not to mention throughout all of this, no manager approached the table and our server was no where to be found until she was ready to bring the bill. (Other servers and food runners took care of us most of the night.) Even with a 50% off coupon we spent $100.00 for three before tip, with no alcohol purchased. After we left, we were sad that we didn't just eat chicken fingers and fries at the food court. I would avoid this place at all costs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmont, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“it's ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We ate here without a reservation and had no problem getting a table. The menu does not have a huge selection of entrees but there are enough. The food was ok, not great. If you are staying at the new orleans riverside it's a good place to eat if you don't want to eat in the parks. However I would not make a special trip to eat here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterlooville
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“give it a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

this is in the port orleans riverside resort near the main lobby.need to book in advance.serves meals like pork chops etc with vegetables.gets away from all the fast food which is served everywhere.people from other hotels from disney were booking here.staff dressed as they would be in new orleans years ago.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boatwright's Dining Hall also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Boatwright's Dining Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boatwright's Dining Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.