We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Portobello

Portobello
1650 E Buena Vista Dr, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830, Downtown Disney, Orlando, FL 32830
+1 407-934-8888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #891 of 3,263 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The menu at Portobello was born in the bounty and harvest of the Italian countryside. Celebrating the simplest flavors of Italy; crusty breads, sun-ripened tomatoes, house-cured meats, freshly caught fish, fruity olive oils and sharp, pungent cheeses.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Bad service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Good food but service was incompetent and bordering on rude. Forgot about us a couple of times....basically ruined our evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    243
    154
    126
    96
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch in Downtown Disney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Wanted to look for a nice place for lunch in downtown Disney. Right next to the terribly dissapointing Fultons Grab House was Portobello Trattoria. Excellent service, friendly waitress and good food ! Had Ceasars Salad for starters and Pasta Linguine with Clams for main course. Both very good. Would come again !

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good food and poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I recently saw a friend (you know who you are) check into this restaurant and realized I have never reviewed it, though I have eaten here several times. This restaurant is located at Downtown Disney. I like this place despite the high prices. It is a Italian Eatery. The last time we went there, we had to wait for a table despite having reservations, so we sat at the Meatball Bar which I thought was a cute name.
The bartender was nice but It was 10 minutes and a lot of waving before she acknowledged our existence. We paid for our drinks and took them when we were seated, I ordered the Portobello Mushroom (seemed like a good idea), Ravioli Gigante, and you get olive oil and roasted garlic complimentary. Service was extremely slow and I found my water glass empty twice during dinner. The roasted garlic was probably the best part of the meal, though the portobello mushroom was very good. It is served with Gorgonzola, polenta, and rosemary sauce. The ravioli is filled with ricotta and spinach and the sauce has tomato, basil, toasted garlic. It was good but not great.
When our check arrived, our drinks from the bar were charged, When I pointed this out to the server, she proceeded to argue with me that she had brought them to us. The bartender was still working so I brought the server to the bar to get confirmation that we had purchased our drinks at the bar. The server agreed, but 15 minutes later had not returned with the bill. I went and found a manger and he fixed it immediately.

I recommend reservations as this is the only Italian place at Downtown Disney and is usually busy even during slow seasons. The place is cute, but the service could use a little kick in the pants.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice Diner Experience at Downtown Disney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Like most restaurants in Downtown Disney there is a long line up before you get to your table but if you don't mind waiting, you will enjoy the food and the service at Portobello. In our case, the service was exceptional, the best in our week in Orlando. The 3 members of the family ordered 3 different meal and we were all delighted by the food. Pricing is a bit high but you are at Downtown Disney so I guess it makes sense when you look at the price of whatever you get there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gates Mills, Ohio
1 review
“Server was nice, food poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Family came in with expectations of having a nice meal. The Server was great, appitizers were good, the two boys ordered Steak from the childrens menu. When they got their meal the steak looked like they were warmed up from the night before. My Caesar Salad had nothing but romaine lettice and a few anchovies. They forgot the croutons and brought them out on a plate later.

Very disappointed they tried to pass old steak!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portobello also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Portobello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portobello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.