We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portobello

Portobello
1650 E Buena Vista Dr, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830, Downtown Disney, Orlando, FL 32830
+1 407-934-8888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #837 of 3,178 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The menu at Portobello was born in the bounty and harvest of the Italian countryside. Celebrating the simplest flavors of Italy; crusty breads, sun-ripened tomatoes, house-cured meats, freshly caught fish, fruity olive oils and sharp, pungent cheeses.
Boston
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Walking around Downtown Disney there are many restaurants to choose from, but as luck has it we chose Portobello. It wasn't crowded and we were seated promptly. Service was exceptional. Joe from Essex, MA, now a Floridian, was attentive and informative. His recommendations were spot on. While we sipped on a glass of wine we had fresh bread with their roasted garlic!! Tops. We stared with a Shrimp dish, served with garlic, parsley, and a liquor poured over it in a sizzling pan with fresh squeezed lime over it....exceptional, and the Sicilian eggplant fries, light, crisp, flavorful with a marinara dipping sauce. For the main dish we had the Rigatoni Calabrese, sausage, tomatoes, mushrooms, olives, escarole and beef and veal meatballs with tomato sauce and polenta. Everything was perfect. I would definitely go back again!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    203
    131
    110
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great restaurant for Disney visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Portobello is a great restaurant for anyone visiting Disney who wants a great meal at reasonable prices - oh, and add in the great service! Our family actually had dinner at Portobello twice in 5 days. We had a party of 7 adults and 2 small children (one with a peanut allergy) and the waiters on both visits couldn't have been any better. The chef even came out to discuss the child's peanut allergy which I thought was very nice. On the first visit I had the minestrone soup and lasagna and my husband had the rigatoni calabrese - the second time he had the meatball appetizer with the penne bolognese and I had the rigatoni calabrese (I'd highly recommend this dish). On both visits we were too full to even think about dessert. While anyone visiting Disney knows that most restaurants can be expensive, Portobello gives you quality food for reasonable prices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We visited on June 8th and had reservations for 5:30 but showed up earlier and were promptly seated. The food runners were very attentive and our cups were never empty. The best part was the service of our waiter, Nicholas, who was very informed of the entire menu. He recomended the pork chop which was every bit as good as he told me it would be. The entire family was very happy with the meal and service. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casselberry, Florida, United States
1 review
“Portobello for our Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 29th anniversary Friday at Portobello. Best decision ever. We were seated by Chris Rios, the Manager who, upon discovering that it was our anniversary, went above and beyond the call to make it memorable. Our server, Luke was exceptional also. He was very personable, yet professional. Chris recommended the Portobello mushroom appetizer which was wonderful. My Cobia fish special was prepared just right, and my wife's pork tenderloin was superb. We were too full for dessert, but Luke convinced us to try the white chocolate custard which was remarkable. We will be back often and highly recommend it to all.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh hand made italian food. Whats not to like?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We dined for dinner on our recent Disney trip and were blown away. We loved the service and everything we ordered was delicious. We enjoyed it so much we returned for lunch on our departure date. Best Italian food we have ever had on Disney property without a doubt.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portobello also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Portobello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portobello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.