We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty atmosphere, good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Angel Inn

San Angel Inn
EPCOT Center, Walt Disney World, Orlando, FL 32821 (Walt Disney World Resort)
+1 407-939-3463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #471 of 3,167 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Walt Disney World Resort
Description: At the San Angel Inn restaurant in Disney's Mexico Pavilion in Epcot you will be dining in perpetual twilight. The subdued lighting provides an intimate setting in this romantic restaurant modeled after a 17th Century hacienda that features traditional Mexican Cuisine for lunch and dinner, complimented by a great selection of traditional Margaritas, beer and wine. The restaurant blends the charm and distinction of old times with modern luxury. When seated in the rear of the restaurant, patrons can enjoy watching the boats of the La Gran Fiesta attraction go by. Mexican tile floors and stucco walls add to the authentic atmosphere. While sipping your Margarita and enjoying your meal, you'll feel as if you are at a Hacienda.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Pretty atmosphere, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Very pretty atmosphere; except for the fact that the tables are very close together which is a bit awkward. The food was good. Service was prompt. Overall a good lunch and a good break from walking around Epcot.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    234
    94
    49
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Enchanting atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This restaurant is really charming, from inside and out. You have to enter the great Mexican Pyramid and pass the little museum, then you enter a huge room with an enchanting architecture. The first part of this room is a shopping area, the second is the restaurant, to the right, and the other is the attraction Three Cabaleros. Behind the restaurant, you see another pyramid, and behind it, a night sky and a volcano. It's also the first section you will pass when you do the attraction.

We had reservation but even when we arrived, we still waited for 25 minutes before we could be seated. Worst was that from where we were, we could clearly see all of the restaurant and there was definitely available places for two persons. When we finally got our table, we were given tostitos and salsa (instead of bread).

We ordered one appetizer as an entree and a main course (but we can't remember the names since they were in spanish). The appetizer was a mix of nachos and quessadillas and the main course had wrapped beef in it. Our food was good, a bit too spicy to our taste but there was nothing oustanding in the recipe. The desserts were really good though : we ordered Crema Bavaria and it was really refreshing and tasty.

What we enjoyed the most was the waiter, a very friendly man who explained to us what a ''tomatillo'' was. He even brought one from the kitchen to show it to us. He took the time to answer our questions, and it was really appreciated.

Overall, if you like mexican or spicy food, you will love this restaurant. If you don't you might find the food less interesting but the pyramid is still worth visiting.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilford, NH
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Terrific!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

What a wonderful concept! Dining in the "moonlight" in front of a Mayan temple, a volcano, and a flowing river with passing boats is a creative, original, and inviting atmosphere in which to enjoy a tasty and authentic Mexican meal.

With an extensive tequila selection, one is guaranteed to get a fabulous margarita. We enjoyed the blood orange margaritas and the skinny margaritas.

The food is very flavorful, and the portions are substantial. We were not disappointed with the Tlacoyos de Chilorio as our appetizer and the Carne Asada as our entree. The chips and the salsa are fresh and a wonderful addition to the meals.

Whether for lunch or dinner, make sure to stop by and enjoy this little corner of Epcot's International Park. Visit Mexico!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The restaurant provided a much needed rest and decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were able to make same day reservations for this restaurant the day we toured Epcot. The food and service were fine - nothing outstanding but good food. Our daughters, ages 11 and 14 enjoyed it as well. The prices were Disney-style exorbitant but that is what we have come to expect while we are on the property.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Went to dinner here in Epcot Mexico in December 2011. What a great place to relax and get out of the hustle and bustle of the crowds. The food and drinks were excellent. Though a bit pricey.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Angel Inn also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to San Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Angel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.