We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akershus Royal Banquet Hall

Akershus Royal Banquet Hall
Epcot - Norway Pavilion, Walt Disney World Resort, Orlando, FL 32830
407 939 3463
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 3,113 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $36 - $59
Cuisines: Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Akershus Royal Banquet Hall, part of the Norway Pavilion within Epcot theme parkWorld Showcase, provides a Disney Princess Storybook Dining experience in a medieval castle-themed restaurant. Here, you can delight in American cuisine for breakfast and Norwegian-inspired entrees for lunch and dinner.Each meal starts with an adventurous "Taste of Norway," an impressive Norwegian buffet (koldtbord) of cold dishes. For breakfast, American favorites are served family style as well as from a breakfast buffet featuring breakfast breads, a yogurt station and a selection of fresh fruit.
Bradley, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We made reservations at Akershus Royal Banquet Hall during our May 2013 trip to Disney. We were on the Dining Plan and chose this over the Princess dining in Cinderella's castle because it only requires one table service credit compared to two that is required to eat in the castle. In other words it is a better value because you get to see the same amount of princesses and I imagine the food quality is relatively the same (just an assumption). We were not disappointed. Our 4 year old princess lover had the time of her life. We started by getting a picture with Belle (included with the meal at no extra cost and we received two because our party had more than 4). We then were seated and instructed that appetizers were buffet style. The food options were pretty good, various breads, meats, cheeses. Then the princesses started to come around, the timing was pretty good. We were visited by Snow White, Aurora, Cinderella, and Ariel. Prior to our entrees arriving (which is menu order, nice break from the full buffet style character dinners I might add) the princesses lead a parade around the dining room. Our food arrived and was very good in fact. I really enjoyed the mushroom pasta dish. Afterward the server brought out a desert tray filled with some tasty options that our whole family enjoyed. Overall it was a great experience we will never forget. The only reason i didn't give 5 stars is because it is rather pricey. But it is Disney of course so that is expected.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    337
    122
    51
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lilbourn, MO
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Character meal, great. Food-fair”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is the only way to go with girls. They got to meet about 5 disney princess's and got a 5X7 with one. Every princess was in character when speaking and took time with each of my girls. They loved it. Dont waste your money on the Cinderalla's bippty bobbty bull. Go here let'm meet the princess's and move on. The food was fair, salad bar had some different options. Price was high if you didn't have the meal plan. But everything is high at WDW.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Do not understand why”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

A friend recommended this restaurant to us, as it has the "best" food and you can see all the main princesses at once. After it was all said and done, the only thing good that came of this was the "free" 5X7 photo of my girls with Princess Belle.

The check in procedure was a bit hectic - but we were finally shown our table. The princesses immediately started coming by - which thrilled our girls. However, Cinderella must have been having a bad day. She had more attitude than our 6 and 8 year old girls do on a bad day. She barely said a word to our girls, rolled her eyes when we got up to take more than 1 picture (how dare we!), and walked off without saying anything to our girls. At least Ariel and Sleeping Beauty made up for it - the most gracious of all the characters we met during our week long trip.

The food was buffet style - and exactly the same type of food I had at 3 other restaurants that week. Yet, our bill came out to be 3 times the amount of any of the other restaurants. For $300, 2 alcohol beverages, for a family of 5 - we ate the same food as other buffet-style restaurants, received (2) 5X7 pictures, and saw 4 princesses (which we could have seen in all the parks).

At least I went once to see what the fuss was about. But, it was not enough fuss to keep me coming back again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookhaven, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great alternative to Cinderellas Royal table!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We loved this lunch! The food was excellent and the princesses spent ample time with our large table of 9. you feel like you are in a castle, and it is a lot cheaper than the meal at the Royal Table!We will go back for sure!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A royal experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The food was absolutely AMAZING and the service even better. There were 5 princesses here (Belle, Cinderella, Ariel, Snow White and Princess Arora). My daughter loved it. The dinks and food were better than I have ever had. I would have went back 4 more times if I could have. The price was really not all that bad either, given the amount of food you get. MUST SEE!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akershus Royal Banquet Hall also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Akershus Royal Banquet Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akershus Royal Banquet Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.