We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good BBQ, Close to Universal Parks/Hotels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bubbalou's Bodacious Bar B Que

Bubbalou's Bodacious Bar B Que
5818 Conroy Road, Orlando, FL 32835
407-295-1212
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #201 of 3,215 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Kernersville, NC
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good BBQ, Close to Universal Parks/Hotels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We found this restaurant by accident as we were driving back to our hotel. It is a little hard to spot- as it is located on the side of a strip mall. It was relatively busy, but ordering was quick and the food came out after only a few minutes. There are lots of choices, and portion sizes were good. Our children had kids meals, and my husband and I shared a combination platter. Our total was about $30, and we had more then enough to eat. We thought that everything was good. We enjoyed the sides, especially the baked beans and all of the meats had a good, smoky flavor. Good meal overall, and a nice choice for those staying near Universal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    76
    20
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Authentic, old school smokehouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My partner and I ate here based on the reviews we had read on Trip Advisor – if we hadn’t read the glowing reviews I sincerely doubt we would’ve gave it a shot. I’m so glad we did! It doesn’t look much from the outside – it’s based in a little shopping complex off a main road and looks pretty scruffy with a pig sign over the door. Please do not let this put you off! Inside feels lovely and cosy with picnic benches for tables and TV’s showing sports games. There is the option of sitting inside or in a sheltered outdoor area (we chose indoors as not acclimatised to the Orlando heat!). You order your food at the bar area – we went for the pulled pork and the beef brisket and a side of baked beans. There was a selection of different BBQ sauces on each table, all of which were lovely. The food came quickly which was a bonus and was of a very high standard – the meat was smoky, tender and melted in the mouth, the beans were amazing and had smoked meat mixed in – so good that I am getting hungry just thinking about it! Very reasonably priced too – a nice pick for families wanting authentic American BBQ on a budget.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“July 4th BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We called in an order to pick up three hours in advance, when I arrived there were two long lines leading in the building with no instructions on which line to pick up orders, found out both were lines to place and pick up, waited 30 minutes to get to the counter, order was ready, got ribs, chicken, pork, and beans. The ribs were mostly bones and overcooked, chicken was great, pork was just okay, and the beans were outstanding. Cashier was pleasant, don't think they were prepared for the crowd.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stopped in for a quick lunch with a co-worker. The sausage is amazing and brisket was perfectly cooked. The mustard sauce is legit and slaw was a nice compliment.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great BBQ, great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Visited Bubbalou's for dinner on July 2 with our 2 teenage sons.

Food was fantastic. We ordered the Bubbalou's platter to share and our boys had the pulled pork and brisket baskets. The beans and homemade sauces were awesome and all the meals were fantastic.

Excellent value. Our family of 4 ate for $40.....no room for desert.

Atmosphere is very casual. Order at the counter when u arrive and they deliver quickly to your table. Seating is at picnic tables. Indoor and outdoor seating. Located at the end of a strip mall.

Would definitely recommend and we would eat there again if we had more time in Orlando.

Loved it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubbalou's Bodacious Bar B Que also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Bubbalou's Bodacious Bar B Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubbalou's Bodacious Bar B Que, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.