We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal and experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chef Mickey's

Chef Mickey's
Walt Disney World, 4600 North World Drive, Orlando, FL 32830
(407) 824-1000
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #291 of 3,168 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $5 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Chef Mickey's is a buffet restaurant serving breakfast and dinner flavors—and your favorite Disney Characters!—at Disney's Contemporary Resort.The whole brood will chow down in smiles while the likes of Mickey or any assortment of his pals roams the restaurant. You never know who might show up! Delicious seasonal specialties make for a spectacular spread in this bright, happy space located beneath the quiet whisks of the monorail. Breakfast includes a premium fruit bar, cereal selections, American classics like pancakes (with fun toppings!), Mickey Mouse waffles, eggs, omelettes and pastries. Dinner is a delectable affair with roasted chicken, carved beef, savory sides and kids' favorites (like mac 'n' cheese). Make your meal end sweetly ever after at the sundae bar.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Meal and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We enjoyed our dinner at Chef Mickey. I wasn't sure what to expect, but was pleasantly surprised by the food quality and the experience. Our server, Dan, made sure that we understood how the dinner worked and that our beverage needs were completely taken care of.
(The sangria was outstanding)

The only downside is that you really cannot enjoy your meal until all of the characters have come to your table. During the crowded times, you have to be on the lookout for them to approach your table. It's easy to miss them if you are at the buffet. We snacked until all five characters had passed (about 30 minutes), and then went up to get our dinner.

We will definitely return!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    947
    683
    352
    128
    91
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Another enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We visited Chef Mickey's for dinner. I love the dinner buffet. It is one of the few character meals at Disney World that I would visit without my kids just for the food. The character interaction was great, and we got some fantastic pictures with the "Fab 5" and our kids.

I don't know if it was where we were sitting (all the way around in the back) or just the day we were there, but unlike previous visits, this time we felt very rushed. At most of the character meals, there generally are two characters who come close together and then a bit of a break before the next characters come. That gives you time to go get food and eat during the gaps between characters. This time around, the characters were a little more spaced out, with no longer breaks. With two kids, 3 and 1, that made it very tough for my wife and I to eat because there just wasn't time for us to make trips to the buffet and to eat our own food. It ended up feeling very rushed. The waitstaff didn't rush us. They were willing to give us all the time we needed. But by the time kids were finished and starting to get restless, I still had half a plate of food left. As a result, our experience this time wasn't as good as it has been in the past.

If you are paying for Chef Mickey's out of pocket, it is expensive. On the other hand, if you are on the Disney Dining Plan, it is a great value for your Table Service credit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Were sooooo going back !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Had the best time ever everyone was awesome w us and the service was great !

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Food was fine, but price was too high”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

When I ate at Chef Mickey's, I thought they had a good variety of food and the food was all OK. But it was too expensive. It cost $25 for a breakfast buffet, which is too much. But I know that most things Disney are expensive. I also don't have any kids, and if I did, they would probably enjoy eating there, especially when Disney characters came walking by and talked to them.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Arkansas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Favorite Breakfast spot!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

It's an annual deal with my family to have breakfast with Mickey and friends. The food is good, good selection and great fruit options as well. It is pricey but you do see atleast five characters so when factored into the price and not having to wait 60 min out in the heat it's totally worth it. It's a great tradition or experience for you and the kids. Enjoy!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Mickey's also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Chef Mickey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chef Mickey's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.