We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Indian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of India Palace

India Palace
8530 Palm Pkwy, Orlando, FL 32836-6415
+1 407-238-2322
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,284 of 3,167 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery
Tumkur, Karnataka, India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Indian food was vey good. The ambience was good. The staff were very friendly. The desert was good

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    8
    3
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"I have to charge you for pickles, haan".”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I was staying in Holiday inn right next to this restaurant with my family, I was very happy when I found Indian food so close to my hotel. I ordered around $35 food to go and asked him to give some pickles. He gave me one, yes one pickle and I requested some more then he said he has to charge me for pickle, I was kind of taken back and said "ok.." because I need pickle with rice items. He charged me $2 for couple more pickles. That pissed me off, such a pathetic service, I don't want free food but some pickles for $35 order is fair enough to expect I think. Food was ok, but I think it was expensive but as per my research food was expensive in that whole area so I cannot blame this particular restaurant for that. Mostly tourists go to this place, that's why I think he don't give a damn about returning customers. He said something like "I have to charge you for pickles, haan". I was recalling this incident the whole trip and having fun with my wife. "I have to charge you, haan" LOL

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We usually go to India Palace 1-2 times a month. Ate there on Tuesday for lunch. Food was great; always consistent and fresh. I'm into more vegetarian dishes and enjoy all of them (had lentils and rice on this visit for lunch); some family members had shrimp and chicken dishes - excellent and fresh. We had garlic naan too. It was good and freshly baked. Service was good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“You will get better food out of a jar at Walmart”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Being from England where Indian food is more or less our national dish now, and you can see from my profile I have spent some time in India this was by far the worst Indian food I have ever had.

I simply cannot believe the reviews saying the food is excellent are real profiles or wrote a review of the same restaurant.

To be fair the starters were good, and had some authentic taste to them. Following the starters the service was poor as my pet hate happened where the main course came before I had finished my starters.

The main course I ordered was lamb rogan josh. I don't think Gordon Ramsey would have had any expletives left to describe how horrible the food was. It most certainly was not rogan josh, and any curry out of a jar at Walmart would have been better.

For the reviews where the people do not eat curry very often ignore. A bit of coriander on top of what looks like baby food does not make Indian cuisine.

Do yourself a favour and take in a burger or pizza and avoid India Palace.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Idaho
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delicious, tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Up front I will tell you I have not eaten at an Indian restaurant in many years as there are none where I live. We chose India Palace as it was on a list from the hotel and we thought there would be a good chance of being able to get vegan food. The manager waited on us and was wonderful in assisting us with vegan selections. We were served Masala Papadam while we waited. Our entrees were the Mixed Vegetable Vindaloo and the Chana Masala. We got the mild versions which did have some heat but were tasty and well-spiced. I saw some reviews complaining that the portion size was small, but we thought they were just right. I could not finish mine and I have a big appetite! We had Tandoori Roti along with as the manager explained it is vegan while the naan has egg in it. He also guided us in the selection of an Indian beer to accompany dinner. The service was attentive, the food was hot, attractively presented and served quickly. While we ate we noticed a number of Indian families coming in to pick up carry out orders. In chatting with the manager he also said their rice is vegan altho many Indian restaurants use chicken broth in rice preparation. He also indicated that Googlemaps has their location in the wrong place. All in all this was a very filling, tasty and enjoyable meal. I would return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India Palace also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to India Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage India Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.