We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portobello

Portobello
1650 E Buena Vista Dr, Lake Buena Vista, FL 32830, Downtown Disney, Orlando, FL 32830
+1 407-934-8888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #809 of 2,999 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The menu at Portobello was born in the bounty and harvest of the Italian countryside. Celebrating the simplest flavors of Italy; crusty breads, sun-ripened tomatoes, house-cured meats, freshly caught fish, fruity olive oils and sharp, pungent cheeses.
Frisco, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We ate here for dinner one night. The food was very good. They had a nice variety of options on the menu. The roasted garlic you get with the meal was delicious! Our waiter was very good and attentive. It was a little pricey but consistent with all the other restaurants in the Disney area. It's a good option if you're in the mood for some Italian food.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    244
    154
    127
    96
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Navarre, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stopped in here before going to the show. Outstanding meal and a decent price. Gnochi and Mahi Mahi both good choices

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horrible customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

My family and I went there after a long day at the disney parks and were given the weird look because we dressed in khaki shorts and sneakers. We felt ackward the whole entire time as our waiter was being ackward as well. We just finished up and left right away. My idiology is "if I could afford it, you will serve me no matter how I'm dressed".

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clermont
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were disappointed with most of the dinner. For appetizers portobello mushroom was good, shrimp was good but eggplant strips which were good tasting were barely warm. They would have been wonderful if they had been hot. The crostinies were ugh! The pasta dishes were a pasty, sticky sauce and barely warm. The menu said the shrimp dishes were rock shrimp but they were tiny regular shrimp. When we asked the waiter he said that is how it has always been. I would call that deception! The othere meals were ok. There are too many other great Italian restaurants in Orlando. I would skip this one the next time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Went in for dinner on Friday, December 14th. I was alone, and the wait for a table was 30-40 minutes. The hostess informed me that the bar area was open seating, and I found a table right away.

I always appreciate when a server knows about the food and is willing to make recommendations. Dennis was my server and his recommendations were spot on. I will be returning for the portobello mushroom appetizer for sure!

I sat in the bar, where the atmosphere was nice and lively. Overall the restaurant seemed a good place for families & groups. But I also noticed some quieter nooks that would serve for a more intimate dining experience.

I forgot my credit card at the table when I left and Dennis found me outside to give it back to me. Now THAT is service :)

Will be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portobello also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Portobello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portobello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.