We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam Snead's Tavern

Sam Snead's Tavern
1801 Maitland Blvd, Orlando, FL 32810-5926
407-622-8800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #519 of 3,123 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Florida
Top Contributor
332 reviews 332 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We arrived with precisely 40 minutes to spare before a scheduled appointment across the street and asked the hostess if they could accommodate us in that amount of time. The lunch rush had just ended, the parking lot was still packed with cars, and most tables were still littered with lunch leftovers.

The hostess told us she thought they could manage that window and informed our server that we were in a hurry. We were seated in the pub area and waited on immediately.

Decor is upscale sports pub. Ambiance is cozy, noisy, casual. While we waited for lunch, we enjoyed looking at framed pix of Sam Snead in his finest moments, which adorn the walls.

We each started with the soup of the day - tomato, which was superb. I ordered the turkey avocado sandwich on multigrain bread, which was also very good.

The sandwich came with a side of potato salad which might be the best I've ever eaten. Just potatoes and a creamy dressing ... no chunks of onion, pickle, celery or whatever other ingredients usually ruin a potato salad.

My one complaint was no warm up on the coffee. Our server brought Hubby a second cup after he'd completely finished his first. But mine was cold halfway through the cup and I was never offered a top-off.

Lunch was rather pricey at $6 for a bowl of soup and $11.85 for a sandwich with side, but there's really no other option in the area.

All in all, the food was very good and, considering our time crunch, the service was quite good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    27
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Should have asked for a quiet waiter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Our food was good, but not wonderful. Our waiter drove is nuts. He seemed to think he was part of the party. I have never had conversations interrupted so many times. A good waiter just quietly fills your water glass when it is low. He doesn't swoop in and start announcing that he is going fill one person's water glass and another's coffee cup. He just does it quietly. We took long-time friends out to dinner to catch up and finally had to have a quiet conversation in the parking lot after our meal.

I had made reservations and asked for a quiet table. I should have asked for a quiet waiter.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We took guests from overseas to dinner having never been to this restaurant before. Mistake.
We found the menu to be quite pricey. Example: Special of the day Sea Bass $32 !
I ordered a simiple flat bread entree and was disappointed. It was bland, overcooked and the few chicken pieces were very dry. My husband ordered a sweet potato side with his fish dinner. He got a baked potato with an apology "We don't serve baked sweet potato." It would have been nice to know that when ordering. Noise level makes conversation difficult. However, I did note that for a weekday night the place was full so it could be that we just had an "off" experience. Likely will not return with so many other options in our area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“TERRIBLE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We took our office new hire to lunch here on 6/2/14 and the food was terrible! I ordered a cheeseburger medium well, took one bite and it was pink. Half of it was about medium rare and the other half was about medium. they sent it back and at least 10 minutes later I got a new burger that was cooked properly about 2/3rd of the way around the patty. The cook in this kitchen needs to go back to school and learn how to make a burger! You would do better at home! Waitress decided she would have them put bacon on it - good thing I don't have an allergy! The bacon was nasty! Twice the lame manager came around and was defensive about it! Will NEVER go back there again! Third time was NOT the charm in this place! There are tons of places to eat in Orlando - this is a definite SKIP!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Atmosphere, Service and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

All the things I look for in a memorable dining experience - atmosphere, service, and good food are all there. If you relish golf history, you'll enjoy it even more. You can find pictures galore that'll bring back memories for those old enough to remember old "Slammin' Sammy".

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam Snead's Tavern also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Sam Snead's Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam Snead's Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.