We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Amazing Amazing- I can go on...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Primo

Primo
4040 Central Florida Parkway, JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes, Orlando, FL 32837
+1 407-393-4444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Primo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #267 of 3,263 Restaurants in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $48
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: John Young Parkway
Description: Primo specializes in Italian cuisine with an emphasis on fresh ingredients, an outstanding wine list and exceptional service. The restaurant features on-site organic gardens. Located at the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes with a captivating view of a tropical paradise and Greg Norman designed golf course, you will enjoy the Primo experience.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Amazing Amazing Amazing- I can go on...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

What a great restaurant- One of the best in orlando- At the Ritz/JW complex. Dinner @ 6pm with our 3yr old twins, pushing it, but we wanted them to enjoy it too- Bryan our waiter made that easy, he brought them what ever they wanted and was also a fantastic host. Our food was 100% and the service the same, amazing wine list, appetizers as well as home made desserts- I cant come up with one negative here at all. Marriott has hit a home run with this restaurant in their resort. We will be back and back- Its a very memorable night out with the family and we all need to have these memories...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    44
    18
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent for our Family Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our young children (<11 y/o) enjoyed the food during one of the evenings we stayed at the hotel. The staff was quite accommodating and the dishes were visually stimulating. It turned out to be a great oppt for the kids to learn to eat at a nice restaurant! The bubbly chocolate was primo neato.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect dinner with our kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

While on vacation, my husband and I wanted to have an upscale meal but were a little worried about our kids (ages 7 & 10 yrs) who usually only eat mac & cheese. Primo was the perfect place. It offer kids meals (although not stated on the menu) which pleased both: dtr had penne with fresh marinara sauce while son had wood-fired hand-tossed pizza. My husband and I were both also very happy with our salads and seafood entrees - the presentation and flavors were on par with high-end Manhattan restaurants. The waitstaff were attentive but not overbearing and offered wonderful suggestions.

p.s. At the start of our meal, we were each offered an amuse bouche, which we politely declined due an ingredient we don't eat (pork). We were surprised and delighted when the server returned several minutes later with a completely different amuse bouche which did indeed make every mouth (including our kids') smile. A very unexpected and nice touch!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

excellent food , nice staff....short walking distance from the Ritz Carlton Grande Lakes where we stayed

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Primo. . .Dining at its Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Rarely, if ever, do I choose to dine in hotel restaurants. So I was reluctant when Primo, located in the JW Marriott Hotel in Grande Lakes Orlando, was selected for a pre-conference dinner among friends and colleagues. How wrong I was to doubt in this case because the entire dining experience was terrific.
We were a party of eight and were seated (don't know if it was requested) at a round table in one of the restaurant's private rooms. The restaurant itself it rather large and cavernous, so it was a treat to be seated in a more intimate setting.
The menu was varied and the ingredients were incredibly fresh. The farmer's salad was delicious with a poached egg adding texture to the well seasoned dressing. Among the entrées that were sampled among our party were the duck breast (done to perfection), diver scallops, wood grilled salmon and scaloppine of pork saltimbocca, the restaurant's signature dish. One couple at our table had been to chef/proprietor Melissa Kelly's other Primo located in Rockland, Maine. That restaurant is located on a working farm with animals roaming and vegetable patches. After experiencing Primo's in Orlando, we were all eager to try the outpost in Maine.
Primo, according to their menu, buys local and organic whenever possible and supports growers and producers that support sustainable farming methods. The proof of that commitment is not just in the pudding, but on every plate!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primo also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Primo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.