We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love Sweet Tomatoes.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Tomatoes

Sweet Tomatoes
12561 S Apopka Vineland Rd, Orlando, FL 32836 (Florida Center)
407-363-1616
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 3,117 restaurants in Orlando
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Florida Center
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“We Love Sweet Tomatoes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Any place your kids are excited to get seconds and thirds on salads and soups is great in my book. Their ore-mixed salads are excellent and the soups are all good. The baked sweet potatoes are always perfectly cooked, and I always eat way too much here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    545
    250
    64
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent healthy buffet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We visited Sweet Tomatoes after reading trip advisor reviews....I liked the idea that you can eat as much salad as you want... The salad was nice and fresh... My son loves soup so he enjoyed trying a few different kinds...defiantly worth a visit...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Skip it! No sausage in pasta dishes, skimpy pizza offerings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hadn't been to a Sweet Tomatoes in 10+ years and unfortunately I recalled why I stopped going. They used to have a great pizza selection and several homemade pasta dishes. Only 1 plain pizza and 1 white pizza were offered. The "sausage" pasta dish didn't have ANY sausage in it. No chocolate ice cream available at make your own sundae station. Quantity over quality as it is all you can eat. Also didn't care for employees either on break or after their shift sitting in one corner with their friends grubbing down and making a lot of noise-where is the manager at?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Such a nice change!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Sweet Tomatoes twice in the last week, and we will be going again before we leave next week!

Such a nice change from the burger/pizza/steak options everywhere else on I-Drive. Being vegetarian, this place is a breath of fresh air, and even my meat eating boyfriend loves it!

The brocolli soup is amazing, as are the chocolate brownies. Make sure you leave room for them! We really love the baked potato station, and the fresh bread is delicious. The salad bar has a good selection, but my advice would be not to stock up here, as you probably won't want to eat it once you see the yummy soups, potatoes and pastas on offer!

Also, try the strawberry and raspberry lemonade. We always get a to-go cup!

If you sign up to their mailing list, you get an email code for 50% off a second buffet. It's good for two weeks and you can use it as many times as you want.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our favourite place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Of all the restaurants and food outlets we have been to in Orlando (we have holidayed there 8 times so far) this is our favourite place. Great homemade, fresh food and something for everyone. We love the fresh salads and especially the soups. Our son loves the home made bread, pizza and ice cream. It is a fantastic place and you can have as much bread, potatoes, soup, salad and dessert as you like. Try it once and you'll return, for sure.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Tomatoes also viewed

Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Sweet Tomatoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Tomatoes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.