We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grilled Blueberry Muffins” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shakers

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shakers
1308 Edgewater Dr, Orlando, FL 32804-6351
(407) 422-3534
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #660 of 3,167 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $10 - $10
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Grilled Blueberry Muffins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

It's not on the menu but it was a special on the bottom of the black board. Gotta love blueberries! This was a great start to breakfast with hot coffee. Tried the Chef's omelet (ham, bacon, tomatoes, mushrooms, and cheese) with a real potato pancake and rye toast. The food was excellent and the service was wonderful. They are open for breakfast and lunch. I took home a bowl of the Hungarian Beef and Cabbage Soup that was very tasty also. Small but extremely cozy and there are all kinds of salt and pepper 'shakers' on the tables and on shelves thru out the dining room. Definitely will come back and try lunch. The sandwiches that passed by our table were mouth watering.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    7
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent sandwiches, friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

There are probably about 20 tables in this spot and they were occupied the entire time. This seems to be a busy place for lunch for downtown workers - which I was this day. I came here with co-workers because we wanted simple. We each had chosen sandwiches and decided on just those when we saw the size of them. No soup today!! The sandwiches come with a crunchy dill pickle and a bag of chips or small portion of fruit.

I ordered the turkey reuben but swapped the cole slaw their version comes with for the sauerkraut that comes on the original. I haven't had one in a while and I can't wait for my next business trip to Orlando to come back for another! Or maybe something else if I can make myself. Maybe breakfast??

Two companions got the blackened chicken breast. This was an actual chicken breast with lettuce and tomato on a roll. It looked pretty good. My third companion got the club sandwich. Nothing was left on any plate. Shame there was no room for any of their cookies!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Stepping back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Shakers bar is a rare thing in a world filled with chain stores and a rush to get the blandest repeatable experience at the lowest price vs highest return. It has good food at low prices. Yes, you heard that right, it has Good food at Low prices.

How do they do that?

Well it is a small place on a busy street, it looks like it is family run and the decor is a little quirky. They have fans not massive air conditioning units which adds to the sense of a world gone by.

What complements that is the service, which is to your table with a smile and a friendly word that isn't pulled from a HR tome.

Then there is the food. i had a burger which was a fresh made patty from ground beef, cooked to my choice on a rich rye bread. They don't do fries, they do have great slaw and pickle though.

All the pies, cakes and quiches are homemade and you can tell as they look wholesome and taste just right.

Hats off to a great American dining experience a perfect place to kickback and have a breakfast or a lunch at a price that burns the chain-diners away.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“quickest breakfast we ever had, be prepared to get your food super quick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

nice location, nice atmosphere, french toast was average, price of pancakes was outstanding, i just a can't get over how fast the food came out after we ordered it. this place is good for a quick easy tasty breakfast. absolutely MUST get the grilled blue berry muffin! the best ever. worth the trip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yummy....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

They are the best in College Park. I have recommended so many of my co-workers to go here and they always come back saying that the food is amazing.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shakers also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Shakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shakers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.