We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as past visits” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Primo

Primo
4040 Central Florida Parkway, JW Marriott Orlando Grande Lakes, Orlando, FL 32837
407-393-4444
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Primo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #320 of 3,166 Restaurants in Orlando
Price range: $25 - $48
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: John Young Parkway
Description: Primo specializes in Italian cuisine with an emphasis on fresh ingredients, an outstanding wine list and exceptional service. The restaurant features on-site organic gardens. Located at the JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes with a captivating view of a tropical paradise and Greg Norman designed golf course, you will enjoy the Primo experience.
Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not as good as past visits”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our 3rd time at Primo, the first 2 visits were terrific so perhaps our expectations were too high. The service was good, no complaints. The salads were great. Unfortunately, one of our fish entrees was served completely raw and the other entree was cold. The entrees were redone and were pretty good - but for the price, pretty good really wasn't good enough. Perhaps this was just an off night for Primo?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    36
    17
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not as good as Maine location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We too had high hopes and expectations for this Primo. Much larger restaurant than in Maine. That could be part of the reason. Our server also was not very attentive. He seemed distracted and yet didn't have that many tables. The food was very good just not over the top as we had in Maine. The hotel is huge with lots of business people so that may be one reason it doesn't have that super special feel. Would we go back? Probably because we love the proximity to the Ritz Carlton Hotel. You just have a long walk but that is good after a big meal! Hope to see this Primo continue to improve.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Less than expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Perhaps we expected too much because we are huge fans of the sister restaurant Primo in Maine, but felt somewhat let down. Our biggest concern was the service. While we were seated promptly and our beverage orders taken right away, only one drink was delivered initially and we waited almost 15 minutes for the second. It was another 25 minutes (yes, we actually timed it it took so long) before we were offered a second drink. We do understand that this may have been an abberation, but we feel compelled to mention it.

The food was inconsistent, some of it excellent and some less so. An appetizer of agnolotti was scrumptous. An entree of snapper the same, but the halibut was quite overcooked. A side dish called "greens and beans" (large lima beans, collard greens, tomato and sausage) saved us from the halibut.

Overall this is not a bad restaurant, but did not live up to it's billing and fell far short of the consistent quality and superb service that we have come to expect from it's Maine sistren.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, FL
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delicious with a big bill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had an absolutely fantastic meal! We did order drinks and some extras other than entrees such as soup & dessert, but the bill was steep. We go out to nice meals quite often & I did think it was on the higher end of cost of upper-tier restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed it & will return in spite of this. Just be aware:)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“YUMMY Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

great italian dinner, organic local produce and yummy dishes. only open 530-930 but worth the wait or planning required.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primo also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Primo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Primo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.