We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, ok service....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Floridian Cafe

Grand Floridian Cafe
4401 Disney's Grand Floridian, Walt Disney World, Orlando, FL 32830
407-939-3463
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #237 of 3,086 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Grand Floridian Cafe offers a moderately priced breakfast, lunch and dinner of American favorites. This casual, light-filled restaurant has a charming Victorian setting and overlooks the lovely gardens and pool at Disney's Grand Floridian Resort & Spa.Start your day with a plate of Mickey Waffles or a hearty Three-Egg Omelet. For lunch, choose from an assortment of salads, soups, sandwiches and daily specials. Dinner selections include fresh seafood, chicken and delectable steaks.
Edmond, OK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great food, ok service....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This was our first meal on our Disney trip. We were seated on time. I had the burger with lobster and it was fantastic. My husband had a steak and he said it was cooked perfectly (MR). The service wasn't great and our drink refills were slow. The dessert sampler was cute and tasted ok. I would definitely go back here to eat but i would not expect great service.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    219
    92
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Poor service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Ate here on our first night at Disney World. We were told at checkin that we should lock up our cards and IDs in the room safe and just use our Disney World issued card to pay for everything, so that's what we did. We figured that the card was used as ID as it is on the Disney cruises and were surprised when we got to the Grand Floridian Café and were told that myself and my husband looked too young to order alcohol and that they had no way of checking our ages in the system. Fair enough. My husband and I rarely drink and it wasn't a huge deal. But then our server brought out a beer for my husband (apparently he no longer needed ID) and a child's cup with a tinkerbell light on it full of fruit juice for me. I am still floored by this. My husband did not want to drink alone and it was so insulting for the restaurant to accuse me of lying about my age and then bring me a child's cup/drink. I was humiliated. I understand not being able to order alcohol without the appropriate ID, but I don't understand why they then gave my husband alcohol that he said he no longer wanted (when he also had no ID) and proceeded to make fun of and insult me. Makes no sense. I just wanted to leave as soon as this happened, but my mom was starving and didn't want to try to go somewhere else. I got the lobster burger and it didn't look like any of the photos I've seen of it (it had no sauce and the lobster was dry and rubbery). My mom loves lobster and wouldn't even eat it, though she did enjoy the salmon special she ordered. My husband also enjoyed his steak, but we'll never eat here again or stay at the Grand Floridian based on the strange, insulting service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Great Way to Start the Day at the Magic Kingdom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a nice place to grab a small to moderate breakfast on your way to the Magic Kingdom. The atmosphere is very keeping to the great Cafes and Resorts along the New England coastline from the early 1900's. The food is fun and inviting, a bit more expensive than other restaurants around WDW. This is a frequent morning ritual for me and it will continue to be one.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Qc, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No Expectations, highly impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

On our Magic Kingdom day, we decided to get outside the park to eat dinner and go back to watch the fireworks..
The food is usually better and we were certainly not disappointed.
The service was great eventhough we could not hear everything our server had to say (strong accent).
He kept bringing juice and chocolate milk refills to improve the service:) past one refill, it is WAY too much liquid for a 3 and a 5 years old...
The salmon had a miso glaze and it was the best my father had in a long time. Always scared to get a salmon that will be too cooked but this one was done to perfection. I had the pasta and they were delicious. We paired that with wine and it was overall a great meal. The kids ate the chicken (not fried this time). Everyone at our table (9) had a fine meal and a great time. The grand floridian cafe is not too fancy yet a bit more formal than usual, We just love this hotel!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice formal place to eat without being too fancy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

If you've ever eaten at some of the restaurants at Disney's Grand Floridian resort, you know that some are more formal than others. The GF Café falls in the middle. It offers a formal sit down eating experience without being too fancy. The drink menu offers various "sweet" and "serious" adult beverages. The dinner menu also had good offerings we had the chicken and risotto dish which was delicious. The desserts were okay - nothing spectacular. As with all the staff in the Grand Floridian, the service was excellent.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand Floridian Cafe also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Grand Floridian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Floridian Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.