We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect restaurant, but felt rushed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akershus Royal Banquet Hall

Akershus Royal Banquet Hall
Epcot - Norway Pavilion, Walt Disney World Resort, Orlando, FL 32830
407 939 3463
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #192 of 3,168 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $36 - $59
Cuisines: Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Akershus Royal Banquet Hall, part of the Norway Pavilion within Epcot theme parkWorld Showcase, provides a Disney Princess Storybook Dining experience in a medieval castle-themed restaurant. Here, you can delight in American cuisine for breakfast and Norwegian-inspired entrees for lunch and dinner.Each meal starts with an adventurous "Taste of Norway," an impressive Norwegian buffet (koldtbord) of cold dishes. For breakfast, American favorites are served family style as well as from a breakfast buffet featuring breakfast breads, a yogurt station and a selection of fresh fruit.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Perfect restaurant, but felt rushed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The ideal service of American food, buffet starter of cold meats, salads and vegetables, menu entree of traditional Norwegian foods, including meatballs, salmon and chicken, all beautiful and family style dining.
The food is accompanied with visits from all four princesses and you get a free picture with one princess upon arrival.
I would recommend booking on the second dining load as we ate at around 6pm and felt pushed out for the next set of guests.
As this is only a one point on the Disney Dining Plan and you get the same character experience as Cinderella's Royal Banquet, which is a two point, I would recommend coming here as it is a very similar experience with better food!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    544
    390
    141
    59
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dinner with the princesses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The princess in our party was looking forward to dine with the princesses.It has been a great experience.The food was delicious and plentyful.The service was good.Waiter was very friendly,but the meals followed to quick one after the other.We were still eating from the buffet and there the main dish came.But I noticed that it is a common thing in restaurants.Meeting the princesses was a dream come true for the little one.The princesses knew very well how to approach the little princesses.All smiles,.I know for sure that this has been an experience our princess will talk about for a long time.I certainly didn't find it overprized.You get excellent food,pictures and above all a priceless experience for all those little princesses.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wish come true!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My daughter was here on her Make A Wish trip. Her wish was to eat breakfast with the princesses. She was in awe and so happy. She loved the parade and her picture with Belle. But most of all she loved the special attention she received from Ariel, her favorite princess at the moment. Ariel was very sweet with her, she hugged her and talked to her and even gave her a kiss on the cheek. It was very magical and had me in tears. The breakfast was served buffet style with different croissants, pastries, cheeses, fish, and fresh fruit as well as a server bringing a hot plate of eggs, bacon, sausage and biscuit to our table. I don't remember our servers name but she was very attentive to us, and thanked us for the kind words as it was her first day out of training. You wouldn't have been able to tell it, she took care of us like she had been doing her job for years. This is a must for any little princess out there and we will plan to do this again one day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fanwood, nj
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“unexpected fun and fare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We signed on to this for our girls and the Princesses. The kids loved it, but I think we like it even better. Perhaps on of the best meals I have had at Disney. We could not get enough of the Norwegian cold buffet. Fresh seafood and salads. The lunch got even better, topped off with the Princess cream puff. We even got into the princess fever and gave Mary Poppins a hug.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food and a must see for all little princesses”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We went to Akershus with our 2.5 yr old dressed in her finest Cinderella dress, shoes and tiara. Right when you walk in to be seated, a pro photographer takes a photo with one of the princesses, in this case it was Belle. You are presented with the pic while there and it is no extra cost.

The food was excellent. The appetizer bar features all kinds of Norwegian dishes leaning towards different cold salads and smoked fish. I had the special of the night, Lamb Chops and they were excellent with a beautiful presentation.

Now to the real attraction here, the princesses. We were visited by Sleeping Beauty, Snow White, Cinderella and Ariel. The little one was ecstatic as each one came to the table and took time to sit with her, talk and hug for a quick photo. This made the night incredible and actually a very good value.

Kids under 3 eat free, which we did not know until we got there. The price for adults was $51. If you have Tables in Wonderland as we did, it knocked off 20% to about $40 each. A great value even if we hadn't gotten a discount. We will be back many times as we live locally.

As many have said in the reviews, this is THE princess character dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akershus Royal Banquet Hall also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Akershus Royal Banquet Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akershus Royal Banquet Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.